Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 02:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
WAG-0.2.2.pup Wireless Access Gadget
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
moritzes

Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 20
Location: Akron, OH

PostPosted: Fri 19 Aug 2005, 16:27    Post subject:  

Still working for me!
I haven't had a chance to really stress test it, but the new install works nicely.
You might want to have the script check for "manuwifi" and offer to copy it if present (assuming that there will be more upgrades on the program). It's not hard to recreate it, but probably not hard to store it, either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Aug 2005, 21:32    Post subject:  

I am on the 770z with the orinoco classic gold card and it sees the connection now but still dosn't treat it as wireless. Won't scan with this card. I tried the new one on the 600e with the linksys wpc11 v4 running wifi-pup and it found my network and my neighbors too. I could not however connect to either one as dhcp wouldn't work. It also reported signal at 0/100. I will try another card and see what happens on the E when I get a few minutes. Running 1.0.3 on this one still.

Code:
wireless card not active
wireless card not responding
                                                           
no module loaded
dhcpcd running
wifi-beta installed

eth0 enabled
no IP assigned to eth0
access point aquired
no internet ping test

0 wireless network(s) detected
0 open network(s) detected

Connected to:
eth0      IEEE 802.11-DS  ESSID:"home"  Nickname:"HERMES I"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.447GHz  Access Point: 00:E0:98:DE:D3:33 
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality:54/92  Signal level:-44 dBm  Noise level:-98 dBm

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Aug 2005, 21:43    Post subject:  

From the 600e with the linksys card.
Code:
wireless card not active
wireless card not responding
                                                           
no module loaded
dhcpcd running
wifi-beta installed

wlan0 enabled
no IP assigned to wlan0
access point aquired
internet ping sucessful

1 wireless network(s) detected
1 open network(s) detected

Connected to:
wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"home"  Nickname:"puppylaptop"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.447GHz  Access Point: 00:E0:98:DE:D3:33 
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality:100/100  Signal level:-58 dBm  Noise level:-256 dBm


I will see what others might work.

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Aug 2005, 22:03    Post subject:  

I also have an orinoco a/b proxim wavelan 2cs.4 that runs on this Called a "combocard Gold" part# 8460-05. I was about to post the results from this one and I realized that wasn't what you were looking for. Well, while I am on a run.

Code:
wireless card not active
wireless card not responding
                                                           
no module loaded
dhcpcd running
wifi-beta installed

wlan0 enabled
no IP assigned to wlan0
access point aquired
internet ping sucessful

0 wireless network(s) detected
0 open network(s) detected

Connected to:
wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"home"  Nickname:"puppylaptop"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.447GHz  Access Point: 00:E0:98:DE:D3:33 
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality:50/100  Signal level:-50 dBm  Noise level:-256 dBm

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Aug 2005, 22:31    Post subject:  

I got 3 out of 4 working, gave up on the gigafast.
Here is the results.
results from the new orinoco combocard.

_____________AUTOWIFI
#!/bin/sh

# this script is user specific and may be optional
# it is called as the final step of the Reseat and scan process
# if you have extra steps to activate a wireless connection,
# append them here



MANUWIFI
#!/bin/sh

# If the autowifi script isn't sufficient,
# or you need to run random commands at random times
# then place those commands here
# they will be run whenever you press the custom button

iwconfig wlan0 key *** essid *** mode managed channel **

IFCONFIG
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 iB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 iB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:20:A6:4C:17:A0
inet addr:192.168.1.8 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:802 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:835 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:601367 (587.2 kiB) TX bytes:120398 (117.5 kiB)
Memory:10c00000-10c0ffff


IWCONFIG
wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"home" Nickname:"puppylaptop"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.447GHz Access Point: 00:E0:98:DE:D3:33
Bit Rate=11Mb/s
Encryption key:off
Link Quality:48/100 Signal level:-53 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


IWLIST SCAN
wlan0 No scan results

IWLIST AP

PING
PING google.com (216.239.37.99): 56 data bytes

--- google.com ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 75.6/75.6/75.6 ms

LSMOD
Module Size Used by Not tainted
cs4232 3748 0 (unused)
uart401 6180 0 [cs4232]
ad1848 22060 0 [cs4232]
sound 55112 0 [cs4232 uart401 ad1848]
soundcore 3588 4 [sound]
ndiswrapper 105076 1
parport_pc 15108 0
parport 23880 0 [parport_pc]
sr_mod 14488 0 (unused)
ide-cd 29504 0
cdrom 27744 0 [sr_mod ide-cd]
sd_mod 11404 0 (unused)
ds 6580 2
yenta_socket 10436 2
pcmcia_core 40228 0 [ds yenta_socket]
usb-uhci 21936 0 (autoclean) (unused)
usbcore 59596 1 (autoclean) [ndiswrapper usb-uhci]
scsi_mod 93972 2 [sr_mod sd_mod]

DHCPCD
242 root 1464 S dhcpcd wlan0

CARDCTL STATUS
Socket 0:
no card
Socket 1:
3.3V CardBus card
function 0: [ready]

CARDCTL IDENT
Socket 0:
no product info available
Socket 1:
product info: "Atheros Communications, Inc.", "AR5001-0000-0000", "Wireless LAN Reference Card", "00"
manfid: 0x0271, 0x0012
function: 6 (network)
_________________________________
Here is the linksys wpc11 v4
AUTOWIFI
#!/bin/sh

# this script is user specific and may be optional
# it is called as the final step of the Reseat and scan process
# if you have extra steps to activate a wireless connection,
# append them here



MANUWIFI
#!/bin/sh

# If the autowifi script isn't sufficient,
# or you need to run random commands at random times
# then place those commands here
# they will be run whenever you press the custom button

iwconfig wlan0 key *** essid *** mode managed channel **

IFCONFIG
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 iB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 iB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:66:B7:4D
inet addr:192.168.1.9 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2022 (1.9 kiB) TX bytes:2756 (2.6 kiB)
Memory:10c00000-10c000ff


IWCONFIG
wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"home" Nickname:"puppylaptop"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.447GHz Access Point: 00:E0:98:DE:D3:33
Bit Rate=11Mb/s Tx-Power:20 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
RTS thr=2432 B Fragment thr=2432 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-49 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


IWLIST SCAN
wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:E0:98:DE:D3:33
ESSID:"home"
Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.447GHz
Quality:0/100 Signal level:-49 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Encryption key:off
Bit Rate:1Mb/s
Bit Rate:2Mb/s
Bit Rate:5.5Mb/s
Bit Rate:11Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
Extra:atim=0


IWLIST AP

PING
PING google.com (216.239.37.99): 56 data bytes

--- google.com ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 79.3/79.3/79.3 ms

LSMOD
Module Size Used by Not tainted
cs4232 3748 0 (unused)
uart401 6180 0 [cs4232]
ad1848 22060 0 [cs4232]
sound 55112 0 [cs4232 uart401 ad1848]
soundcore 3588 4 [sound]
ndiswrapper 105076 1
parport_pc 15108 0
parport 23880 0 [parport_pc]
sr_mod 14488 0 (unused)
ide-cd 29504 0
cdrom 27744 0 [sr_mod ide-cd]
sd_mod 11404 0 (unused)
ds 6580 2
yenta_socket 10436 2
pcmcia_core 40228 0 [ds yenta_socket]
usb-uhci 21936 0 (autoclean) (unused)
usbcore 59596 1 (autoclean) [ndiswrapper usb-uhci]
scsi_mod 93972 2 [sr_mod sd_mod]

DHCPCD
237 root 1464 S dhcpcd wlan0

CARDCTL STATUS
Socket 0:
no card
Socket 1:
3.3V CardBus card
function 0: [ready]

CARDCTL IDENT
Socket 0:
no product info available
Socket 1:
product info: "Realtek", "Rtl8139"
manfid: 0x0000, 0x024c
function: 6 (network)


__________________________

Here is the orinoco classic gold
AUTOWIFI
#!/bin/sh

# this script is user specific and may be optional
# it is called as the final step of the Reseat and scan process
# if you have extra steps to activate a wireless connection,
# append them here



MANUWIFI
#!/bin/sh

# If the autowifi script isn't sufficient,
# or you need to run random commands at random times
# then place those commands here
# they will be run whenever you press the custom button

iwconfig wlan0 key *** essid *** mode managed channel **

IFCONFIG
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:2D:AB:30:2F
inet addr:192.168.1.1 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:1 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:336 (336.0 iB) TX bytes:758 (758.0 iB)
Interrupt:3 Base address:0x180

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 iB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 iB)


IWCONFIG
eth0 IEEE 802.11-DS ESSID:"home" Nickname:"HERMES I"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.447GHz Access Point: 00:E0:98:DE:D3:33
Bit Rate:11Mb/s Tx-Power=15 dBm Sensitivity:1/3
Retry limit:4 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:62/92 Signal level:-33 dBm Noise level:-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


IWLIST SCAN

IWLIST AP

PING
PING google.com (216.239.57.99): 56 data bytes

--- google.com ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 142.5/142.5/142.5 ms

LSMOD
Module Size Used by Not tainted
orinoco_cs 4244 1
orinoco 32436 0 [orinoco_cs]
hermes 5732 0 [orinoco_cs orinoco]
cs4232 3748 0 (unused)
uart401 6180 0 [cs4232]
ad1848 22060 0 [cs4232]
sound 55112 0 [cs4232 uart401 ad1848]
soundcore 3588 4 [sound]
ndiswrapper 105076 0
parport_pc 15108 0
parport 23880 0 [parport_pc]
sr_mod 14488 0 (unused)
ide-cd 29504 0
cdrom 27744 0 [sr_mod ide-cd]
sd_mod 11404 0 (unused)
ds 6580 2 [orinoco_cs]
yenta_socket 10436 2
pcmcia_core 40228 0 [orinoco_cs ds yenta_socket]
usb-uhci 21936 0 (autoclean) (unused)
usbcore 59596 1 (autoclean) [ndiswrapper usb-uhci]
scsi_mod 93972 2 [sr_mod sd_mod]

DHCPCD
237 root 1464 S dhcpcd wlan0
798 root 1468 S dhcpcd -d eth0

CARDCTL STATUS
Socket 0:
no card
Socket 1:
5V 16-bit PC Card
function 0: [ready]

CARDCTL IDENT
Socket 0:
no product info available
Socket 1:
product info: "Lucent Technologies", "WaveLAN/IEEE", "Version 01.01", ""
manfid: 0x0156, 0x0002
function: 6 (network)

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
keenerd
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2005, 10:57    Post subject:  

Peppyy, thank you for that info. I will add support for Nicknames and some other details of your hardware.

But first, could you please properly configure WAG? You have plugged all your cards into socket 1. WAG defaults to socket zero, and it isn't smart enough to auto detect the socket. I'll work on that. Until then, could you open /root/my-roxapps/WAG/AppRun in a text editor. Near the top there is a line which says
CARDSOC="0"
Change this to say
CARDSOC="1"
Or just start using your cards in the other socket, which is empty. (Of course, don't do both or you're right back to where you started)

If you don't do either of these, it will always say card not active/responding, and half of WAG's functions will not work properly.
Back to top
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2005, 11:18    Post subject:  

I am so sorry. I stayed up way too late and must have missed that somehow. Amazing, I can actually connect like I should with the card in the top socket.
Here is the linksys in cardsoc0

AUTOWIFI
#!/bin/sh

# this script is user specific and may be optional
# it is called as the final step of the Reseat and scan process
# if you have extra steps to activate a wireless connection,
# append them here



MANUWIFI
#!/bin/sh

# If the autowifi script isn't sufficient,
# or you need to run random commands at random times
# then place those commands here
# they will be run whenever you press the custom button

iwconfig wlan0 key *** essid *** mode managed channel **

IFCONFIG
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 iB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 iB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:66:B7:4D
inet addr:192.168.1.9 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:280 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:312 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:183195 (178.9 kiB) TX bytes:48750 (47.6 kiB)
Memory:10400000-104000ff


IWCONFIG
wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"home"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.447GHz Access Point: 00:E0:98:DE:D3:33
Bit Rate:11Mb/s Tx-Power:20 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
RTS thr:2432 B Fragment thr:2432 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-51 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


IWLIST SCAN

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2005, 15:57    Post subject:  

I really like this forum. I think its a very nice place. Case in point, for weeks I have been posting on this board. I've uploaded files. All without an account. Its an amazing feature that more places should allow. Sure, you run the risk of being spammed, but its nice that a newbie who will only ever post one question doesn't have to go an register a unique username and password.

But the unregistered "non-citizens" don't have any rights. Free speech certainly, but they can be edited at a whim. Sometimes, this is a good thing. One of my first posts was had a horribly nondescript title. A moderator fixed it. Good use of power. But now someone has gone and changed the name of my program. And while I am not the most creative person, I will take suggestions. Polite suggestions from sources I can see. Not strong armed manipulation that happens without warning. Moderators (and the like) should always be curteous and say why they change someone's post, even for legitimate reasons. At least mention it when someone's program is renamed from Wireless Access Gadget to Wireless Access Grabber. I appreciate the more descriptive subject line, but I prefer a truthful one.

I'm not mad, just annoyed. But now you've gone and made me register. So, now that I'm a registered "citizen", can someone fix it?

Onto the serious portion:

Peppy, thank you for all the data. I'll look for an alternative to "iwlist scan". That one command is the underpinning of the whole program. Support varies, even between drivers. My card supports scanning under Madwifi but not under Ndiswrapper. Linked man pages suggest more options, but not all of the commands are included with Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11167
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2005, 23:33    Post subject:  

keenerd wrote:
"...someone has gone and changed the name of my program. And while I am not the most creative person, I will take suggestions. Polite suggestions from sources I can see. Not strong armed manipulation that happens without warning. Moderators (and the like) should always be curteous and say why they change someone's post, even for legitimate reasons. At least mention it when someone's program is renamed from Wireless Access Gadget to Wireless Access Grabber. I appreciate the more descriptive subject line, but I prefer a truthful one.
I'm afraid it was me who did that, and it was a mistake. I didn't mean to change the name you gave it, only expand the "wag" in the subject line so it would catch the eye. I wasn't paying attention, apparently. I'm terribly sorry. Embarassed

Now that you've registered, I find that I can't correct my mistake. As the registered originator of that post, so you should be able to change it yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2005, 07:40    Post subject: WAG-0.2.4.pup Wireless Access Gadget  

Flash, no hard feelings.

Testers of WAG-0.2.4: I have found a very small bug. I messed up* some quotes, so you'll have trouble connecting to access points with spaces in the name. Here's how to fix:
Open the WAG AppRun in a text editor.
Do find a find and replace.
Find:
essid $SCANESSID
and replace it with:
essid "$SCANESSID"
Click replace all, and save the change.

There is exactly one occurance, so its easy.

*It looks like I forgot them, but I think the iwconfig docs are incorrect. They show the essid option working without quotes and with spaces in the name. Yesterday I tested on an AP with spaces, and iwconfig clipped the essid at the first space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2005, 07:49    Post subject: WAG-0.2.4.pup Wireless Access Gadget  

Flash, it seems I'm stuck. You change the subject by changing the subject of the post which started the thread, right? Well, I can only edit my own messages. After registering. Registering gives me no retroactive powers over previous anonymous posts which just happen to have the same name as me. So, I can't change the subject it.

I've tried a bunch of other stuff, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11167
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2005, 17:26    Post subject:  

I can't change it either, although I obviously could before you registered. I'll ask JohnM to intervene.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1221s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]