Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 10 Dec 2019, 18:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 69 of 71 [1057 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 67, 68, 69, 70, 71 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12982
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Nov 2019, 00:45    Post subject:  

Sorry you do not understand that answer is not just for you.

You asked why Nouveau is used by default?
Because it usually just works with any Nvidia hardware.
That is what you want to happen the very first time you try to boot Bionicpup64 8.0.

If Bionicpup64 8.0 was 4GB in size. It could come with every possible driver and firmware, already installed.
Not going to get every possible thing in a 300 to 400 MB OS.

Quote:
I asked to have "nvidia" instead of "nouveau" driver to have better video performances. If it doesnt work with some old hardware (which is rare nowadays),

I have some old Nvidia hardware that the latest Nvidia driver will not support.
The last driver to support it was the Nvidia 173 series ones.
I can not even compile that driver in Bionicpup64 8.0
The software the diver package wants to use for compiling is too old or no longer used.
Even if it would compile.
Bionicpup64 8.0 is using to new of everything else, to get it to run.

Puppy Linux tries to support as much older hardware as possible.
Generic graphics drivers OTB do that.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1281

PostPosted: Mon 11 Nov 2019, 03:32    Post subject:  

"Nouveau" just works with most of the cards but "nouveau" performance is bad.
Nvidia pets are about 50 Mb. So bionicpup can stay small with nvidia drivers.
Nvidia drivers support until GeForce 8 (goes back to 2006). And it's possible to select "nouveau" for older cards with xorgwizzard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1281

PostPosted: Mon 18 Nov 2019, 09:12    Post subject:  

Bionicpup64 8.0 CE

Python2 is coming to end of life on January 1st 2020 and is replaced by python3.
What programs in bionicpup need python2 ? Can they be updated or replaced to use python3 instead ? Then it will be possible to remove python2 and use python3 instead.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cattledog


Joined: 08 Sep 2019
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon 18 Nov 2019, 21:48    Post subject:  

I'm running bionicpup64 on a frugal USB install. I didn't encrypt anything during the install. During boot, the only thing I am prompted for is my username and password. Is there a way to encrypt the OS or my current savefile with LUKS? If so, how? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12982
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 22:34    Post subject:  

666philb,
This is something you may want to have for Bionicpup64 8.0
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1042511#1042511
This person needed support for the RTL8188FTV USB wireless adapter.
ozsouth has made and posted the needed driver pet.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12982
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2019, 17:53    Post subject:  

666phlib,

A driver pet for the realtek rtl8192eu wireless hardware.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1042736#1042736
Use this driver, not the rtl8xxxu driver.
The rtl8xxxu driver has bugs and defects.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Grogg

Joined: 27 Nov 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed 27 Nov 2019, 14:58    Post subject:  

I just got my fresh install of Bionicpup64 going on my 64GB flashdrive. I was playin' hell trying to figure out why it wasn't seeing my pupsaves and got some help from the wrong forum <blush>, heh heh...I had to go into my BIOS and set the flashdrive to be the first drive to boot, *then* my sdd and then my hdd and it finally saw my save and I didn't have to go through (for the third time!) an hours worth of setting everything up the way I wanted it.

Now, my next problem...

How do I get Bionicpup64 installed on this 64GB flashdrive and get it to use *all* the drive and not just 6GB of it? I'd really prefer to be able to store the pupsave on the flashdrive itself (sdc) instead of sda (my hdd with Slackware 14.1 x32) or sdb (my sdd with Slackware 14.2 x64).

Does anyone have any clues for me? If this gets figured out, will I be able to simply reinstall the Bionic64 to the flashdrive (hoping it uses the whole drive!) and it will pick up my pupsave and I'll be able to carry on as if nothing happened, or will I have to start over with a new pupsave for the newly made flashdrive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1427
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Wed 27 Nov 2019, 15:16    Post subject:  

Grogg wrote:
I just got my fresh install of Bionicpup64 going on my 64GB flashdrive. I was playin' hell trying to figure out why it wasn't seeing my pupsaves and got some help from the wrong forum <blush>, heh heh...I had to go into my BIOS and set the flashdrive to be the first drive to boot, *then* my sdd and then my hdd and it finally saw my save and I didn't have to go through (for the third time!) an hours worth of setting everything up the way I wanted it.

Now, my next problem...

How do I get Bionicpup64 installed on this 64GB flashdrive and get it to use *all* the drive and not just 6GB of it? I'd really prefer to be able to store the pupsave on the flashdrive itself (sdc) instead of sda (my hdd with Slackware 14.1 x32) or sdb (my sdd with Slackware 14.2 x64).

Does anyone have any clues for me? If this gets figured out, will I be able to simply reinstall the Bionic64 to the flashdrive (hoping it uses the whole drive!) and it will pick up my pupsave and I'll be able to carry on as if nothing happened, or will I have to start over with a new pupsave for the newly made flashdrive?


Use the install tools in puppy
Menu---->Setup---->Puppy Installer
Choose Install
Bootflash USB Installer

Then choose the flash drive to install to and either UEFI or grub4dos

UEFI is for a late model UEFI BIOS and grub4dos is for earlier with no UEFI BIOS

Make certain you know which drive is getting installed to because it will format that flash drive before installing.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12982
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Nov 2019, 17:29    Post subject:  

Grogg,

If you can do the install to USB running a version of Puppy.
Puppy versions come with several programs that can do it.

If you are doing the install of Bionicpup64 to a USB flash drive, using some other operating system.

Try using a program for doing installs to USB.

UNetbootin to install to USB
http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/

If using Windows OS.
Rufus USB installer
https://rufus.akeo.ie/

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Grogg

Joined: 27 Nov 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed 27 Nov 2019, 17:50    Post subject:  

Thanks you guys. I used the installer on my puppy and installed it to another flashdrive. With any luck it will pick up my pupsave and I'll be good to go.

Wish me luck!

Addendum: It didn't work, so I'll have to start all over getting everything setup the way I like it, but that's okay as now I have both flashdrive's setup to use the whole drive, so that's a Good Thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12982
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2019, 02:09    Post subject:  

Did you copy the old save, to the new install, on the USB flashdrive?
_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1349
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2019, 11:32    Post subject:  

I am running Bionic64-v8 CE with a fully preemptible real time kernel just compiled http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1042981#1042981 and I am glad to report that this Bionic64 is running really well.

I am posting this from a freshly woof-CE'd Bionic64 running the 4.19.82-rt30 SMP PREEMPT RT kernel at this time. The OS is idling nicely.

Also tested the Bionic64-v8 CE with a freshly complied kernel 5.3.13_X86_64 and it is also performing well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Grogg

Joined: 27 Nov 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2019, 15:12    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Did you copy the old save, to the new install, on the USB flashdrive?


Yes, both times (once with each flashdrive). The 'copy' does every single file inside the pupsave' one at a time (at a speed you can't follow, of course). Unfortunately during that 'copy', there are some errors and I'm sure out of the 794MB size of my pupsave there were way too many lines to try to go through to find what those errors were.

The other flashdrive I tried to rename it and simply move it to the directory the regular pupsave of the new installation was in (it seems the 'install' done to a flashdrive inside a running Puppy does things quite a bit differently than a 'dd' to a flashdrive), yet that too for some reason had to do it one file at a time from the pupsave I wanted to use, to the new directory, and that one ended up with even more errors for some reason.

It's a shame that during a save, one can't choose from other pupsaves. Not being a programmer of any kind, I have no idea how difficult it would be to make that a choice in any way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5649
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2019, 19:09    Post subject:  

Revolverve wrote:
Anybody know who create the google-chrome run-as-spot script ?

edit;bump...never mind

Bionicpup64 ,daily workhorse here.


Revolverve:-

Kinda depends on whose script you're referring to.

If it's the one in use in MY Google-Chrome packages, it's something of a joint effort. The wrapper script is partly Google, partly battleshooter, and the run-as-spot part toward the bottom was mostly belham2's 'modifications' to one from somewhere else. OscarTalks & peebee have also had a hand in the run-as-spot stuff over the last 2-3 years. Even ETP, Fredx181 and others have gotten involved.

Those of us who've built Chrome/Chromium packages have shared stuff around and sort of 'pooled resources', what with Google & Chromium having made so many darned changes and mods recently. I'm well aware that there are now a lot more run-as-spot scripts/variations thereof kicking around the Forum than there were a couple of years ago when I started building the Chrome packages, and most of these have been implemented by various individual Puppy builders so that they can supply a 'complete service' with their creations. All credit to them for that.

Bottom-line? Most of the current 'run-as-spot' stuff can doubtless trace its roots back to a common ancestry from a few years ago, improvements from individual authors notwithstanding......a time when we were all attempting to come to grips with the changes being forced upon us by 'Big Brother'. I guess most of us were 'borrowing' chunks & snippets of code from one another back then; a practice which is common-place in the Linux world.

So it's impossible to credit its creation to any one individual. After all, we all help each other out, don't we?


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12982
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2019, 19:36    Post subject:  

Grogg wrote:
bigpup wrote:
Did you copy the old save, to the new install, on the USB flashdrive?


Yes, both times (once with each flashdrive). The 'copy' does every single file inside the pupsave' one at a time (at a speed you can't follow, of course). Unfortunately during that 'copy', there are some errors and I'm sure out of the 794MB size of my pupsave there were way too many lines to try to go through to find what those errors were.

The other flashdrive I tried to rename it and simply move it to the directory the regular pupsave of the new installation was in (it seems the 'install' done to a flashdrive inside a running Puppy does things quite a bit differently than a 'dd' to a flashdrive), yet that too for some reason had to do it one file at a time from the pupsave I wanted to use, to the new directory, and that one ended up with even more errors for some reason.

It's a shame that during a save, one can't choose from other pupsaves. Not being a programmer of any kind, I have no idea how difficult it would be to make that a choice in any way.

Try using the program menu->Utility->Pupsave Backup.
Choose the new USB flash drive as the location to put the backup.
That is suppose to copy the save completely. It just adds BKP info to the beginning of the save file/folder name.
Remove the BKP info from the name of the backup save and it turns into the usable regular save.

I too have seen Rox file manager give errors, when trying to copy large files/folders.
I wonder if there is a bug in ROX copy Idea
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.7 KB
 Viewed   144 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 69 of 71 [1057 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 67, 68, 69, 70, 71 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1107s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0522s) ][ GZIP on ]