Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 13 Dec 2019, 05:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
BusterPup 8.0 CE (Beta-1)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 8 [118 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 679
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jul 2019, 23:21    Post subject:  

radky wrote:
sheldonisaac wrote:
Quote:
I just put Disco Dingo on the primary drive, did grub4dosconfig, and rebooted. All looked quite normal. I don't fully understand what foxpup was saying,

In BusterPup Beta-1, foxpup describes a normal boot sequence when he utilizes a pendrive and grub4dos with 'one' or 'multiple' pupsave files.

However, with recent iterations of the 4.19.X kernel, when foxpup boots his SSD drive (SAMSUNG MZYTY256) with EFI/grub2 and multiple pupsaves, the usual list of selectable pupsaves does not appear on screen, so no way to choose the desired pupsave file. He has no problem when booting with EFI/grub2 and one pupsave.

Interestingly, on his EFI/grub2 installation of BusterPup with multiple pupsaves, the list of selectable pupsaves appears as expected when he boots with the Dpup Stretch 4.9.X kernel (such as 4.9.149) or with older iterations of the 4.19.X kernel (such as 4.19.26).



My current setup is a Kingston USB Flash drive with Grub Legacy, with the Buster 8.0 installation on the internal SSD. I also have a Sandisk USB Flash drive with EFI/Grub2, I added a boot stanza to the Sandisk grub.cfg and can confirm Foxpup's issues when using 4.19.X kernel. With 1 save folder there is a noticeable pause on boot with a black screen then boot was successful. I created a second save folder( duplicated / renamed existing). When i booted there was an extended pause, then i saw the select pupsave dialog, but it was bypassed and a first boot occurred with first run dialog. I retested boot to check.

I manually changed kernel to peebee's lxpup64-5.1.15 kernel. Boot was normal boot, being able to successfully select either save folder on boot without pause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 964
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jul 2019, 05:52    Post subject:  

Terry H wrote:
With 1 save folder there is a noticeable pause on boot with a black screen then boot was successful.

Just my interpretation of what happens:
The 'noticeable pause' is not really a pause in the boot process, I think.
It is just the boot messages that do not appear.
In the end all messages appear at once.
The last line, from where the queue continues, is "loading kernel modules".
Loading the kernel modules seem to fix the block on the messages?

When there is some input required, the message that asks for it does not appear, so chances are you give no input or the wrong input.

Typical for this issue,
different from boot issues I may have with other Puppys (Sailor's slacko64-6.9.9.9, peebee's uPupDD, Barry's Easy ...),
is the black screen while the boot goes ahead.
These other issues are about hanging, pausing or needing a pause in the boot process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 868
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jul 2019, 07:28    Post subject:
Subject description: booting problem
 

radky wrote:
sheldonisaac wrote:
Quote:
I just put Disco Dingo on the primary drive, did grub4dosconfig, and rebooted. All looked quite normal. I don't fully understand what foxpup was saying,

In BusterPup Beta-1, foxpup describes a normal boot sequence when he utilizes a pendrive and grub4dos with 'one' or 'multiple' pupsave files.

However, with recent iterations of the 4.19.X kernel, when foxpup boots his SSD drive (SAMSUNG MZYTY256) with EFI/grub2 and multiple pupsaves, the usual list of selectable pupsaves does not appear on screen, so no way to choose the desired pupsave file. He has no problem when booting with EFI/grub2 and one pupsave.

Interestingly, on his EFI/grub2 installation of BusterPup with multiple pupsaves, the list of selectable pupsaves appears as expected when he boots with the Dpup Stretch 4.9.X kernel (such as 4.9.149) or with older iterations of the 4.19.X kernel (such as 4.19.26).
Ah, thanks, radky; and Terry H and foxpup. I'll stand on the 'sidelines', and hope to see that the problems are solved.
_________________
Dell E6410: BusterPup, Ermine, Xenial, etc
Intel DQ35JOE, Dell Vostro 430
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darry19662018

Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 654
Location: Rakaia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2019, 03:20    Post subject:
Subject description: My thoughts
 

This is a really great Pup in the tradition of Stretch before it and is a great base for my projects - thank you Radky.Smile
_________________
Puppy Linux Wiki: http://wikka.puppylinux.com/HomePage

https://freemedia.neocities.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1328
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jul 2019, 23:42    Post subject: libLLVM-3.9.so.1?
Subject description: Did you mean to put this in?
 

Hi radky, Let me start by congratulating you on a very impressive Pup. I have barely begun to use it but everything has worked flawlessly so far. I'm a puppy traditionalist, JWM and ROX, and I'm also a 32bit fan so this is MUCH APPRECIATED! Very Happy

I'm also a fan of small ISO's so one of the first things I do is use GdMap to look at the large files. I notice that not only do you have /usr/lib/libLLVM-7.so.1 (53M) but you also have /usr/lib/libLLVM-3.9.so.1 (48M). I believe the latter is from Stretch. Was this intentional? I couldn't find it listed in DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS, woof-installed-packages or builtin_files. Just wondering why it's there.

Thanks for your great work, J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jul 2019, 20:22    Post subject:  

foxpup and Terry H,

Thanks for your input concerning booting issues with EFI/Grub2.

Hopefully, a solution will be available soon.


darry19662018 wrote:
Quote:
...great base for my projects.

Thanks! Keep in mind, Debian will provide long-term package support for the next five years.

---

jrb wrote:
Quote:
(In Beta-1), I notice that not only do you have /usr/lib/libLLVM-7.so.1 (53M) but you also have /usr/lib/libLLVM-3.9.so.1 (48M).

Oops! Will adjust for Beta-2.

Thanks jrb! Your comments are much appreciated.

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 679
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jul 2019, 22:21    Post subject: System Notification has separated from lower tray  

OK, this is a strange one. Logged into Buster 8.0 with FbBox and there was a unnamed window at the top right of the screen, which contains what is normally the System Notification Tray plugin from the lower panel when running FbBox. Reboot without saving this window remained.

I have changed to JWM all is OK, but when I return to FbBox the window is still there. I have tried using fbpanel configuration to remove and then reinstate the notification plugin. When the Panel Notification is set to false, the window disappears, but then the clock is removed from the panel and placed in a window in the middle of the screen. When is reset the notification plugin to true the clock returns to the panel, but the other window returns.

I have also tried changing Notification apps to see if that helps,but it only adjusts the items in the unnamed window.

My previous use of Busterpup 8.0 was uneventful and no indication of any error on shutdown.
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   178.68 KB
 Viewed   519 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2019, 00:25    Post subject:  

Terry H wrote:
Quote:
OK, this is a strange one. Logged into Buster 8.0 with FbBox and there was a unnamed window at the top right of the screen, which contains what is normally the System Notification Tray plugin from the lower panel when running FbBox.

Terry,

I'm currently testing FbBox in BusterPup and, at the moment, I can't reproduce your findings.

1 - Any errors in xerrs.log?

2 - Any new or unusual apps currently running when you see the unnamed window?

3 - For any active panel (Main, Accessory, SysInfoBar) make sure you have 'Identify panel as a dock' set to true.

4 - When fbpanel is restarted or refreshed, we could 'allow the dust to settle' by increasing the sleep value before apps are called to the notification tray. Go to line 4574 of /usr/sbin/pfbpanel and increase the sleep value to 2 seconds.

Thanks

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 1572
Location: Drøbak, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2019, 09:06    Post subject:  

It looks like the tray, usually positioned along the lower right side of the screen. Open the JWMDeskManager, and take a look at your settings for the tray. Remember to run jwm -restart after any modifications. Then start FBBox.
I also experienced som strange behaviour at a time, when the Compatibility section in the ROX-filer options were set inncorrect by mistake. It took me days to find the culprit!

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 679
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2019, 11:29    Post subject:  

radky wrote:

Terry,

I'm currently testing FbBox in BusterPup and, at the moment, I can't reproduce your findings.


1 - Any errors in xerrs.log?

No

2 - Any new or unusual apps currently running when you see the unnamed window?

- > No additional installed software. I had only changed kernel, but had several boots/reboots prior to issue occurring

3 - For any active panel (Main, Accessory, SysInfoBar) make sure you have 'Identify panel as a dock' set to true.

- > Confirmed setting.

4 - When fbpanel is restarted or refreshed, we could 'allow the dust to settle' by increasing the sleep value before apps are called to the notification tray. Go to line 4574 of /usr/sbin/pfbpanel and increase the sleep value to 2 seconds.


- > Changed sleep value as suggested, the panel plugin now rendered correctly as part of panel. Changed sleep value back to 1, the panel plugins are now being applied correctly as it usually had been for all the time I have been using fbpanel. What ever was causing the problem now corrected.

Thanks for the quick response and solution.

@tallboy, thanks for your suggestion, not required this time but noted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3546
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2019, 16:02    Post subject: FbBox's System Information Bar  

Hi Terry,

FbBox Configuration Manager has a toggle which will turn "System Information Bar" on or off depending whether the True or False box for System Information Panel is checked.

Menu>System>FbBox Control Center, Click Fbpanel Config, Click Desktop in the Left Panel, System Information Bar is the bottom (3rd from top) listing under "Panel Bars".

When it's displayed, clicking the "Box" at the bottom of this "Bar" brings up a panel for configuring it, its location, and what it displays. Lots of nice "Widgets". An adequate replacement for pwidget.

Originally, I "discovered" the "Bar" as a work-around to display the time. Having changed the color of the taskbar, I was having difficulty setting the color of the fonts for Time's dislay.

It's the only thing I miss running radky's jwm desktop on 64-bit Puppies since pwidget doesn't work under them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 964
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2019, 16:07    Post subject: no intel gc  

I have tried Buster now on an older laptop, Vostro1510 centrino, cpu T5670, with bios from 2008 and GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics.
Buster automatically chooses vesa, which is nice on this laptop btw.
Trying to make Buster use the intel driver keeps it on command line.
I tried i915.modeset=0 as well. No luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 679
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2019, 16:39    Post subject: Re: FbBox's System Information Bar  

mikeslr wrote:
Hi Terry,

FbBox Configuration Manager has a toggle which will turn "System Information Bar" on or off depending whether the True or False box for System Information Panel is checked.

Menu>System>FbBox Control Center, Click Fbpanel Config, Click Desktop in the Left Panel, System Information Bar is the bottom (3rd from top) listing under "Panel Bars".

When it's displayed, clicking the "Box" at the bottom of this "Bar" brings up a panel for configuring it, its location, and what it displays. Lots of nice "Widgets". An adequate replacement for pwidget.

Originally, I "discovered" the "Bar" as a work-around to display the time. Having changed the color of the taskbar, I was having difficulty setting the color of the fonts for Time's dislay.

It's the only thing I miss running radky's jwm desktop on 64-bit Puppies since pwidget doesn't work under them.



Hi Mike,
Yes sysinfo bar is one of the main reasons for me using fbBox versus jwm. The issue I had was quite odd, the Notification plugin in the main tray had somehow decided to detach itself from the tray and placed itself as a floating window. Radky's advice to change the sleep time in pfbpanel has worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1328
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2019, 19:00    Post subject:  

Hi again radky,
I believe I've found a problem with ROX-Filer. The "Copy" function on the right-click menu crashes with no dialog box appearing when I try to copy a file or directory.

I mentioned this problem on the bionic32 thread but no one replied. It has the same rox-filer-16woodenshoe-i686_common32.pet.

I was able to fix the problem by reverting to the binary from rox-filer-15woodenshoe-i686_common32.pet

I see that your are the OP on the ROX-Filer 2.11 patched thread so hopefully you are the guy to talk to.

Cheers, J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1328
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2019, 20:04    Post subject:  

I spent a fair bit of time scratching my head trying to get feh to give conky a transparent background. Confused I finally opened /usr/share/backgrounds/default.jpg in mtpaint and it told me it was actually a .svg file. I converted it to an actual .jpg in mtpaint and am attaching it in case anyone else has this problem. BTW, I like the default wallpaper. Smile
buster_wallpaper1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.84 KB
 Viewed   278 Time(s)

buster_wallpaper1.jpg

buster_desktop1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.88 KB
 Viewed   286 Time(s)

buster_desktop1.jpg

default.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  default.jpg 
Filesize  53.58 KB 
Downloaded  147 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 8 [118 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2589s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0538s) ][ GZIP on ]