low sound in VIA VT1708

Problems and successes with specific brands/models of computer audio hardware
Post Reply
Message
Author
Luisan86
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 03 Jun 2020, 19:02

low sound in VIA VT1708

#1 Post by Luisan86 »

Hello all,

I'm new and beginner in this world of linux. Like others i've got a old laptop (my wife really) with integrated audio. The sound is clear but very low (yes, i change the values of pcm, and others in alsamixer).

The solution 'is easy', but i don't know how i can operate it in Bionic Puppy. I need to change one node, the number 0x26 (pin complex) in the sound driver. In other distros i can use the HDA_ANALYZER, a friendly front that can operate on this values, even create a Python script with the code.

The necesary changes in the node 0x26 are:

- set eapd-btlenable (EAPD 0X0 ----> EAPD 0X2: EAPD)
- set_pin_widget_control (Pin-ctls:0x0 ---> Pin-ctls: 0x60: IN OUT)
Attachments
Python.JPG
This is the Python code used in Linux Mint on the file "/dev/snd/hwC0D0"
(88.47 KiB) Downloaded 195 times

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#2 Post by Semme »

Welcome Luisan86!

Search pkg manager for "alsa-tools-gui" -- install it and any dependencies..

Then in Pups Multimedia menu fire up hdajackretask. Does it find your codec?
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

Luisan86
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 03 Jun 2020, 19:02

#3 Post by Luisan86 »

Thanks Semme

Yes, i saw this app but i discarded it because don't recognize my codec, or any codec.

I'll retake this via and i'll try to fix the problem with hdakjackretask. Perhaps the solution began with the jackretask.

Do you known a solution for the unrecognized codec?

Thanks again

Luisan86
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 03 Jun 2020, 19:02

#4 Post by Luisan86 »

Hi, again

i've checked the dependencies installed package, for the alsa-tool-gui. i've got a missing library: libfltk.so.1.1.

if i search, using the puppy package manager, the library libfltk, all listed are installed, but no one is exactly the libfltk.so.1.1.

Perhaps this is the bug for my messages 'no codecs found'.

By the way, i'm using the distro puppy in a USB with personal storage...

Best regards

enrique
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun 10 Nov 2019, 00:10
Location: Planet Earth

#5 Post by enrique »

Sometime we can add a symlink to an exiting lib. Please do

Code: Select all

find /usr/lib/ /usr/lib64/ /usr/local/lib/ /usr/local/lib64/ | grep libfltk
post here the result

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

INTO THE UNKNOWN - FULL STEAM AHEAD!

#6 Post by Semme »

Luisan,

Based on what you've provided and the corrosponding info I've filtered through, I'm confident I've interpreted everything properly. There are ZERO typos. What I'd like you to do is confirm for yourself the file location for my alternate, or "second" method (/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0, your device). The only item I'm unsure of is that "reconfig" line, the third one in the second method. And who knows, maybe the first method resolves your issue.

You'll need to install "alsa-tools" from PPM before executing the commands in the first method.

#############
#############

Code: Select all

hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x26 SET_EAPD_BTLENABLE 0x02
hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x26 SET_PIN_WIDGET_CONTROL 0x60
Reference

#############
#############

Code: Select all

echo 0x26 0x26070c02 > /sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/user_pin_configs
echo 0x26 0x26070760 > /sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/user_pin_configs
echo 1 > /sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/reconfig
Reference

It'll work or it won't. There's NO luck involved.

I WILL however keep my fingers crossed. :D:wink:

User avatar
Mike Walsh
Posts: 6351
Joined: Sat 28 Jun 2014, 12:42
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

#7 Post by Mike Walsh »

@ Luisan86:-

Perhaps this might help?

http://old-releases.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/p ... _amd64.deb

(Direct link to the most recent 64-bit libfltk .deb from /ubuntu/pool's "old-releases" repo, from 2014...)


Mike. :wink:

Luisan86
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 03 Jun 2020, 19:02

#8 Post by Luisan86 »

Thanks Enrique

First, i've created a new USB with Puppy Ubuntu. Installed again the alsa-tools-gui, in this case with no error in library missing.

If i execute your command i obtain :

/usr/lib/libfltk_gl.so.1.1
/usr/lib/libfltk_images.so.1.1
/usr/lib/libfltk_forms.so.1.1
/usr/lib/libfltk.so.1.1
/usr/lib64/libfltk_gl.so.1.1
/usr/lib64/libfltk_images.so.1.1
/usr/lib64/libfltk_forms.so.1.1
/usr/lib64/libfltk.so.1.1
find: ‘/usr/local/lib64/’: No such file or directory

Luisan86
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 03 Jun 2020, 19:02

#9 Post by Luisan86 »

Thanks Enrique

First, i've created a new USB with Puppy Ubuntu. Installed again the alsa-tools-gui, in this case with no error in library missing.

If i execute your command i obtain :

/usr/lib/libfltk_gl.so.1.1
/usr/lib/libfltk_images.so.1.1
/usr/lib/libfltk_forms.so.1.1
/usr/lib/libfltk.so.1.1
/usr/lib64/libfltk_gl.so.1.1
/usr/lib64/libfltk_images.so.1.1
/usr/lib64/libfltk_forms.so.1.1
/usr/lib64/libfltk.so.1.1
find: ‘/usr/local/lib64/’: No such file or directory

Luisan86
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 03 Jun 2020, 19:02

#10 Post by Luisan86 »

Thans too Semme

You gave me new paths to investigate. The commands, options, that you comment to me is used to modify the HwC0D0. That is the solution in Linux Mint using the alsa_analizer.

BUt, i readed that in Puppy Linux, i din't find it, don't exists that file (hwC0D0), due to Kernel using in this distro In fact, in the snd_hda_intel, in my puupy linux , contain the command config_snd_hda_hwdep=m. i try to change the value to 'y' but in this case obtain an error in that line with i force reload the alsa.

So that, i think that is not possible to force the system to create a hwC0D0.

When the hwC0D0 don't exists i suppose that the only option is the codec#0 (the driver) (proc/asound/card0/codec#0). But this file no accept the set-eapd commands and not is possible to edit and change manually this file.

And...this is my actual death line.

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#11 Post by Semme »

You're saying neither of those file locations exist aboard Pup? Bummer!

No worries, though, I have NO DOUBT that one of those cmds would work on *any* standard distribution.
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

Luisan86
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 03 Jun 2020, 19:02

#12 Post by Luisan86 »

Thanks to all.

It's true Semme. Other distros, standard, can fix the problem with your commands or using, if possible, the hda_analizer.

Puppy is so fast, but i'll have choose another light distro.

Thanks again.

Post Reply