(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 25 Nov 2020, 20:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
DpupBuster CE 64 and 32 bit
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 14 [210 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2020, 08:39    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
Well, I really don't quite know what to make of this, José. I'm giving the 32-bit version a whirl, thinking that if it's anything like radky's DPup Stretch, it'll be a good'un.

(No, I don't want yet another 64-bit Puppy. I've got several of those already, thank you.)

What's niggling me is that this is the only Pup I've ever found where you've got to turn the firewall OFF to get a connection of any kind at all. No matter how I set the firewall up, NO connection till I turn it OFF.

That's not very secure, is it? Is this a known 'bug'? I haven't had time to read the thread all the way through yet, so I haven't yet found out.....or otherwise.


Mike. Wink


Hate to say it, but having tried DPup Buster 64, I can't get an internet connection at all.....either with firewall "ON", or "OFF".

That's killed it for me, I'm sorry to say. Every other member of the kennels just works. This one seems to be nothing but hassle.....which is a shame, because it looks nice, and most of the other stuff works fine; everything except the internet, that is.....and for me, an OS that won't connect to the 'net isn't much use.

EDIT:- I wonder if the Network Wizard 'patches' rerwin developed for Bionicpup would work here? Can't hurt to try, I guess.


Mike. Confused

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2020, 10:13    Post subject:  

Hm! Seems to have done the trick.

Not sure which of them is responsible, but I've deleted the save, re-booted, set DPup up again, disconnected from the network, installed all 3 of Richard's latest updates from here:-

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=952876#952876

.....followed by re-booting again (to make sure they're in the save for session start-up), and set networking up again with SNS. It takes a bit longer now, 'cos Richard's introduced a longer delay along with a few other things, but.....it says there's a connection, and there IS one this time.

This is without setting the firewall up. That's the next task, to see if the firewall has the same deleterious effect it had with previous attempts.....

Watch this space. Posting from Fred's 'portable-Quantum' now.


Mike. :wink;

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2020, 07:00    Post subject:  

Yup; it still 'sticks'. Or seems to, at any rate....

Firewall set up to my normal preferences now, and my internet connection is still behaving itself. I thought this ought to work; Bionic64 & Buster64 are both using the same kernel, and the glibc is near as dammit the same - Bionic64 ~ 2.27, Buster64 ~ 2.28. It certainly fixed the issue in Bionic64, and it's done the same here, too.

Nice one.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Thu 11 Jun 2020, 21:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2020, 21:31    Post subject:  

Spoke too soon, it seems.

For some reason, the k4.19.23 kernel just gives me nowt but hassle on this Pavilion tower. Busterpup64 reverted, after another re-boot, to the same never-ending round of aggravation I've been getting in Bionicpup64 with this kernel; constant messing around with the various network wizards, re-booting the router again & again, pissing around with the firewall, and never, ever actually getting a connection.....aughh!

Don't need it.

So Busterpup64 is now running Xenialpup64's default k4.9.58 kernel. After re-booting, the network connected instantly, sweet as a nut. That makes Xenialpup64, jrb's Quirky April64 7.0.1 and now Busterpup64 all running the same kernel. I'm going to revert Bionicpup64 back to it tomorrow. It supports all my hardware, and everything behaves itself, so.....why not?

It really IS a "no-brainer". Experimentation has proved, conclusively, that this kernel just "works" for me. Why put up wi' hassle when there's no need...?

-------------------------------------

Before I forget to say it, Busterpup64 is actually a very sweet Puppy. José's made a lovely job of this, and it's chock-full of very neat little touches. And thanks for the painstaking work getting Openshot 2.4.4 working, mate; it really is appreciated, let me tell you! Very Happy


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gychang


Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 416
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jun 2020, 22:24    Post subject: loses sound setting on reboot  

Am using dpupbuste64, works well on my PC after a frugal install to my HD. I have a USB earphone-mic which I prefer. I have installed pavucontrol and set as shown but after a reboot, the settings are not retained.

---
[root@dpupbuster64 ~] $ inxi -SMA
System:
Host: dpupbuster64
Kernel: 4.19.23 x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: JWM 2.3.7
Distro: Puppy 8.0.0
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: TOSHIBA
product: Satellite E55-A
v: PSKPJU-01K023 serial: 2E017190P
Mobo: TOSHIBA model: ZRMAA v: 1.00
serial: * BIOS: TOSHIBA v: 1.50
date: 12/02/2013
Audio:
Device-1: Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
Device-2: Intel 8 Series HD Audio
driver: snd_hda_intel
Device-3: N/A type: USB
driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo
Device-4: N/A type: USB
driver: hid-generic,snd-usb-audio,usbhid
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.23
[root@dpupbuster64 ~] $
---

Is there a fix for this?
screen1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   34.54 KB
 Viewed   748 Time(s)

screen1.png


_________________
---
trying to learn puppylinux... Very Happy
---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
josejp2424


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Sat 20 Jun 2020, 22:11    Post subject: Re: loses sound setting on reboot
Subject description: pavucontrol
 

gychang wrote:
Am using dpupbuste64, works well on my PC after a frugal install to my HD. I have a USB earphone-mic which I prefer. I have installed pavucontrol and set as shown but after a reboot, the settings are not retained.

---
[root@dpupbuster64 ~] $ inxi -SMA
System:
Host: dpupbuster64
Kernel: 4.19.23 x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: JWM 2.3.7
Distro: Puppy 8.0.0
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: TOSHIBA
product: Satellite E55-A
v: PSKPJU-01K023 serial: 2E017190P
Mobo: TOSHIBA model: ZRMAA v: 1.00
serial: * BIOS: TOSHIBA v: 1.50
date: 12/02/2013
Audio:
Device-1: Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
Device-2: Intel 8 Series HD Audio
driver: snd_hda_intel
Device-3: N/A type: USB
driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo
Device-4: N/A type: USB
driver: hid-generic,snd-usb-audio,usbhid
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.23
[root@dpupbuster64 ~] $
---

Is there a fix for this?

you should try editing.

/etc/pulse/default.pa

Code:
load-module module-device-restore


rename

Code:
#load-module module-device-restore

_________________
Shiba Inu | Pupjibaro jessie | My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
josejp2424


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Sat 20 Jun 2020, 22:13    Post subject: kernel
Subject description: kernel
 

Mike Walsh wrote:
Spoke too soon, it seems.

For some reason, the k4.19.23 kernel just gives me nowt but hassle on this Pavilion tower. Busterpup64 reverted, after another re-boot, to the same never-ending round of aggravation I've been getting in Bionicpup64 with this kernel; constant messing around with the various network wizards, re-booting the router again & again, pissing around with the firewall, and never, ever actually getting a connection.....aughh!

Don't need it.

So Busterpup64 is now running Xenialpup64's default k4.9.58 kernel. After re-booting, the network connected instantly, sweet as a nut. That makes Xenialpup64, jrb's Quirky April64 7.0.1 and now Busterpup64 all running the same kernel. I'm going to revert Bionicpup64 back to it tomorrow. It supports all my hardware, and everything behaves itself, so.....why not?

It really IS a "no-brainer". Experimentation has proved, conclusively, that this kernel just "works" for me. Why put up wi' hassle when there's no need...?

-------------------------------------

Before I forget to say it, Busterpup64 is actually a very sweet Puppy. José's made a lovely job of this, and it's chock-full of very neat little touches. And thanks for the painstaking work getting Openshot 2.4.4 working, mate; it really is appreciated, let me tell you! Very Happy


Mike. Wink


in other pc i had bad experience with the kernel 4.19.23 .
and thanks for the tests run on dpupbuster

_________________
Shiba Inu | Pupjibaro jessie | My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
josejp2424


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Sat 20 Jun 2020, 22:15    Post subject: Re: libreOffice-6.3.3
Subject description: libreOffice
 

gychang wrote:
josejp2424 wrote:
LibreOffice 6.3.3



Download LibreOffice-6.3.3

MD5
# 7fc618db3440438a9b3dacfeb6c4cc8e

locales libreoffice-= ar - ca - es - fr - hu - it - ja - ru - zh_CN


is there a 32bit?


https://sourceforge.net/projects/dpup/files/32bit/libreoffice-6.4.4-buster-32_8.0.0_nls.sfs

_________________
Shiba Inu | Pupjibaro jessie | My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
josejp2424


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Sat 20 Jun 2020, 22:18    Post subject: apulse
Subject description: apulse
 

Mike Walsh wrote:
jplt3 wrote:
@rcrsn51

I resolve my problem :

i have a portable firefox profile :

Code:
#!/bin/sh
LAUNCHDIR="$(dirname "$(readlink -f "$0")")"

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LAUNCHDIR/:$LAUNCHDIR/extralibs${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH} "$LAUNCHDIR/firefox" "$@" -profile "$LAUNCHDIR/profile/myprofile.default"


i download a new version of firefox and the sound work well now .

I think that someting gone wrong after multiple updates of firefox himself !


@ jplt3/rcrsn51:-

From what I can see of it, using apulse and ALSA is the problem.....because Jose has specifically built this to use PulseAudio. It's all fully installed, AFAICT.

I'm hazarding a guess here, but wouldn't trying to use 'apulse' interfere with Pulse itself? Bill, what are your thoughts on this one?


Mike. Wink

It's better pulseaudio. There's no need to pulse

_________________
Shiba Inu | Pupjibaro jessie | My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gabtech

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jun 2020, 06:05    Post subject: v4l2loopback_dc in dpup  

Hi joseph,

I'm trying to install droidcam in dpupbuster64 but it installs with errors as seen from attachment. I've tried to install v4l2loopback from ppm and from github but v4l2loopback reports errors.

[root@dpupbuster64 ~] $ depmod -a
[root@dpupbuster64 ~] $ modprobe v4l2loopback_dc
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'v4l2loopback_dc': Exec format error

[root@dpupbuster64 ~] $ dmesg | grep -i v4l2loopback
v4l2loopback_dc: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout
v4l2loopback_dc: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout
v4l2loopback_dc: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout
[root@dpupbuster64 ~] $


Both devx and kernel sources are installed.
droidcam-error.txt.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  droidcam-error.txt.gz 
Filesize  1.65 KB 
Downloaded  153 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01101001b


Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 124
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jun 2020, 02:37    Post subject: Re: v4l2loopback_dc in dpup  

gabtech wrote:
I've tried to install v4l2loopback from ppm and from github but v4l2loopback reports errors.

Hi gabtech!

DPupBuster64 already has the v4l2loopback_dc module. You just have to load it.

Go to Menu > Other > Boot Manager

There, go to "Modules" tab > "Add new module"

Scroll the modules list until you find "v4l2loopback_dc". Select it and click on "Add" button. Click on "OK" button and restart.

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
josejp2424


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jul 2020, 14:58    Post subject: dpupbuster intel atom
Subject description: dpupbuster intel atom
 

dpupbuste 32.
configured and kernel for intel atom processor.



Dpupbuster 32

https://sourceforge.net/projects/dpup/files/dpupbuster-32bits-Intel_Atom-05072020.iso

Mirror 2
http://www.mediafire.com/file/kkms1hx2a54sixl/dpupbuster-32bits-Intel_Atom-05072020.iso

Md5
73b2e86eb4be8db1da0cf9f184d0783d

_________________
Shiba Inu | Pupjibaro jessie | My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
josejp2424


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jul 2020, 13:30    Post subject: SeaMonkey Application Suite
Subject description: SeaMonkey Application Suite
 

SeaMonkey Internet Application Suite.




32 bits

https://sourceforge.net/projects/dpup/files/32bit/seamonkey-2.53.2-i686.pet

64 bits

https://sourceforge.net/projects/dpup/files/64bit/seamonkey-2.53.2-x86_64.pet

_________________
Shiba Inu | Pupjibaro jessie | My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01101001b


Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 124
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jul 2020, 21:18    Post subject: Re: dpupbuster intel atom
Subject description: dpupbuster intel atom
 

josejp2424 wrote:
dpupbuste 32.
configured and kernel for intel atom processor.

Excellent! I'll try it out quite soon!

Thank you so much Mr J! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
josejp2424


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jul 2020, 03:28    Post subject: Re: dpupbuster intel atom
Subject description: dpupbuster intel atom
 

01101001b wrote:
josejp2424 wrote:
dpupbuste 32.
configured and kernel for intel atom processor.

Excellent! I'll try it out quite soon!

Thank you so much Mr J! Very Happy
.

OK 01101001b , Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
Shiba Inu | Pupjibaro jessie | My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 14 [210 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1713s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0936s) ][ GZIP on ]