(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 05 Mar 2021, 05:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How can I save settings in BionicPup32? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
firethumbs

Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 03:01    Post subject:  How can I save settings in BionicPup32? (Solved)  

Hey everybody. I am new in puppy. I am working on it for about 3 weeks. when I configure some setting after restarting the config will disappear. So I search for some solution until I find out that I have to save session.
How can I save session on my puppy step by step?
when I want to leave the puppy there is no asking for save session.
best regards

Last edited by firethumbs on Mon 13 Jan 2020, 03:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 3444
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 03:27    Post subject:  

My guess is that you did a full install which is not recommended for Puppy. Do a frugal install and you should get an option to save the session. Also - make sure that you do not boot with the RAM only option in which case savefiles will not be loaded.
_________________
nicOS-Utility-Suite
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
firethumbs

Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 03:41    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
My guess is that you did a full install which is not recommended for Puppy. Do a frugal install and you should get an option to save the session. Also - make sure that you do not boot with the RAM only option in which case savefiles will not be loaded.


Thanks for your attention. I did a frugal install . After my first leave I get an option to save session and I chose save. After that leave I never get that option.
How can I sure that I didn't boot with the RAM only option?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 337

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 05:12    Post subject:  

Quote:
How can I save session on my puppy step by step?
when I want to leave the puppy there is no asking for save session


When you run Puppy the first time, just once,
Puppy will ask you to set the time zone, video, sound, etc.

When you shutdown Puppy the first time, just once,
Puppy will ask if you want to create a save file
or use a save directory (folder).

The second time, it will not ask any more to configure the time zone, video, sound, etc.

After the first time, it will not ask any more if you want to create a save file.

Quote: "When I want to leave the puppy there is no asking for save session"
if you already did that, it only will ask the first time.

Quote:
After my first leave I get an option to save session and I chose save. After that leave I never get that option.
How can I sure that I didn't boot with the RAM only option?

If when you boot it does not ask to set the time zone, video, sound, etc
it is automatically using the save file.
You are not booting ram only.
(ram only means to skip the save file.)

If when you shut down it does not ask if you want to create a save file
then you are not running in ram only.

To be sure the save file or folder is working,
you can create a file in /root,
for example, right click in the Rox file manager
and click New, Blank File
you could name it firethumbs.txt

If firethumbs.txt is still there after a reboot,
then the save file is working.

If the save file is working,
maybe it is a problem with the program you are running.

What program are you trying to configure?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 3444
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 05:13    Post subject:  

Which option did you choose at first shutdown, to create a savefile or savefolder? Once the latter has been created you won't get that message again as changes should be saved automatically during/after every session. On which media (HDD, usbflash, etc.) and partition (linux filesystem, ntfs, fat) did you install Puppy and what bootloader are you using?
_________________
nicOS-Utility-Suite
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
firethumbs

Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 05:21    Post subject:  

williams2 wrote:

What program are you trying to configure?

my problem is for add additional input language. My first language is Persian.So I need have english and persian input language.When I add this through setup/input wizard/ advanced configuration, add my layout , after restarting I have to configure this setting again and again.

Last edited by firethumbs on Mon 13 Jan 2020, 05:30; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
firethumbs

Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 05:24    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
Which option did you choose at first shutdown, to create a savefile or savefolder? Once the latter has been created you won't get that message again as changes should be saved automatically during/after every session. On which media (HDD, usbflash, etc.) and partition (linux filesystem, ntfs, fat) did you install Puppy and what bootloader are you using?


I'm not sure about some answer. I remember that I choose some default values. I install on HDD and use linux partition (ext3 or 4) and I chose default boot loader.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 3444
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 05:48    Post subject:  

Are all other changes saved except for this particular language issue? I'm not sure if you can set more than one language, I don't think so.
_________________
nicOS-Utility-Suite
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
firethumbs

Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 06:17    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
Are all other changes saved except for this particular language issue? I'm not sure if you can set more than one language, I don't think so.

My problem has been solved. I don't know how but solved...
thanksfor you attentions...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1452s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0394s) ][ GZIP on ]