Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 21:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Puppy2 boot manager for SFS files ... Test ...
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2007, 17:25    Post subject:  Puppy2 boot manager for SFS files ... Test ...  

Here's a simple boot manager, the GTK GUI is complete, however boot code is needed.

Probably put in: /etc/my-applications
Make a link in: /etc/my-applications/bin to: /etc/my-applications/bootman/bootmanager

Selected SFS files are put in the file: /etc/rc.d/rc.bootsfs
In the format needed by UnionFS & AUFS (:SFS-1:SFS-2:SFS-3).
There will be a leading ":" as shown above.
Before accessing, boot code should check for the existence of: /etc/rc.d/rc.bootsfs
If file is nonexisting, then union files as Puppy does now.

Need boot code to mount any partitions that SFS files are on & the SFS files themselves.

There's a setting for FreeRAM, it's to insure Puppy works for low RAM PCs with no swap.
One example is LANboot PCs that cannot have a swap.
The boot code should load SFS files to RAM if they don't compromise FreeRAM.
When out of FreeRAM & if there's enough space, boot code should copy SFS files
on CD-DVD & USB to /mnt/home (or equivalent part.) & union from there.
It may be desirable to have a path setting for this to select a different part.

The order of the SFS files in the list determines what's in RAM, first & etc.

There's also a checkbox to mount all HD partitions at boot (asked for repetedly).
I did have a complete list of choices, but it seemed too over-done & complex.

If someone (Barry, Nathan, etc.) wants the boot code, say so & I'll make it.

This is a first build... Any Qs & suggestions are welcome.
BootManager.tar.gz
Description  "Mount all HD partitions at boot" code has been added.
gz

 Download 
Filename  BootManager.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.91 KB 
Downloaded  1436 Time(s) 
bootmanager.png
 Description   Small & simple, the Puppy way...
 Filesize   10.64 KB
 Viewed   5179 Time(s)

bootmanager.png


Last edited by sunburnt on Mon 02 Apr 2007, 17:54; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2007, 15:39    Post subject:  

Here's the BOOT code to mount all found partitions automatically:

Code:

MNT=`mount`               # this code mounts ALL partitions found
PARTS=`cat /tmp/fsparts.txt`
echo "$PARTS" |while read LINE;do

  DEV=`echo "$PARTS" |cut -d '|' -f 1`
  if [ -n "`echo $MNT |grep $DEV`" ];then continue;fi
  MNTpt='/mnt/'`echo $DEV |cut -d '/' -f 3`
  TYPE=`echo "$PARTS" |cut -d '|' -f 2`

  if [ "$TYPE" = 'ext2' -o "$TYPE" = 'ext3' -o "$TYPE" = 'vfat' -o "$TYPE" = 'msdos' -o "$TYPE" = 'ntfs' ];then

   if [ "$TYPE" = 'msdos' ];then TYPE='vfat';fi
   mkdir -p $MNTpt ; mount -t $TYPE $DEV $MNTpt
  fi
done



This code may not be right: "$TYPE" = 'ntfs' ... It may be: "$TYPE" = 'hpfs'

The code to reserve a preset amount of Free RAM is easy to do...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2007, 02:16    Post subject:  

I realized I should have made the checkbox "Mount All HD Partitions at Boot"
make the file: /etc/rc.d/rc.mntparts with the commands in it to do the work.
Then it would just be called from: /etc/rc.d/rc.local to mount all partitions.

If anyone would like me to upgrade this app. to do this, just say so...

I could also add the free ram code, but it's really boot code, so I wasn't
inclined to have it be part of this GUI app., but I could do this also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 21:01    Post subject:  

Something similar was discussed here . . .
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Puppy215MeetingSunday1April2007

Is this suitable or is something else required?

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Tue 03 Apr 2007, 04:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 00:52    Post subject:  

Lobster; I'm not sure what you mean by suitable...

The lead up discussion is about full-HD install not being able to mount SFS files.
The full install doesn't union anything, but it's certainly capable of doing it.
All that's needed is the command to union the SFS file on /, the GUI doesn't
do that as it's part of Barry's boot code, as is the "copy to ram" code.

I'll make a version for full-HD installs that'll do this, but how many use full-HD?
I know some prefer it, but in my opinion the frugal install is the best one.
Full-HD would be a good developer setup, but the remaster scripts make it unnessary.

The other possability is copying the SFS file's contense to the HD.
A list could be kept to remove the copied SFS file's contense.
This'd make the GUI add/remove the SFS file without the need to union it.
It also means that the SFS file becomes part of the full install, unlike if the
the SFS file is unioned then it's always a separate part.

The BootManager GUI is rather simple in what it has to do (not much code).
I'd have already made a DotPup, etc. except the boot code is needed,
so the GUI doesn't really lend itself to being made into a package.

Ask any Qs that you have about anything... maybe the "copy the SFS file idea".

Let me know what you think about all of this...
Maybe I can catch the next meeting... Terry B.

Last edited by sunburnt on Mon 02 Apr 2007, 14:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 03:57    Post subject:  

Smile

Terry we are going flat out to get a script for Viz . . .
I totally agree with the frugal install (which is boot from CD and data and some files on HD right . . . I hope that is right - that is what I use)

the next meet is
Wed 4 April - 10:00 to 12:00 GMT

but we need a script before then . . .

WhoDo (Warren) and JoeD (Joe Dopp) are both having a go - I was too . . .

The idea I think is that people with limited ram can swap between sfs

I will direct Warren and Joe to this thread Smile
maybe you can correct any code they post . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 12:13    Post subject:  

Lobster; I'm still not sure if we're only talking about a frugal or the full install.
The BootManager is made for the frugal setup, but can be modded of course.
I need exact info on just what this script is supposed to do...
Also I need a copy of the file: /sbin/init for this Puppy version we're talking
about so I can modify it to use the sfs file list made by the sfsBootManager.

Low ram PCs should be able to mount up to 5 sfs files no problem.
The "copy sfs to ram" code is very critical, & I think this is what Puppy fails
quite often to do properly, & it causes Puppy to fail in some way.
I always opt for a conservative "leave lots of ram".

Someone set me straight on this, meanwhile I'll write the needed boot code.
If there's some code written already, post it here & I'll look at it.
At least loading of sfs files can then be done at boot, NOT after that!
Selection of sfs files can be done at boot, but it'd be a console menu thing.

NathanF has AUFS working, & it does swap sfs files on the fly while running,
but only if the PC has 512MB + of ram (weard), we HAVE to figure out WHY.
But that'll have to be for a later Puppy version, no time left now...

P.S. I just looked up GMT & I'm -7 hours, so next meeting will start at 3:00 in the morning.

Last edited by sunburnt on Mon 02 Apr 2007, 14:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 14:02    Post subject:  

Addendum::::: I think this is the only change needed to Puppy's boot code.
I made this from an old Puppy /init file, so I still need the current one to check.
Code:
At the bottom of /sbin/init is the line:

mount -t unionfs -o dirs=${UMNT1}${UMNTRO} none /pup_new;check_status $?

I think all that's needed is these lines in it's place:

UMNT2='' ; if [ -f /etc/rc.d/rc.bootsfs ];then UMNT2=`cat /etc/rc.d/rc.bootsfs`
mount -t unionfs -o dirs=${UMNT1}${UMNT2}${UMNTRO} none /pup_new;check_status $?

All I've done is to add ${UMNT2} to the union command.
Other changes are needed if control of loading the Devx & More files is wanted.
Currently I beleave they are auto. loaded by Barry's boot code in: init
These are extra sfs files, so they should be selectable like the rest.

Full functionality may not be possable with the time constraints you guy's have.
But to add the BootManager to it would be easy, or to have a console boot-time menu to choose the sfs files to load at bootup.
Ram loading will require more work to do, & it's critical code that could really screw up Puppy's ability to boot reliably.
As I said, I think the ram loading code is possably the cause of many problems.

P.S.
I've added to BootManager the code for "Mount all HD partitions at boot".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 17:09    Post subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Full functionality may not be possable with the time constraints you guy's have.
But to add the BootManager to it would be easy, or to have a console boot-time menu to choose the sfs files to load at bootup.
Ram loading will require more work to do, & it's critical code that could really screw up Puppy's ability to boot reliably.
As I said, I think the ram loading code is possably the cause of many problems.

Terry, all we really need for Puppy 2.15CE is a way to union the extra sfs files for a full hard drive install that doesn't involve newbies running a console command string as long as your arm. Razz If it had a GUI interface so much the better.

If your Bootmanager would do it that would be fantastic. How would you differentiate between the hard drive install and a frugal? The Bootmanager should only appear on a hard drive install, given your thoughts about the RAM install code.

Hope that helps.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 23:11    Post subject:  

WhoDo, you want to get a SFS BootManager into 2.15CE? ...hmm, I've gone for a complete solution, that also updates the desktop -- which needs some mods to the SFS files also. I have made many changes to 'init' and 'rc.update' scripts to do proper SFS management. As you're at a RC3 it is unwise to make too many changes, so probably my solution is best for 2.16 release -- my BootManager will be out in the 'exp2' release soon.

So, I don't know.... maybe sunburnt and others can put something together for 2.15.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 03 Apr 2007, 12:17    Post subject:  

Joe has updated this page for latest info
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Puppy215sfsExpansionPacks

Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 03 Apr 2007, 19:53    Post subject:  

JoeD, thanks, that is a nice clear explanation. Jumping hurriedly between different threads, I myself was getting confused as to exactly what the requirement was for the final 2.15CE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dsearles


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Location: New Hampshire, USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2007, 16:54    Post subject:  

BUT, how do you get the .SFS files to work on a Full HD install?

I tried putting the .SFS files into "/" (as mentioned in JoeD's post) but that doesn't seem to work. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rudy


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 18
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2007, 17:51    Post subject: SFS files
Subject description: Full HD Install
 

Same problem. Just realised that "fixmenus" from a terminal produces no change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2007, 18:21    Post subject:  

dsearles wrote:
BUT, how do you get the .SFS files to work on a Full HD install?

I tried putting the .SFS files into "/" (as mentioned in JoeD's post) but that doesn't seem to work. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated...

Yes. Sunburnt and I have been working on a newbie-friendly solution to that problem but it doesn't look like it will be easy. The sfs system, like Puppy, was designed for LiveCD and Frugal hdd installs. At the moment they evidently can't be plugged in and unplugged from a full hdd install.

Here is Pizzasgood's advice that applies to full hard drive installations, and copies the sfs contents to your hard drive:
Code:
mount web_215.sfs /mnt/data
cp -r /mnt/data/* /
sync
umount /mnt/data
fixmenus
Obviously you replace the sfs file name with the one you want to mount and copy to your hdd.

Hope that helps

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1004s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]