Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 13:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Battery Monitoring Dotpup for JWM
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [87 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2007, 17:22    Post subject:  

Bookmarked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2007, 06:59    Post subject:  

I tried this on an IBM Thinkpad 560Z 128MB 300MHz pII, Puppy2.14, but it didn't work.
I installed the .pup and then click the batmonsetup.sh, which responds :

It looks like the modules for your battery are not installed. Yes to load at boot. No to load yourself. First of all I tried yes to load on boot, and rebooted but nothing. Then I tried batmonsetup.sh again and this time no to load yourself, asked me about Toshiba which I replied no and then restarted JVM. A -% appears, and if I hover mouse over it gives aasdf, but no indicator for the battery level.

Any advice?
I did read similar problems on page1 but as the pup has been updated since then I wasn't sure if it still applied or if you had fixed all previous bugs. Please give easy instructions to follow . Thanks.
(if I type in console ls /proc/acpi/battery it says: no such file or directory )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2007, 08:14    Post subject:  

What do you get at the console if you do
modprobe battery
ls /proc/acpi

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2007, 09:03    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
What do you get at the console if you do
modprobe battery
ls /proc/acpi


sh-3.00# modprobe battery
FATAL: Error inserting battery (/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/drivers/acpi/battery.ko): No such device
sh-3.00# ls /proc/acpi
ls: /proc/acpi: No such file or directory
sh-3.00#


It is running on battery and has been for 30 minutes as I type this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2007, 10:35    Post subject:  

I don't think your model does ACPI though you may be able to monitor the battery using APM.
Have at a look at thinkwiki

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Category:560Z
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/How_to_make_APM_work

I have no experience using APM and batmon doesn't monitor APM batteries. According to the second link you need to boot with the kernel parameter
acpi=off
and then install apmd though I know nothing about that
good luck
you might want to start a new topic asking about apm
please report back anything that you find

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2007, 11:15    Post subject:  

I dual boot with DSL Linux and DSL has a battery monitor built into the desktop, which works well, and accurately shows the % left (21% right now).

I notice that as DSL boots up, a line comes up:

Skipping APM Bios detecion as requested on boot command line.

Is this relevant ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brad_chuck

Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 284
Location: Appalachian Mountains

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2007, 20:20    Post subject:  

All you have to do is figure out how to tell what your battery status is.

From there you can edit the batmon.sh script to use your battery.

Do some digging around and see if you can figure out how to tell. It should be in the form of xxxxxx mAh or something like that ( inside a file ie (cat filename) ). Look in the /proc/?????? dir.

Post questions if you get lost. I will try to monitor this thread for the next few days.

It would be great if you we could figure out how to use APM with batmon....

I don't have a clue as my system has ACPI.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 04:05    Post subject:  

you could try using gkrellm
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1624553930&t=1588
This does have APM support.
If you edit the displayed data so that it only shows the battery I think it is possible to get it to swallow inside the jwm tray.
If gkrellm can't monitor your battery you might want to see if conky can, though it won't go in the tray it might give you some clues
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1982395092&t=16392

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 07:06    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
you could try using gkrellm
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1624553930&t=1588
This does have APM support.
If you edit the displayed data so that it only shows the battery I think it is possible to get it to swallow inside the jwm tray.
If gkrellm can't monitor your battery you might want to see if conky can, though it won't go in the tray it might give you some clues
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1982395092&t=16392


Thanks, I've tried both of those, but I can't see anything for battery in either - I have looked for an option to display battery but can't see anything to tick. I thought if it didn't work it would still have something showing 'Battery' but just not registering, but I can't see anything refering to battery in either of the running packages. Any ideas ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 08:06    Post subject:  

kernel parameters
acpi=off apm=on
after booting try
modprobe apm

I don't any more than that

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brad_chuck

Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 284
Location: Appalachian Mountains

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 09:05    Post subject:  

and if that works type

Code:
apm


This should give you the output you are looking for.

You could try it before as well. It may work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 11:44    Post subject:  

For any Puppy developers who want to know, the inbuilt DSL linux desktop system monitors show an accurate indication of my battery power remaining. It is a nicely designed inbuilt system monitor that sits in the very top left of the desktop and shows some useful info (in this case the battery has just been fully charged to 99%)

It is called Torsmo and here is the web page

http://torsmo.sourceforge.net/

If I knew how to I would develop it as a pup, but that is way beyond me.

Thanks all for the input but this is a bit beyond me so I'll just do without for now.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2030
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 12:14    Post subject:  

It's been around for a while now.

Check Here

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 14:25    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
It's been around for a while now.

Check Here


Excellent. That displays the battery level perfectly, along with the other info but blinked every 5 secs when it updated, so I changed the update to 2 mins as described here :

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=652975172&t=15400

. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 15:34    Post subject:  

To satisfy my/our curiosity in exchange for the advice given.
Please can you type "apm" in a console and post the output here, maybe we could make batmon apm aware. Also it would be interesting to see what you get for "ls /proc/apm"

It is interesting that torsmo works when conky didn't as conky is a fork of the no longer developed torsmo. I presume one of the things they have changed is the APM support, unless this is controlled at compile time.
<edit>conky does support APM so I'm unsure why it didn't work in this case</edit>

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss

Last edited by HairyWill on Fri 13 Apr 2007, 04:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [87 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0787s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]