(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 27 Sep 2020, 00:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
TazPuppy 5.0 rc2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 79 of 80 [1186 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 77, 78, 79, 80 Next
Author Message
didit

Joined: 15 Nov 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2020, 02:39    Post subject:  

nvidia-xconfig

Using X configuration file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf".

VALIDATION ERROR: Data incomplete in file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.
At least one Device section is required.

sh: pkg-config: command not found
Backed up file '/etc/X11/xorg.conf' as
'/etc/X11/xorg.conf.nvidia-xconfig-original'
Backed up file '/etc/X11/xorg.conf' as '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup'
New X configuration file written to '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
didit

Joined: 15 Nov 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2020, 17:42    Post subject:  

Thats what i have on TazPuppy and on SCpup (nouveau driver both)
Screenshot(1).png
 Description   chrome gpu on Scpup
 Filesize   80.22 KB
 Viewed   282 Time(s)

Screenshot(1).png

Screenshot-45.png
 Description   chrome gpu on tazpuppy
 Filesize   66.98 KB
 Viewed   282 Time(s)

Screenshot-45.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1424
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2020, 18:37    Post subject:  

@Didit
nvidia-xconfig look for entry in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, however TazPuppy does not store Xorg settings at xorg.conf. Instead it uses individual files saved at /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d folder

Did you try to use ScPup kernel and zdrv files on TazPuppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
didit

Joined: 15 Nov 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2020, 19:47    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@Didit
Did you try to use ScPup kernel and zdrv files on TazPuppy?

no i did not, scpup kernel 5.4.46 i dont know if it matters too much

Last edited by didit on Sat 04 Jul 2020, 19:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1424
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2020, 19:53    Post subject:  

@didit

Try to boot TazPuppy using ScPup kernel. Don't forget to rename ScPup zdrv file as zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 782
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2020, 20:16    Post subject:  

Have been running Tazpuppy RC2 for 2 days now. Frugal install on Dell laptop Core i5-5200U 8 GB RAM. I used a save folder for previous install. I had previously installed firefox-official (76.0), which successfully updated yesterday to 78.0.1. I have added a LibreOffice SFS. All working withut issue.

Tazpuppy 5.0 RC2 is running very smoothly. Great work. Thanks mistfire.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
didit

Joined: 15 Nov 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2020, 21:02    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@didit

Try to boot TazPuppy using ScPup kernel. Don't forget to rename ScPup zdrv file as zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs

yes i just tried this but nothing changed (but maybe i should use fdrv also idk)
Screenshot111.png
Description  tazpuppy with scpup kernel and zdrv
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot111.png 
Filesize  134.2 KB 
Downloaded  64 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 782
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2020, 22:07    Post subject:  

didit wrote:
mistfire wrote:
@didit

Try to boot TazPuppy using ScPup kernel. Don't forget to rename ScPup zdrv file as zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs

yes i just tried this but nothing changed (but maybe i should use fdrv also idk)


Attached is a screenshot of the nvidia folder in an fdrv. It may contain firmware which will assist you.

If you run run from a termnal:

Code:
dmesg | grep -i firmware


It may identify missing firmware, which may be in the fdrv.
nvidia.png
 Description   Contents nvidia folder in fdrv.
 Filesize   32.55 KB
 Viewed   241 Time(s)

nvidia.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GigaWatt


Joined: 20 Mar 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jul 2020, 09:42    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@Gigawatt

If you boot TazPuppy for the first time then do the following:

1. Login on commandline as root
2. Run the following commands
Code:

cp /var/log/Xorg.0.log /root/
mkdir -p /root/xorg-conf-files
cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/* /root/xorg-conf-files/


3. Put /home/tux/xorg-conf-files in a tarball
4. Shutdown tazpuppy and create a savefile
5. Boot other puppy
6. If savefile was a file then mount it otherwise enter to the save folder
7. Get the Xorg.0.log and the tarball you made at /home/tux/
8. Upload to this thread.


Sorry, meant to write earlier, but was busy.

I tried with an old beta (58 I believe) and yes, it doesn't load X on that beta. With the latest RC2, it does load X, but the colors are all scrambled and it looks like the graphics timings are of... you get stripes, like on a bad TV channel (back in the analog TV days) and rainbow colors. Maybe a bad driver config Question.

I'll see if I can take a pic Wink.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
didit

Joined: 15 Nov 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jul 2020, 01:56    Post subject:  

tux@TazPuppy:~$ dmesg | grep -i firmware
pci 0000:00:00.0: [Firmware Bug]: reg 0x1c: invalid BAR (can't size)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GigaWatt


Joined: 20 Mar 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jul 2020, 10:58    Post subject:  

GigaWatt wrote:

I tried with an old beta (58 I believe) and yes, it doesn't load X on that beta. With the latest RC2, it does load X, but the colors are all scrambled and it looks like the graphics timings are of... you get stripes, like on a bad TV channel (back in the analog TV days) and rainbow colors. Maybe a bad driver config Question.

I'll see if I can take a pic Wink.

Pic in attachment.

The cursor doesn't seem to be scrambled and you can position it and move it just fine. Another mistake on my part, the colors are correct (since the background is kinda rainbow colored, my first impression was that the colors are also out of place), but as you can see, the whole screen... it's like the horizontal sync is off by one whole frame Question.

I'm booting TazPuppy from a flash drive and the rig is currently running Windows XP. Everything is fine in XP, so it's not a hardware issue.
VIA_Chrome9_Graphics_Problem.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  VIA_Chrome9_Graphics_Problem.jpg 
Filesize  223.15 KB 
Downloaded  54 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
didit

Joined: 15 Nov 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jul 2020, 13:58    Post subject:  

i replaced nouveau.ko(on my full installed tazpuppy) with one from scpup and now there is no driver loaded
root@TazPuppy:/home/tux# modprobe nouveau
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'nouveau': Exec format error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1424
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jul 2020, 23:05    Post subject:  

@diditt replacing nouveau.ko is a bad idea. Undo it. Since you are using the scpup kernel and zdrv files. Try to load also the scpup fdrv file, rename it as fdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs, put it beside the zdrv file and reboot tazpuppy
Last edited by mistfire on Mon 06 Jul 2020, 23:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1424
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jul 2020, 23:06    Post subject:  

GigaWatt wrote:
GigaWatt wrote:

I tried with an old beta (58 I believe) and yes, it doesn't load X on that beta. With the latest RC2, it does load X, but the colors are all scrambled and it looks like the graphics timings are of... you get stripes, like on a bad TV channel (back in the analog TV days) and rainbow colors. Maybe a bad driver config Question.

I'll see if I can take a pic Wink.

Pic in attachment.

The cursor doesn't seem to be scrambled and you can position it and move it just fine. Another mistake on my part, the colors are correct (since the background is kinda rainbow colored, my first impression was that the colors are also out of place), but as you can see, the whole screen... it's like the horizontal sync is off by one whole frame Question.

I'm booting TazPuppy from a flash drive and the rig is currently running Windows XP. Everything is fine in XP, so it's not a hardware issue.


May I see the xorg configs of your TazPuppy stored at /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
didit

Joined: 15 Nov 2019
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jul 2020, 01:33    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@diditt replacing nouveau.ko is a bad idea. Undo it. Since you are using the scpup kernel and zdrv files. Try to load also the scpup fdrv file, rename it as fdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs, put it beside the zdrv file and reboot tazpuppy
i made so but i could not run my chrome browser coz of libc.so.6 (required version 2.28 ) - i tried to paste it from my full installed tazpuppy but got segmentation fault error and also tried to paste it into chrome folder - got the same error.. So now i can't recall how i managed to run chrome previously.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 79 of 80 [1186 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 77, 78, 79, 80 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0564s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]