Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Oct 2019, 17:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Why is wireless so complicated in Puppy?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [46 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 967
Location: Mid-mitten

PostPosted: Sat 30 Mar 2019, 03:29    Post subject:  

olddog wrote:
I believe these are Windows programs.


No - those are a brand-new set of Puppy WiFi tools, developed by stemsee himself - see here;

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112660

That may be just what you're lookin' for, and certainly worth a shot. And anyway, they need more attention and testing by the greater Puppy community - and if proven worthy, eventual adoption into the default Puppy WoofCE build system as a potential replacement to the existing WiFi tools you're having issues with. Win-win!

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3569
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 Mar 2019, 07:14    Post subject:  

Was that a double vote for Windows there??? Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4443
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Mar 2019, 22:09    Post subject:  

olddog:

Ever since Frisbee by Jeminiah...a brilliant girl..

I have had no issues with wireless in Puppy....ever.

If the driver is there...Frisbee runs.

First ran wireless on an Acer laptop when mu had a triple Puppy Release.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 967
Location: Mid-mitten

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 01:23    Post subject:  

Burn_IT wrote:
Was that a double vote for Windows there??? Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes


Laughing Laughing Oh, hell no! Laughing

T'was a vote of confidence in stemsee AND the Puppy testing community! Smile

As cthisbear mentioned, I've always had great luck with Frisbee, and use it exclusively as it's fast/easy and has never failed to *just work* on all of my hardware. Win-wi... errr... two thumbs up! Laughing

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5480
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 06:52    Post subject:  

@ olddog:-

Just out of curiosity, what wireless adapter are you using? Perhaps some-one could give advice based on experience with it.

EDIT:- Ah; Broadcom. Huh. The one chipset provider who steadfastly refuses to even acknowledge the existence of Linux. Yep, they're a PITA all right; most of the available Linux Broadcom drivers/workarounds have had to be 'reverse-engineered' as it is.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1809
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 07:07    Post subject:  

I have noticed that with some distros, script /etc/init.d/frisbee fails to find my wireless interface name in time (which, on my computer, is sometimes known as wls1 rather than default wlan0). The name accordingly is not being written into the script's WFACES variable (and out to /etc/frisbee/interfaces); that's the key value needing found and stored for frisbee GUI not to grey buttons out and thus fail to work.

The solution is simple: increase the sleep value in /etc/init.d/frisbee from sleep 5 to sleep 7 or maybe even to sleep 10

The relevant 'sleep 5' is at line 38 in my /etc/init.d/frisbee file, but exact location of the line may depend on the version of frisbee you have installed (but will be around there anyway).

wiak

_________________
Tiny Linux Blog: http://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
tinycore/slitaz: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=990130#990130
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1809
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 31 Mar 2019, 07:34    Post subject:  

In terms of simplicity, I often don't even use a Network Manager program like frisbee at all.

As long as the system has something like dhcpcd daemon program (or dhclient) available as well as wpa_supplicant and the correct wifi device firmware in /lib/firmware (and usually relevant module in /lib/modules; see lsmod command), and I know the name of my wifi router SSID, I just start dhcpcd and wpa_supplicant up at the commandline.

Certainly I first have to create a wpa_supplicant.conf file with my SSID and password in it (or use wpa_passphrase to create the necessary entry). For example, on one of my systems I use:

Code:
wpa_passphrase <MYSSID> <password_key> >> /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf


then start wpa_supplicant with something like:

Code:
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -i<device_name> -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

or via some wpa_supplicant service startup command your system may provide...

though you need to know where the relevant wpa_supplicant .conf file is stored on your system.

If you need to first scan (before all the above) to check the SSID used, you can use the program iwlist:

Code:
ifconfig <wifi_device_name> up
iwlist scan


For more accurate (and much better explained) details of how to connect via commandline best to read post 2 here:

http://askubuntu.com/questions/138472/how-do-i-connect-to-a-wpa-wifi-network-using-the-command-line
which references nice explanation:
http://linux.icydog.net/wpa.php

though you don't need 'sudo' on Puppy of course - since logged-in as root user anyway. You should be using your wifi device name of course (not eth1; probably something like wlan0 or wls1 as revealed by command:
Code:
ip link show

or simply:
Code:
ifconfig
or
Code:
iwconfig
There are lots of ways to crack a nut.


You can thus write a very simple script indeed (just a few lines) to basically do the above for a particular system.

wiak

EDIT: As far as wifi firmware is concerned, if it's not already installed on your system, things just won't work, and you have to search online for correct firmware for your wifi device (which is usually revealed by dmesg command). For example for common iwlwifi, see: https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/iwlwifi

_________________
Tiny Linux Blog: http://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
tinycore/slitaz: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=990130#990130
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
olddog

Joined: 21 Dec 2016
Posts: 64
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 01:54    Post subject:  

Short of taking the machine apart, which I will do in due course, I am not sure which adapter I am using. According to the bible on Thinkpads on Linux, there are several possibilities:

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Category:T61

Is there any way of finding out from Puppy? I have sought, but have not found.


Mike Walsh wrote:
@ olddog:-

Just out of curiosity, what wireless adapter are you using? Perhaps some-one could give advice based on experience with it.

EDIT:- Ah; Broadcom. Huh. The one chipset provider who steadfastly refuses to even acknowledge the existence of Linux. Yep, they're a PITA all right; most of the available Linux Broadcom drivers/workarounds have had to be 'reverse-engineered' as it is.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
Linux novice with too many Thinkpads, mainly running Xenialpup
HP Laserjet Pro 1102W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
olddog

Joined: 21 Dec 2016
Posts: 64
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 02:09    Post subject:  

I downloaded the file, but can't extract the program.

A yellow box comes up saying "Do you want to extract.....?", but when I hit Yes, nothing happens. Uextract also fails.


Moat wrote:
olddog wrote:
I believe these are Windows programs.


No - those are a brand-new set of Puppy WiFi tools, developed by stemsee himself - see here;

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112660

That may be just what you're lookin' for, and certainly worth a shot. And anyway, they need more attention and testing by the greater Puppy community - and if proven worthy, eventual adoption into the default Puppy WoofCE build system as a potential replacement to the existing WiFi tools you're having issues with. Win-win!

Bob

_________________
Linux novice with too many Thinkpads, mainly running Xenialpup
HP Laserjet Pro 1102W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 04:33    Post subject:  

Olddog, this thread is getting complicated.
There are three potential places to get info about your hardware and network device(s) without using the terminal or messing around with other stuff: Maybe have a look for PCI devices.
Menu/System/PupScan
Menu/System/PupSysinfo
Menu/System/Hardinfo

Is it not Intel? https://www.cnet.com/products/lenovo-t61/specs/
Communications
Wireless Protocol
802.11a/b/g
Wireless Controller
Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG
Wired Protocol
Gigabit Ethernet
Should just work with SNS I would have thought.. If Broadcom, I think Peebee or Zigbert used to always make sure that the Puppy would work with that stinker, through an extra driver or something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 572
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 05:44    Post subject:  

Smithy (previous poster) is right - we need to know what wireless adaptor. If intel you will need firmware, which goes in /lib/firmware then reboot & save. To be sure, in a terminal, please run: lspci -k and post output for Network. If it is Broadcom, I & others made drivers for several kernels, so please also run in terminal: uname -r & post output.
Last edited by ozsouth on Tue 02 Apr 2019, 06:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
olddog

Joined: 21 Dec 2016
Posts: 64
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 11:21    Post subject:  

Thank you. Telling me to look for PCI did the trick.

It's an Intel 4965 AG or AGN.

SOMETIMES it will work with any of the three systems; it all depends on the time of the month or the direction of the wind, or whatever. With Dougal's system I can never remember what I did to make it work. With the other two it's a bit of a lottery whether it works or not.

I increasingly feel that the card may be to blame.

BTW, many thanks for all the suggestions.

Smithy wrote:
Olddog, this thread is getting complicated.
There are three potential places to get info about your hardware and network device(s) without using the terminal or messing around with other stuff: Maybe have a look for PCI devices.
Menu/System/PupScan
Menu/System/PupSysinfo
Menu/System/Hardinfo

Is it not Intel? https://www.cnet.com/products/lenovo-t61/specs/
Communications
Wireless Protocol
802.11a/b/g
Wireless Controller
Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG
Wired Protocol
Gigabit Ethernet
Should just work with SNS I would have thought.. If Broadcom, I think Peebee or Zigbert used to always make sure that the Puppy would work with that stinker, through an extra driver or something.

_________________
Linux novice with too many Thinkpads, mainly running Xenialpup
HP Laserjet Pro 1102W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 13:09    Post subject:  

Ok, that's good that you know what it is now.
Some info here.
https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/drivers/iwlegacy

I can see a iwlwifi-4965-2.ucode file in a puppy I am using, located in Lib/Firmware.
but guys like Ozsouth, Rerwin and others will know the workings much better than myself.
Rerwin did suggest trying a pristine boot Puppy 8 version for instance, might be improvements etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
olddog

Joined: 21 Dec 2016
Posts: 64
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 18:13    Post subject:  

Yes, I have that file too, in both lib and lib64 folders.

Smithy wrote:
Ok, that's good that you know what it is now.
Some info here.
https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/drivers/iwlegacy

I can see a iwlwifi-4965-2.ucode file in a puppy I am using, located in Lib/Firmware.
but guys like Ozsouth, Rerwin and others will know the workings much better than myself.
Rerwin did suggest trying a pristine boot Puppy 8 version for instance, might be improvements etc.

_________________
Linux novice with too many Thinkpads, mainly running Xenialpup
HP Laserjet Pro 1102W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2488
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 18:35    Post subject:  

olddog wrote:
I downloaded the file, but can't extract the program.

A yellow box comes up saying "Do you want to extract.....?", but when I hit Yes, nothing happens. Uextract also fails.


Moat wrote:
olddog wrote:
I believe these are Windows programs.


No - those are a brand-new set of Puppy WiFi tools, developed by stemsee himself - see here;

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112660

That may be just what you're lookin' for, and certainly worth a shot. And anyway, they need more attention and testing by the greater Puppy community - and if proven worthy, eventual adoption into the default Puppy WoofCE build system as a potential replacement to the existing WiFi tools you're having issues with. Win-win!

Bob


That is an .sfs file named s .sfs.gz ust rename by removing the .gz (fake .gz)
Then right click on the file and choose load_sfs, or load module depending on your system.

stemsee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [46 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2199s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0300s) ][ GZIP on ]