Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Apr 2019, 20:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Trying to get dual monitor display to work
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
sinc


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 539
Location: Tampa, FL USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2019, 15:47    Post subject:  Trying to get dual monitor display to work
Subject description: XFX Radeon R7 240 (R7240ACLF2) 2GB GDDR5 SDRAM PCI Express 3.0 x16 Video Card
 

I am using BionicDog64 Cinnamon Version (though I have tried Puppy versions as well) and I cannot get dual screen to function.

As mentioned above I purchased a XFX Radeon R7 240 (R7240ACLF2) 2GB GDDR5 SDRAM PCI Express 3.0 x16 Video Card under the impression I would be able to use it fairly easily on Linux. But the main function I am looking for, dual screen support, I have not been able to get.

I have installed the package amdgpu-install via the synaptic package manager included in BionicDog but am unsure what else to do.

Unfortunately, the current participants on the BionicDog thread don't seem to be able to provide the solution (I'm sure they would if they knew, they have been super helpful).

If anyone else can help me figure out if I have made a mistake in my purchase or what could be done to correct the situation Id appreciate it. Thanks so much for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2019, 17:01    Post subject:  

First, type this in a command console:
Code:
xrandr
It should tell you what screens you have to work with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sinc


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 539
Location: Tampa, FL USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2019, 20:18    Post subject:  

See screenshot.
I do notice is says VGA not connected which is not the case. the VGA is connected.
Screenshot from 2019-03-01 19-16-46.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot from 2019-03-01 19-16-46.png 
Filesize  78.44 KB 
Downloaded  29 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2019, 20:47    Post subject:  

ok, it says you are using HDMI-A-0

Using this video card, you can use DVI-D-0 and/or VGA-0 if you have them plugged in. Not sure if you are using your new card or the builtin card.

If you are plugged into the VGA jack, this should enable it:
Code:
xrandr --output HDMI-A-0 --auto --primary --output VGA-0 --auto --above

or something like that. This should set your screen back to the way it is now:
Code:
xrandr --output HDMI-A-0 --auto --primary --output VGA-0 --off


Code:
xrandr --help


This should tell you what video cards you have:
Code:
lspci


I have never run a Dog, so someone else may know more than I do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0323s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]