Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 27 Jan 2020, 09:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-810 Final [17 Jan 2020]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 11 [160 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5457
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2019, 14:55    Post subject:  

fatdog64 810 report..

1) when first launch --> SFS loader app has /mnt/home at top of window
however this folder doesn't exist at first launch.
SFS loader does work OK

2) I suggest that there should be link in /root back to /usr/doc/
called 'Help'

3) I couldn't get nvidia-418.43-k4.19.24_32_44.sfs to work on my nvidia 1030 card

__________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 337
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Wed 11 Dec 2019, 05:34    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Quote:
The solution to getting Fatdog to boot with AMDGPU was to boot without the firmware, create a 1GB swapfile, then boot with the firmware.


Glad you got it to work.

DELETED
I notice that xserver 19.6 is in the Fatdog 810 repo. Is it practical for me to roll back to that, to test the theory?

Last edited by LateAdopter on Tue 17 Dec 2019, 07:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1552
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 11 Dec 2019, 14:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
EDIT: A newer version of the firmware (iwlwifi-cc-a0-48.ucode) is available here and fixes the Bluetooth issue.


If we rebuild the kernel before final I'll add that.


Quote:
3) I couldn't get nvidia-418.43-k4.19.24_32_44.sfs to work on my nvidia 1030 card


Those packages are kernel specific, so none will work with the current kernel. It looks like that one is for the 4.19.24 kernel.

Quote:
I notice that xserver 19.6 is in the Fatdog 810 repo. Is it practical for me to roll back to that, to test the theory?


Probably, but besides xorg-server, you'll want to install all of the xf86-input-xxxx and xf86-video-xxx packages before you try restarting the x server. You might also have to rollback the libinput package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9180
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 12 Dec 2019, 18:51    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Unfortunately, there's no really good way to determine exactly what firmware you need for a particular set of kernel modules. Well, other reading a lot of source code.


In EasyOS I run this script:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

KERVER="$(uname -r)"
rm -rf fnd-firmware 2> /dev/null
rm -f missing-firmware 2> /dev/null

ALLMODULES="$(find /lib/modules/${KERVER}/kernel -type f -name '*.ko' | tr '\n' ' ')"

for AMODULE in $ALLMODULES
do
 BASENAME="$(basename $AMODULE .ko)" #ex: radeon
 FIRMWARE="$(modinfo ${BASENAME} | grep '^firmware: ' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 2- -d ' ' | tr '\n' ' ')"
 for AFIRMWARE in $FIRMWARE
 do
  if [ -f /lib/firmware/$AFIRMWARE ];then
   FIRMDIR="$(dirname /lib/firmware/$AFIRMWARE)"
   mkdir -p fnd-firmware${FIRMDIR}
   cp -a -f /lib/firmware/$AFIRMWARE fnd-firmware${FIRMDIR}/
   if [ -h /lib/firmware/$AFIRMWARE ];then
    REALFILE="$(readlink /lib/firmware/$AFIRMWARE)"
    cp -a -f ${FIRMDIR}/${REALFILE} fnd-firmware${FIRMDIR}/
   fi
   sync
  else
   echo "${BASENAME}: ${AFIRMWARE}" >> missing-firmware
  fi
 done

done


What you do is find all firmware, everything that you can find, and put it into /lib/firmware, then run that script. You need to be running with the particular kernel that you want to find the firmware for.

I also have scripts that will just find network or display related firmware, if you are interested.

Well, the script reads from /lib/firmware, but it can be any folder in which you accumulate all firmware that you can find, let's call it "firmwareEVERYTHING".

If you find some more firmware to add to firmwareEVERYTHING, I recommend copy it in like this:

Code:
# cp -a -u --remove-destination more-fw/* firmwareEVERYTHING/


the --remove-destination will prevent cp from following symlinks and overwriting target of a symlink.

The script will even log what firmware is still missing.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1552
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 12 Dec 2019, 20:46    Post subject:  

Thanks Barry. I have a similar script that uses modinfo and outputs the missing firmware, pretty similar really. It also takes in two text files called firmware-delete and firmware-keep. Those files list firmware we don't want (too big, too old, etc) and firmware we want to include. The problem we ran into is that modinfo doesn't always show the firmware that's needed, which is why we have the firmware-keep file. Our process for creating a new firmware collection is:

1)Download git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/firmware/linux-firmware.git

2)Copy the old firmware into the downloaded linux-firmware. This is in case we manually added some firmware in the past. Always true.

3)Edit/run create-firmware-collection.sh. Which I described above.

I'm sure you know this, but for the benefit of others, we have to update the firmware collection anytime there is a kernel change. Usually just for major changes, not bug fix revisions. So if we go from 4.19.87 to 4.19.88 no firmware change, but from 4.19.87 to 5.3.15 then we have to update the firmware. This is because newer versions of the same kernel module will sometimes require newer firmware. Of course we could just include everything from linux-firmware.git, but that's 753MB, and that still doesn't contain all the firmware we want. For the 4,19.86 kernel we include 85MB of firmware, and for 5.3.15 it's 90MB. And believe it or not we do try and keep the dog from gaining too much weight Smile

Anyway, that's problem we have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3717

PostPosted: Fri 13 Dec 2019, 20:39    Post subject:  

Thanks Fatdog team. 810 is working well for me (manual hdd frugal install, using grub4dos).

/usr/share/doc/fd-help/urxvt.md ... second to last line should read

Shift down-arrow will open a new tab

and not

Shift up-arrow will open a new tab

Similarly
Ctrl-left (or right) arrow to step between tabs
should read
Shift-left (or right) arrow to step between tabs

Code:
Key                Description

Shift+Down   New tab
Shift+Left     Go to left tab
Shift+Right   Go to right tab
Ctrl+Left       Move tab to the left
Ctrl+Right    Move tab to the right
Ctrl+d          Close tab

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2019, 05:42    Post subject:  

Hydrogen doesn't work! Fatdog repo lacks libQt5XmlPatterns.so.5 but after trying packages from other distros without success I'm posting here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 337
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2019, 08:01    Post subject:  

Hello jamesbond & kirk

DELETED

I would like to get VA-API working too, since VDPAU has been defunct for several years.

Can I request mesa-va-drivers 18.3.6 and libva-utils (vainfo) , please?

FD810 VA-API includes i965_drv_video.so but is missing nouveau_drv_video.so,
r600_drv_video.so and radeonsi_drv_video.so.

Thank you.

Last edited by LateAdopter on Tue 17 Dec 2019, 07:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1238

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2019, 08:33    Post subject:  

@stemsee, libQt5XmlPatterns.so.5 is included in qt-creator-qt5-4.7.2, which can be installed via package manager. It's huge (80+ MB), and you won't need all of it for sure. You could extract just the modules you need.
_________________
Fatdog64-810|+Packages|Kodi|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3432
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2019, 09:31    Post subject:  

step wrote:
@stemsee, libQt5XmlPatterns.so.5 is included in qt-creator-qt5-4.7.2, which can be installed via package manager. It's huge (80+ MB), and you won't need all of it for sure. You could extract just the modules you need.


Or install the full qt5-5.11.1 SFS (using SFS manager). Or install the full qt5-5.11.1 package (from the repo). Or extract the file from the package. The qt5 libraries we include in the base is a "cut-down" version and does not include everything.

@LateAdopter: Thanks for the finding. I'll let kirk respond to that.

_________________
Fatdog64 forum links: Latest version | Contributed packages | ISO builder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5457
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 16 Dec 2019, 16:55    Post subject:  

There is a small change to Zigbert's pfilesearch ...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1044707#1044707
It works in fatdog64...
__________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1552
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 16 Dec 2019, 18:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
Looking at the major distributions FD810 is between Bionic and Buster. so I installed the mesa 18.3.6 package to make it like Buster.


I don't understand, 810 includes mesa 18.3.6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 337
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2019, 07:35    Post subject:  

Hello kirk

I don't understand how I did it. I downloaded the ISO from nluug, checked the MD5, because I was confused by the fact that it appeared in two locations.
But when I extracted the initrd, I have ended up with the FD800 version.

I will delete my irrelevant comments and start again.

Sorry about that.

EDIT: - Oh no! I've gone down a snake again.

With the correct initrd and initrd-nano FD810 booted to a desktop once and allowed me to create a savefile. But it has failed to boot to the desktop again unless I have nomodeset.
I checked in /var/log/packages and it definitely lists the latest versions of mesa and xf86-video-amdgpu.
I deleted the savefile and it has still refused to boot again with amdgpu.

I think my installation of Bionicpup64 must have been beginners luck. I have used it for two weeks with its libreoffice SFS and my Vivaldi SFS loaded and it hasn't locked up at all.

EDIT 2 I confirm that, with amdgpu:

Fatdog 800 WILL NOT BOOT

Fatdog 810 WILL NOT BOOT

Fatdog 800 + mesa 18.3.6 + xf86-video-amdgpu 19.1 WILL BOOT

That's three out of three boots. GLXgears scores 12,500, so it's working properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1552
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2019, 17:06    Post subject:  

Quote:
Fatdog 800 + mesa 18.3.6 + xf86-video-amdgpu 19.1 WILL BOOT

That's three out of three boots. GLXgears scores 12,500, so it's working properly.


But that can't really work. The xf86-video-amdgpu-19.1.0-x86_64-1 package is compiled for 810's xorg-server and will not work with the one in 800/803. So what's probably happening is the xorg-server tries to load xf86-video-amdgpu and fails because it's not compiled for it, and then falls back to xf86-video-ati or maybe even the generic modesetting driver. So what you're essentially doing is removing the xf86-video-amdgpu package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 04:30    Post subject:  

has permissions for fixmenus changed?

Also for running Ardour 5.12 (available in repo) libaubio needs installing. This one works https://packages.slackonly.com/pub/packages/14.2-x86_64/libraries/aubio/aubio-0.4.9-x86_64-1_slonly.txz

Also running qjackctl locks up the entire system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 11 [160 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0863s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0116s) ][ GZIP on ]