Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Jul 2019, 18:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS 1.0.92 (1.1RC) July 19, 2019
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 103 of 106 [1586 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106 Next
Author Message
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3254

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2019, 19:08    Post subject:  

wiak wrote:
rufwoof wrote:
Finding that running large LibreOffice spreadsheet or word documents across Xephyr is very laggy. i.e. DISPLAY=:1 swriter from the main session, so I can cut/paste from firefox running inside the (:1) container, has swriter as good as useless (very slow to scroll etc.).

Seems to be Xephyr alone causing that lag.

I haven't tried EasyOS as yet but often used Xnest and Xephyr in the past and been doing a lot with overlayfs in VoidLinux of late to provide persistence and allow use of sfs files using chroot into separate overlays of main system. If you are running apps in some kind of chroot setup, an alternative to using Xnest or Xephyr is simply to do things the other way round to what I gather you've been doing i.e. start the app up in the chroot but make DISPLAY point back to the main session DISPLAY as outlined here:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:X86/Chroot_Guide#Running_X_apps_inside_the_chroot

In terms of security, I suggest using sshd server running in your container and then ssh -X (tunnel) into that from client on main desktop session (if that is possible?) - that should set DISPLAY automatically whilst providing secure X communications. Then I guess cut and paste and so on would work fine.

Whilst I don't know how EasyOS implements containers, I came across the following for Docker (EDIT: though I haven't myself ever used Docker so don't know the ins and outs of it):

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/47800486/ssh-between-local-docker-containers
https://docs.docker.com/engine/examples/running_ssh_service/

https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/12755/how-to-forward-x-over-ssh-to-run-graphics-applications-remotely

Alternatively, and even safer, use VNC over ssh.

http://nnc3.com/mags/Networking2/ssh/ch09_03.htm
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VNC

wiak

Thanks for the suggestions (only just seen your post).

The first method is indeed insecure. Running a rover (similar to spot) window on the main desktop (DISPLAY :0) from within the container ... opens up rover elevating to root outside of the container (main root) easily (just to be sure, I verified that as per the attached image). ssh tunneling or vnc over ssh would be more secure.

Fully opening up the main desktops /dev - for instance amongst other things opens up the frambuffer - and the framebuffer could be repeatedly cat (piped through compress and ssh to a crackers ssh server) i.e. 'console' seen/watched. Generally if root is cracked via other simpler means that's not a great issue (too much bandwidth/effort for a cracker to really be bothered with, as that's typically around 1K/frame/snapshot). More generally they'd be looking for private keys/passwords - easy access into other systems/boxes/devices (router etc), such as ~/.ssh private keys (that even if password protected, once copied to the crackers system are generally relatively easily/quickly cracked).

As its just Libre writer, for just some files, that can run slow in a Easy Container, I'm not too bothered myself as I can use googledocs for not fully trusted, or the main systems Libre writer when trusted. Everything else seems to run fine, so it may all just be a Easy 1.0 (that I'm running, haven't tracked the later releases) or the specific compiled Libre version contained within that. May have been indirectly (or directly) fixed in later versions or the upcoming Easy 2.0 series.
s.png
 Description   
 Filesize   116.19 KB
 Viewed   2094 Time(s)

s.png


_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3254

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2019, 12:02    Post subject: laptop lid closed sleep mode  

1.0.14 frugal installed to Acer laptop (usb booted has the usb's light flashing more often that I would like).

Touchpad et al all working fine (had problems with the touchpad when using dpup on the same laptop). Dpup's lid close sleep mode however worked fine, whilst in EasyOS it doesn't. So I just created my own
Code:
#!/bin/sh

# Rufwoof April 2019
# Laptop lid closed, then put into standby
# Add this script to your Startup folder

R=0
while :; do
   if [ "`cat /proc/acpi/button/lid/LID/state | grep open`" = "" ]; then
      if [ $R -ne 1 ]; then
         R=1
         echo -n mem >/sys/power/state   # put laptop to sleep
         # more ideally we should do other tidying up things before this, but for now !!!
      fi
   else
      R=0
   fi
   sleep 5
done

... which works for me. Goes into sleep when the lid is closed. When re-opened press Enter to bring it back to life.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8925
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 21 Apr 2019, 20:08    Post subject: Re: laptop lid closed sleep mode  

rufwoof wrote:
1.0.14 frugal installed to Acer laptop (usb booted has the usb's light flashing more often that I would like).

Touchpad et al all working fine (had problems with the touchpad when using dpup on the same laptop). Dpup's lid close sleep mode however worked fine, whilst in EasyOS it doesn't. So I just created my own
Code:
#!/bin/sh

# Rufwoof April 2019
# Laptop lid closed, then put into standby
# Add this script to your Startup folder

R=0
while :; do
   if [ "`cat /proc/acpi/button/lid/LID/state | grep open`" = "" ]; then
      if [ $R -ne 1 ]; then
         R=1
         echo -n mem >/sys/power/state   # put laptop to sleep
         # more ideally we should do other tidying up things before this, but for now !!!
      fi
   else
      R=0
   fi
   sleep 5
done

... which works for me. Goes into sleep when the lid is closed. When re-opened press Enter to bring it back to life.


That is a topic that I have not looked at!

I think that the ACPI daemon can handle that. The script to start it is /etc/init.d/acpid, however, in EasyOS, the execute flags on that script are not set, so it doesn't run.

But, if it was set as executable, I don't know much about what it will do. There would be some way of telling it to respond to a lid closure.

Ah, here we are, how to handle the lid:

http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/blfs/view/svn/general/acpid.html

Excuse me for not being active on this forum or EasyOS lately. If you watch my blog, you will see that my interest is on other things! Hope to get back onto Easy sometime.

Note, I was disappointed by the Thud upgrade for Easy, so have backed off, and now thinking that will use Slackware 15.0 binary packages for the next major release of Easy -- if/when Patrick releases 15.0!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 635
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sun 21 Apr 2019, 21:06    Post subject: syslinux.cfg assistance  

I created a folder on /sdb2 to try to run a frugal install puppy on the same USB flash I am using for Easy 1.0.14. I haven't used syslinux before, but in checking online I thought I had a correct entry. When I attempt to boot I don't see any messages only the screen blinks, with no indication that any thing is happening when I select the scpup64 entry and press Enter. Initial entry below, have also tried without 'rw'

Code:

label SCpup64
menu label SCpup64 startup
kernel SCpup64/vmlinuz
append vga=792 root=/dev/sdb2 initrd=SCpup64/initrd.gz rw


Then I thought it may be the encryption that is created on the work parition sdb2 in easyOS. I shrank sdb2 and created an new partition sdb3 with ext4 file system. I added the following sttanzas to syslinux.cfg. Any attempts to boot with any of the entries has no effect, same as above. Any assistance to get a correct syslinux.cfg would be greatly appreciated.

Code:

label Scpup64
menu label SCpup64 startup
kernel SCpup64/vmlinuz
append vga=792 root=UUID=ede7abbd-01fb-45ba-819d-fc8fd463dca3 initrd=SCpup64/initrd.gz rw

label Scpup64
menu label SCpup64 startup
kernel SCpup64/vmlinuz
append vga=792 root=/dev/sdb3 initrd=SCpup64/initrd.gz rw


As a work around I have installed legacy grub to sdb3 and am booting the puppies I have on the new partition and hard drive via legacy boot. Thisis a pain and would prefer to not have to intervene in the boot process by pressing F12 (Dell Laptop).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3254

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2019, 09:44    Post subject: battery or mains - processor scaling  

Just messing around with this laptop, created this Startup script to adjust the processor scaling to performance if mains connected, or on-demand if the laptop is running on battery
Code:
#!/bin/sh

# ondemand or performance
# according to whether mains on-line or off-line

# initial assumption of mains and set to performance
C="mains"
for F in `ls /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu[0-9]/cpufreq/scaling_governor`; do
   echo performance > $F
done

while :; do
   if [ ! -z "`cat /proc/acpi/ac_adapter/ACAD/state | grep on-line`" ]; then
      if [ "$C" = "battery" ]; then
         C="mains"
         # scale to performance
         for F in `ls /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu[0-9]/cpufreq/scaling_governor`; do
            echo performance > $F
         done
      fi
   else
      if [ "$C" = "mains" ]; then
         C="battery"
         # scale to ondemand
         for F in `ls /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu[0-9]/cpufreq/scaling_governor`; do
            echo ondemand > $F
         done
      fi
   fi
   sleep 5
done

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 258
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2019, 16:02    Post subject: Palemoon update
Subject description: Palemoon-28.5.0 is out
 

Palemoon-28.5.0 is out.

You can download the palemoon-28.5.0.linux-x86_64.tar.bz2 there:

http://linux.palemoon.org/datastore/release/palemoon-28.5.0.linux-x86_64.tar.bz2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 258
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 04 May 2019, 01:57    Post subject: Samsung ML-2160/ML-2165 printer setup
Subject description: driver installation and setup
 

How to use your Samsung printer as 'local printer' connected via a USB cable.

To make your Samsung ML-2160/ML-2165 printer work with EasyOS version 0.9.14 - 1.0.14 you'll have to copy 4 files to your system.

They are part of the Samsung universal Linux driver 'uld_V1.00.39_01.17.tar.gz' file.

Samsung_ML-2160_Series.ppd (34 K r-x,r-x,r-x, root/root) has to be copied to /usr/share/ppd
libscmssc.so (2775 K rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root) has to be copied to /usr/lib
pstosecps (58 K rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root) has to be copied to /usr/lib/cups/filter
rastertospl (91 K rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root) has to be copied to /usr/lib/cups/filter

Finally you have to start CUPS via Menu->Setup->CUPS Printer Wizard and set up your ML-2160 printer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15449
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2019, 04:12    Post subject:  

Quote:
Hi Barry

Tried to install EasyOS for raspberry pi on pi 3 B+. This years version of EasyOS 1.02 I think it was. Did not work. I used the DD command and also your utility which ran OK from Bionicpup64. I looked on the micro SD card and the files seem to be there ...

I did have more details but I am elsewhere from my BionicPup for a week.

Basically what happens is it boots up to the raspberry pi rainbow cube and a lighting icon appears in the top right but it goes no further. Same on two different HDMI monitors. In other words not booting from the new high performance sd card.

Not sure what to try? I have the raspberry pi and two brand new 32gig microSD cards ...

lobster


Further info from my post on your blog:
yep it was Januaries 1.0.2 specifically for the Pi.

Also the utility which seemed to work just like the DD command is of course easydd

Seems you are working on other things. Maybe someone else has solved this ...?

_________________
Raspberry Pi 4 to run Puppi
NEW BusterPup Beta - test now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 258
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2019, 05:28    Post subject: Using 'CUPS-PDF' as your CUPS printing tool
Subject description: How-To
 

Set up 'CUPS-PDF' as your CUPS printing tool in EasyOS 1.0.14 (How-To).

You will need to copy the listed files to your EasyOS to make 'CUPS-PDF' work:

a) pdf-writer (8120 B rwx,---,---, root/root) goes into /usr/lib/cups/backend
b) .pdfwriter.conf (117 B rw-,rw-,rw-, root/root) goes into /root (it holds 7 entries for the 'pdf-writer')
c) /export (rwx,---,---, root/root) folder needs to be created in '/'
d) /export/pdfs (rwx,---,---, root/root) folder needs to be created in '/export' (CUPS 'Test Page.pdf's will go here)
e) some Ghostscript Executables are needed in /usr/bin (eleven in all plus one link)

1) ps2ascii (740 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
2) ps2epsi (2794 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
3) ps2pdf (272 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
4) ps2pdf12 (212 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
5) ps2pdf13 (215 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
6) ps2pdf14 (215 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
7) ps2pdfwr (1097 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
Cool ps2ps (647 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
9) ps2ps2 (669 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
10) pdf2ps (909 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
11) pdf2dsc (698 B rwx,r-x,r-x, root/root)
12) ps2txt (link to ps2ascii)

f) /export/share and /export/share/pdf need to be created too (CUPS will be looking for them)

This is how /root/.pdfwriter.conf should look:

MRUD:/root (All .pdf printouts will be send there)
NOTIFY_ON:YES
NOTIFY_TIME:4000
NOTIFY_MSG:FULL
USE_XWINDOWS:YES
CONVERT_SPACES:NO
SHARED_DIR:/export/pdfs

I grabbed the needed files from Quirky 8.5 to make 'CUPS-PDF' work.
CUPS-PDF_1200dpi.png
 Description   
 Filesize   37.21 KB
 Viewed   1367 Time(s)

CUPS-PDF_1200dpi.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1445
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2019, 23:10    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Quote:
Hi Barry

Tried to install EasyOS for raspberry pi on pi 3 B+. This years version of EasyOS 1.02 I think it was. Did not work. I used the DD command and also your utility which ran OK from Bionicpup64. I looked on the micro SD card and the files seem to be there ...

I did have more details but I am elsewhere from my BionicPup for a week.

Basically what happens is it boots up to the raspberry pi rainbow cube and a lighting icon appears in the top right but it goes no further. Same on two different HDMI monitors. In other words not booting from the new high performance sd card.

Not sure what to try? I have the raspberry pi and two brand new 32gig microSD cards ...

lobster


Further info from my post on your blog:
yep it was Januaries 1.0.2 specifically for the Pi.

Also the utility which seemed to work just like the DD command is of course easydd

Seems you are working on other things. Maybe someone else has solved this ...?


Didn't Barry say he was going camping for May on his blog, or was it just in an email.

As far as microSD cards, I had some expensive ones that 'were returned', as I couldn't change partition table formats or even have the partitions format 'stick' as anything except fat32. Funny thing was there was no problem with the refund after an email was sent to the (source) company, I did wonder if they were being hard-coded again as some where back in the early years of this century, or just larger memory chipsets being used with internal block swapping and locking out of faulty sets. And some of the better microSD are nowadays actually ufs internally so you need the UFS driver loaded to re-partition them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcav


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 77
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jun 2019, 18:23    Post subject: F2FS  

Has anyone added f2f2 to easy at setup (initrd)?

gc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8925
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2019, 04:54    Post subject:  

No, haven't gone camping yet. But busy designing various camping-related things.

Currently, building prototype #2 solar water distiller, and plan to publish DIY plans.

The actual camping trip will come later.

I was thinking of getting back into EasyOS development after Slackware 15.0 is released, as plan to use those packages, instead of the ones that I compiled from source using OpenEmbedded/Yocto.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
spotted

Joined: 25 Jan 2018
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jun 2019, 12:10    Post subject: Trying to convert Easy Arm to run in Odroid
Subject description: impossible!!
 

I have new out Odroid N2 and tried to adapt Easy 102 arm to run on it. Naturally enough it did't work, there is too much difference in the OS'es. Firstly I could not resize N2 boot petition with gparted, its locked, could not put easy.sfs into the N2 so I had to try to shoe-horn N2 baddies, there not goodies until I get it to work, into Easy. I know how to rename and insert N2's.dtb file, but the kernel file is too different. The N2 kernel is a image.gz file which extracts to just 'image', 'DOS/Windows executable' file where as Easy is a kernrl8.img, raw disk image file.

initrd in Easy is a GPIO archive, uinitrd in te N2 is a 'program'.
What ever I changed in cmdline and config files did not work. Even tried using boot.ini from the N2, changing the kernel and initrd file names to suit, of coarse it didn't work.
THE QUESTION IS!! WILL IT EVER WORK!!!! yea, bongo drums works but i want to get that sudo jerk and bolt him to a blacks smiths anvil and smash him more than a millennials avocado
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8925
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jun 2019, 05:56    Post subject:  

pBurn, the CD/DVD burner app created by zigbert, is broken in Easy 1.0.14, and earlier, at least for me when I tried to use it yesterday.

However, Easy has an old version of pBurn, and there is a fix, install cdrtools and the latest pBurn 4.3.16 PETs, see links here:

http://bkhome.org/news/201906/cdrtools-package-for-easyos.html

And post in the pBurn thread:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1030045#1030045

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gychang


Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 293
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jun 2019, 13:09    Post subject: need darktable and gthumb  

Using EasyOS Pyro64 1.0.14. Being a photo hobbiest, wondering if either darktable or gthumb are available.

Checked PPM and SFS manager but no luck...

thanks,

_________________
---
trying to learn puppylinux...
---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 103 of 106 [1586 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0905s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0106s) ][ GZIP on ]