(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Sep 2020, 08:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
DpupBuster CE 64 and 32 bit
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 14 [210 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 664

PostPosted: Sun 15 Mar 2020, 15:48    Post subject: wine64-5.0-rc1_v5.0-rc6.pet  

Bionicpup on desktop was getting bit crashy, so did fresh install, this time of dpupbuster64.

Installed wine64-5.0-rc1_v5.0-rc6.pet and it actually went pretty smooth for a wine installation. I just couldnt get portable wine I had been using to work in dpupbuster64.

However my main reason to install wine is to run KindleForPC 1.17, last version Kindle that will work in WINE that I know of. It wont install. Oh everything else works and this maybe first WINE I've used that wine"ie_explorer" will actually surf. Wouldnt recommend using it, but still wasnt all crashy with errors galore like in past.

Anyway when trying to install KindleForPC117, I get this:

Quote:
[root@dpupbuster64 ~/my-applications] $ wine /root/my-documents/KindleForPC117.exe
001b:err:module:load_so_dll failed to load .so lib "/usr/bin/../lib/i386-linux-gnu/wine/winebus.sys.so": libudev.so.1: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
001b:err:ntoskrnl:ZwLoadDriver failed to create driver L"\\Registry\\Machine\\System\\CurrentControlSet\\Services\\WineBus": c0000142
000f:fixme:service:scmdatabase_autostart_services Auto-start service L"WineBus" failed to start: 1114


The Kindle installer does try to run and little popup that its getting packages ready, then crashes before it opens. Mono and gecko installed though Kindle app doesnt need them. Usually this old Kindle is one of easier apps to install and run. I did find and install 32bit libudev.so.1 but didnt help.

Like say 32bit compatibility sfs installed. Other 32bit apps I use have no problems, even one ancient solitaire game called GoldenBird from win98 era that does have problems on some versions WINE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 664

PostPosted: Mon 16 Mar 2020, 01:17    Post subject:  

I would still be curious how to make it work. But its a mute point.

I finally used package manager to install PlayOnLinux. Found instructions to modify it so it will run in root. I let it download and install 32bit WINE 2.2 and KindleForPC117. Kindle now works though GoldenBird doesnt. Sad But Kindle is the important app for me. Why they make it so hard to install 32bit WINE on 64bit system is beyond me. It should just come as part of the 64bit version cause most people use WINE to run older 32bit apps I think. Least I do.

UPDATE: Been playing more with PlayOnLinux. As annoying as it can be, it has some real virtues. I found I could choose to custom install a win app, but then choose version WINE I want to use. So I told it to use 32bit WINE 5.3. It downloaded and installed 5.3, I then directed it to my copy of windows programs and installed new instance of both Kindle 117 and GoldenBird. Both worked. I tried later version Kindle but it crashed during install. WINE still hasnt caught up enough to run newer versions.

PlayOnLinux takes lot getting used to if you are used to using WINE directly. You are adding a middleman. But there is NO easier way to install WINE, especially 32bit WINE on 64bit system, the version or versions of WINE you want. No idea how well it would work on other Puppies, but well worth trying. Works great on dpupbuster64.

Last edited by mouldy on Mon 16 Mar 2020, 22:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1874
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Mon 16 Mar 2020, 09:50    Post subject:  

mouldy wrote:
Why they make it so hard to install 32bit WINE on 64bit system is beyond me. It should just come as part of the 64bit version cause most people use WINE to run older 32bit apps I think. Least I do.


I agree! would make total sense
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jplt3


Joined: 08 Apr 2019
Posts: 118
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Mon 16 Mar 2020, 15:28    Post subject:  

Hi all ,

i'am about to be mad !

I want to install DpupBuster CE 64 : dpupbuster64-8.0.0-uefi-RC-2-28122019.iso

on an UEFI cheap machine :

Schneider SCL14
Processor : Intel Atom x5-Z8350
RAM : 2 Go
eMMC : 32 Go

it is a 64bit machine but the bios is a 32bit !!!

So i boot the machine via a usb key with dpupbuster64-8.0.0-uefi-RC-2-28122019 on it,
great it work quiet good .

But now how to install dpupbuster on this machine :

otherwise i have already an ubuntu 18.04 installed on it but it corrupted ! that's why i want a puppy on this machine

the harddrive :
Code:

/dev/mmcblk0p1 - 512 Mo - boot,esp
/dev/mmcblk0p2 - 18 Go  -  ubuntu 18.04
/dev/mmcblk0p3 - 10 Go  -  where i want to put my puppies


So in /dev/mmcblk0p1 i have :
Code:

EFI/boot/bootia32.efi
           bootia64.efi
efi.img
grub.cfg


Code:

grub.cfg

menuentry "DpupBuster64 8.0.0" {
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /vmlinuz  pmedia=ataflash pfix=fsck
initrd /initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Shutdown" {
   halt
}

menuentry "Reboot" {
   reboot
}


Sadly puppy_dpupbuster64_8.0.0.sfs is not found !

I really don't know what to do ?

Thanks for your help.
IMG_20200316_1812370.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  IMG_20200316_1812370.jpg 
Filesize  217.67 KB 
Downloaded  142 Time(s) 

_________________
JpLt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3913
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Mon 16 Mar 2020, 17:44    Post subject: DpupBuster CE 64 won't boot from eMMC drive  

@ jplt3,

Thought your problem looked familiar. See this thread, http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1050343#1050343
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 664

PostPosted: Mon 16 Mar 2020, 22:43    Post subject:  

Two or three years ago I bought a used Lenovo Ideapad 100s with the atom processor capable of 64bit and the 32bit bios. Cheap cause it had a hosed 32bit install of win10 on it and wouldnt run the built in win10 restore.

No problem booting linux from usb drive. I even installed some Puppy on eMMC and got it to boot. It wasnt easy, but then Puppy acted like it was running on dying hard drive, couldnt access some files, etc. Really acted wonky. I figured eMMC was dying. But I got hold of a 32bit copy win10 home (what it came with from factory so auto activated) and installed it from thumb drive via Rufus. It worked. Definitely designed for windows. Bios was UEFI only, no legacy option available.

Now also had a cheap Acer Aspire One Cloudbook. Similar but had Celeron processor and 64bit bios that did have legacy option. No problem booting and running I think Xenialpup on it with legacy option. Win10 on it would continuously lose driver for trackpad and keyboard. No idea why but it was PITA. Puppy worked with no hassles though did have to set trackpad in bios to basic. Since I had that option wasnt going to beat my head against wall setting up UEFI install Puppy. So its not really an eMMC kernel problem I think as the Acer definitely had same stupid soldered in place 32GB eMMC.

As experiment try installing Lubuntu 19.04 or whatever latest version is, see how it handles things. Lubuntu has an installer that deals with UEFI and it has apt-get which makes life whole lot easier to install stuff when experimenting.

EDIT: Oh didnt notice you have Ubuntu 18.04 on it. How well does that work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jplt3


Joined: 08 Apr 2019
Posts: 118
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Tue 17 Mar 2020, 03:37    Post subject:  

@mikeslr thanks for the link i will read this
@mouldy i think that i will install lubuntu even more lighter than xubuntu and then will try to make install puppy works ... will see

_________________
JpLt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 1141

PostPosted: Tue 17 Mar 2020, 04:05    Post subject: Re: DpupBuster CE 64 won't boot from eMMC drive  

mikeslr wrote:
@ jplt3,

Thought your problem looked familiar. See this thread, http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1050343#1050343
If this is the problem, then here is the solution:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1049405#1049405
You have to switch kernel, to a kernel that supports your kind of harddrive.
Barry K has some good ones.
Easy fix Wink Let's hope this is it.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jplt3


Joined: 08 Apr 2019
Posts: 118
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Wed 18 Mar 2020, 09:46    Post subject:
Subject description: no sound firefox 74.0
 

Why on DpupBuster CE 64 , because on bionipu64.8.0 i don't have this problem :

in firefox esr in dpupbuster sound work good but when launch my firefox 74.0 64bits NO SOUND ! :

Code:

 [apulse] [error] do_connect_pcm: can't get initial hw parameters for playback device "default". Error code 1 (Operation not permitted)
[apulse] [error] do_connect_pcm: failed to open ALSA device. Apulse does no resampling or format conversion, leaving that task to ALSA plugins. Ensure that selected device is capable of playing a particular sample format at a particular rate. They have to be supported by either hardware directly, or by "plug" and "dmix" ALSA plugins which will perform required conversions on CPU.
[Child 12665, MediaDecoderStateMachine #1] WARNING: 7f16f1eca3d0 OpenCubeb() failed to init cubeb: file /builds/worker/workspace/build/src/dom/media/AudioStream.cpp, line 328
[Child 12665, MediaDecoderStateMachine #1] WARNING: Decoder=7f16ed8c5c00 [OnMediaSinkAudioError]: file /builds/worker/workspace/build/src/dom/media/MediaDecoderStateMachine.cpp, line 3710


same if i do , after install apulse :

apulse path/to/my/firefox :

Code:

[apulse] [error] do_connect_pcm: can't get initial hw parameters for playback device "default". Error code 1 (Operation not permitted)
[apulse] [error] do_connect_pcm: failed to open ALSA device. Apulse does no resampling or format conversion, leaving that task to ALSA plugins. Ensure that selected device is capable of playing a particular sample format at a particular rate. They have to be supported by either hardware directly, or by "plug" and "dmix" ALSA plugins which will perform required conversions on CPU.
[Child 20022, MediaDecoderStateMachine #1] WARNING: 7f61bd6d6230 OpenCubeb() failed to init cubeb: file /builds/worker/workspace/build/src/dom/media/AudioStream.cpp, line 328
[Child 20022, MediaDecoderStateMachine #1] WARNING: Decoder=7f61bd4f2800 [OnMediaSinkAudioError]: file /builds/worker/workspace/build/src/dom/media/MediaDecoderStateMachine.cpp, line 3710
[Child 20022, MediaDecoderStateMachine #1] WARNING: Decoder=7f61bd4f2800 Decode error: NS_ERROR_DOM_MEDIA_MEDIASINK_ERR (0x806e000b) - OnMediaSinkAudioError: file /builds/worker/workspace/build/src/dom/media/MediaDecoderStateMachine.cpp, line 3358

_________________
JpLt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 18 Mar 2020, 10:05    Post subject:  

Open a terminal and run: alsamixer

This should open your default audio device. Does it look OK?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jplt3


Joined: 08 Apr 2019
Posts: 118
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Wed 18 Mar 2020, 10:20    Post subject:  

I think so
amixer.png
 Description   
 Filesize   49.01 KB
 Viewed   586 Time(s)

amixer.png


_________________
JpLt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 18 Mar 2020, 10:42    Post subject:  

I have a machine with ALC269VC audio (almost like yours).

I ran the Buster Starter Kit with the latest Firefox v74 and apulse.

Audio worked fine. So I don't know why your situation would be different.

We appear to have the same version of ALSA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jplt3


Joined: 08 Apr 2019
Posts: 118
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2020, 11:48    Post subject:  

@rcrsn51

I resolve my problem :

i have a portable firefox profile :

Code:
#!/bin/sh
LAUNCHDIR="$(dirname "$(readlink -f "$0")")"

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LAUNCHDIR/:$LAUNCHDIR/extralibs${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH} "$LAUNCHDIR/firefox" "$@" -profile "$LAUNCHDIR/profile/myprofile.default"


i download a new version of firefox and the sound work well now .

I think that someting gone wrong after multiple updates of firefox himself !

_________________
JpLt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 340
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Sat 21 Mar 2020, 06:59    Post subject: Teamviewer  

Hi everyone,

I have hard time at installing the latest teamviewer in Dpup 64 8.00 XFCE, it seems to me I tried all the alternatives (apt, .deb or pet package, etc...) but teamviewer always crash and refuse to load. Maybe I messed up something in my setup.

Please, can someone help me and post a step by step "how to" install the latest teamviewer and have it run fine ? This tool is critical to have with the current corona covid-19 crisis and is an absolute need. Many thanks in advance for any help you can provide Smile

Kind regards,
Laurent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 21 Mar 2020, 08:50    Post subject:  

The new versions of TeamViewer are designed to work in a full Linux like Ubuntu or Mint. They may be your best choice.

In particular, TV needs systemd and a login manager.

But I can get TeamViewer15 to work in the Stretch-Live Starter Kit using the instructions here (but not Buster).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 14 [210 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0936s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0353s) ][ GZIP on ]