Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Apr 2019, 20:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Something to do with browsers (SOLVED with an extension)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
pp4mnklinux


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 314

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2019, 02:27    Post subject:  Something to do with browsers (SOLVED with an extension)
Subject description: Added to http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=115490
 

Hello everybody:

This is an "Update" to my post at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=115490 , because I think I found what happen with my RAM.

This is the info conky gives to me when I start ONLY ONE tab with slimjet browser.

I suppose is due to a slimjet config. and changing browser I can solve it (it doesn't happen with FIREFOX but it happens with Chrome) but do u know how to solve this with slimjet?
wallpaper.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  wallpaper.jpg 
Filesize  61 KB 
Downloaded  20 Time(s) 
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   10.18 KB
 Viewed   168 Time(s)

image-1.jpg


_________________
Distro: xenialpup64 7.5 XXL
Desktop Panel: JWM ~ FbBox 5.0

Last edited by pp4mnklinux on Fri 08 Mar 2019, 12:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4857
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2019, 08:58    Post subject:  

@ pp4mnklinux:-

You're not going to want to hear this, but you need to know it anyway.

Chrome, Iron, Slimjet - any Chromium-based 'clone' (yes, even Chrome is a 'clone'!) - they are all what are known as a multi-process application.

Browsers being what they are, everybody wants multiple tabs open.....and Chromium runs each tab as a separate 'process'. Not only each tab, but also multiple 'background' processes that are running all the time the browser is active. This is why, when you look at yr task manager (either the system one, or the browser's own, built-in one (accessible with the Shift + Escape key combo while the browser is running), you will always see lots of different processes running.....every one of which will have the same, Chromium label. (Or Chrome.....or Slimjet.....or Iron; depending on the 'clone' you're using, or course!)

This behaviour cannot be changed, altered, or modified in any way, shape or form. It's 'hard-coded' into the browser; it's just the way these browsers work. If you wanted to change it, you'd need to compile your own version, and make some very drastic changes to the source code while you were at it.....and even for the 'experts' I doubt it would be an easy process. Most devs would consider it a pointless one at best.

Bottom line? If you're running elderly hardware with limited resources/capabilities, the 'clones' are not recommended browsers. They just are very 'heavy'.....and they're getting 'heavier' with every new release. The Mozilla-based ones, especially Palemoon, are a much better bet.


Mike. Wink

_________________
My 'Puppy' Packages
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12022
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2019, 12:02    Post subject:  

This could be a reason for what you see.
If you start the browser from a previous session, that had a lot of tabs.
On start the browser tries to load all the tabs.

Pale Moon can control this with a preference setting. (do not load tabs until selected)

Do not know about Slimjet.

For Chrome there is this:
https://www.ghacks.net/2017/06/02/speed-up-chrome-start-by-lazy-loading-tabs/

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13209
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2019, 12:25    Post subject:  

pp4mnklinux, why didn't you post this in the thread you referenced? Why start a whole new thread about the subject?

And, by the way, Firefox gives a choice to start a new instance or use the tabs that were open when it last crashed. If you shut Firefox down the regular way, it doesn't give that choice when you restart it. If you want to shut Firefox down so it gives the choice of bringing back all the tabs that were open when it last ran, you have to kill it. There are several ways to do that. Restarting the X server is one way to kill Firefox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pp4mnklinux


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 314

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2019, 13:22    Post subject: Flash
Subject description: My fault (solved)
 

Hi:

Excuseme not to include this post with the original one.- It was because I tryed to make a faster reading.

SORRY and THANKS A LOT for all your answers.

I'll go back to FF or Palemoon.

THANKY

____________edited_______________


I think I found how to solve this.

I installed an extension for SLIMJET:

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/monitor-and-clean-systems/abhdadadmefcinkehbogolpfocgjkkgb



It could be possible, I solved the problem with other option (because I modifyed a lot of things, but now its working and I have got 45 opened tabs)
and its working without blocking.

_________________
Distro: xenialpup64 7.5 XXL
Desktop Panel: JWM ~ FbBox 5.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0361s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]