Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 18 Nov 2019, 18:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Tahrpup32 6.0.3 Exit Menu Malfunctioning [[[SOLVED]]]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
MrDuckGuy


Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 107
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 17:41    Post subject:  Tahrpup32 6.0.3 Exit Menu Malfunctioning [[[SOLVED]]]
Subject description: [Reboot] [Shut Down] [Restart] [Exit to Prompt] Not Working B'H
 

=================================
SOLVED - UPDATED OS TO TAHRPUP32v6.0.6
=================================


Hello, I hope this is an example of user error.

I have to do a hard reset to close the OS. When I type "reboot" in the Terminal, I get:
Code:
root# reboot
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
root#
I don't know what that even means.

Shouldn't the system restart? What am I doing wrong?

Screenshot below.

Thanks in advance. B'H.

[/code]
ScreenShot_2019-03-05_21.png
 Description   Terminal output from "reboot" command. This file has been shrunk. B'H.
 Filesize   60.44 KB
 Viewed   43 Time(s)

ScreenShot_2019-03-05_21.png


Last edited by MrDuckGuy on Mon 18 Mar 2019, 16:58; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 18:39    Post subject:  

Run "which reboot" and you'll find it's a script inside /sbin. Take a look..
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 2030
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 19:19    Post subject:  

Withdrawn
_________________
Oscar in England


Last edited by OscarTalks on Wed 27 Feb 2019, 20:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5551
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 20:10    Post subject:  

@ MrDuckGuy:-

I run around a dozen Puppies. I find this is something that occasionally happens to most of them, perhaps once every couple of months. But, curiously enough, the more modern Pups (pretty much all that were built with the Woof-CE build-process) seem to be more prone to this than the older ones.....and I don't think I've had this in a single T2 Puppy at all.

The T2's have their faults, sure.....but this doesn't seem to be one of them!


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1925
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 22:39    Post subject: Re: Tahrpup32 6.0.3 Exit Menu Malfunctioning
Subject description: [Reboot] [Shut Down] [Restart] [Exit to Prompt] Not Working B'H
 

MrDuckGuy wrote:
Shouldn't the system restart?

Yes, in theory.
As Semme already mentioned, in Puppy reboot is a script. It sends you through a couple of other scripts until you reach the script wmreboot. That's where Puppy tries to kill your window manager. If it fails, you will see the error message of your screenshot

If you want to use the "real" reboot command and not the failing script, enter busybox reboot into your terminal. Should work.

Quote:
What am I doing wrong?

Nothing. Without knowing what exactly is the cause in your case, most likely it is this bug.
I doubt that this will ever be fixed properly. The whole trouble started with this post back more than 12 years ago and the unfortunate "all implemented" response by BK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 23:33    Post subject:  

/usr/bin/wmexit tries to stop Xorg by killing `cat /etc/windowmanager`
I sometimes start my wm indirectly from a script, which can cause this problem. I replaced:
Code:
`cat /etc/windowmanager` jwm icewm openbox

with:
Code:
`cat /etc/windowmanager` jwm icewm openbox X Xorg

which should stop Xorg even if it fails to stop the wm. It seems to be a simple fix that works in my case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2019, 03:57    Post subject:  

MrDuckGuy, if you are experiencing the bug that MochiMoppel referred to
when you try to shutdown from the menu, Puppy will seem to hang.
If you kill X at that point by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Backspace it should
finish shutting down.

If you're trying to reboot from a urxvt window, you should type wmreboot
not reboot, as others have said.

The bug is usually caused by starting X windows with a name that is wrong,
maybe because it was misspelled or a typo. In that case, you should be able
to kill X by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Backspace then starting X by typing the correct
name of your window manager, for example:
Code:
xwin jwm

which should fix the problem. If it doesn't, your problem is probably not that bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrDuckGuy


Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 107
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2019, 12:32    Post subject: Re: Tahrpup32 6.0.3 Exit Menu Malfunctioning
Subject description: [Reboot] [Shut Down] [Restart] [Exit to Prompt] Not Working B'H
 

williams2 wrote:
MrDuckGuy, if you are ... by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Backspace it should finish shutting down ...
Thanks, I found that to work as well. I still am planning to reload that OS to work on the other possible strategies offered by you, and the others in this thread.

-Kelikaku B'H.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2019, 16:47    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
Quote:
The whole trouble started with this post back more than 12 years ago and the unfortunate "all implemented" response by BK.
That should not be a problem. The code just seems to start the default wm, jwm, if /etc/windowmanager is not valid. Seems like a good thing. On shutdown, wmexit will try to kill the wm in /etc/windowmanager and fail, but will then try to kill jwm (and icewm and openbox) which should work.

What will not work is if the running wm is not the one in /etc/windowmanager. This can happen if the wm was started from a script or if the wm lets you switch to another wm. I sometimes start from a script if I need to start the wm with command line options, or to redirect debug output to a file. In these cases it is impossible for wmexit to know what needs to be killed. Eventually, after trying to kill the wm, wmexit should then try to kill X. It does not try to kill X, and that is the bug. It should try harder to kill X.

This should work, and fix that (woofCE) bug:
Code:
`cat /etc/windowmanager` jwm icewm openbox X Xorg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1925
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2019, 21:28    Post subject:  

williams2 wrote:
That should not be a problem.
Well, obviously it is a problem
Quote:
The code just seems to start the default wm, jwm, if /etc/windowmanager is not valid. Seems like a good thing.
Bad, but simple. The correct way would be verify the input, alert the user if input is crap and give him an option to fix it. Should have been already done when data were written to /etc/windowmanager, but here is a second chance to correct the crap. A chance missed
Quote:
On shutdown, wmexit will try to kill the wm in /etc/windowmanager and fail
Sure, and this points to the biggest flaw: When the code started jwm because it couldn't make sense of the content in /etc/windowmanager, it should have corrected /etc/windowmanager and written "jwm" to /etc/windowmanager. Now clearly the started wm and /etc/windowmanager don't match, with all bad consequences for all applications that read and rely on /etc/windowmanager

BTW: This thread should not be a topic for the Beginners section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2019, 22:15    Post subject:  

Agreed, this is about a woofCE bug, it should not be here.

.xinitrc does not cause X to hang. If there is garbage in /etc/windowmanager then .xinitrc executes jwm and wmexit kills jwm, so .xinitrc does not cause X to hang.

.xinitrc could be improved. For example:
Code:
test -f /etc/windowmanager-default || cp /etc/windowmanager /etc/windowmanager-default
which $CURRENTWM && exec $CURRENTWM
[ -x $CURRENTWM ] && exec $CURRENTWM
[ "$desktop" = "rox" ] && cp /etc/windowmanager /etc/windowmanager-bad \
&&  cp /etc/windowmanager-default /etc/windowmanager && exec jwm

would be more elegant. But it would not affect the wmexit bug. (Untested, rough draft, needs to be improved, needs error messages, etc, etc)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12854
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2019, 10:14    Post subject:  

Quote:
Tahrpup32 6.0.3

This was a a development version of Tahrpup.
It had bugs in it.
These bugs got fixed in Tahrpup 6.0.5 the official final release.
You need to be using Tahrpup 6.0.5

After installing Tahrpup 6.0.5.
Need to get any updates to it.
Quickpet program can do this. (quickpet icon on desktop)
Run Quickpet>Info>Tahrpup updates

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12854
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2019, 10:27    Post subject:  

MrDuckGuy,

I see you are trying different versions of Puppy.
Need to understand that you will find all the versions of a named Puppy. The forum keeps all of them posted.
Usually the first, second, third, etc...... versions are released for testing and bug fixing. Getting to a final finished release version.

You always want to be using the latest final version of a Puppy version. That should be the one that has all the bugs fixed and is considered the final release or at best the closes one to final release.
Example:
Tahrpup 6.0
Tahrpup 6.0.2
Tahrpup 6.0.3
Tahrpup 6.0.5

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrDuckGuy


Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 107
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2019, 00:24    Post subject: Re: Tahrpup32 6.0.3 Exit Menu Malfunctioning
Subject description: [Reboot] [Shut Down] [Restart] [Exit to Prompt] Not Working B'H
 

bigpup wrote:
MrDuckGuy ... you are trying different versions of Puppy ... always want to be using the latest final version ... considered the final release ... closest one to final release. ...
Tahrpup 6.0
Tahrpup 6.0.2
Tahrpup 6.0.3
Tahrpup ...
I am using Tahrpup 6.0 but with all the updates. I guess I shouldn't have really said it's 6.0.3 but the updates do not change the sysinfo output in the OS. The output still reads that the OS is still "6.0" even though I have installed all the "pets" to upgrade it to "6.0.5." I posted "6.0.3" because I changed the desktop to show that I'd done the update prior to doing the final update to "6.0.5," but that was due to my bumbling, beleaguered, confusion that I didn't change my desktop. Drat it all and broken eggs!!

I am sorry and I humbly apologize for causing this consternation to the forum by not clarifying that fact. Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed B'H
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12854
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2019, 10:53    Post subject:  

I am not sure the Quickpet Update process, worked that well, when trying to get Tahrpup 6.0 updated to Tahrpup 6.0.5.
That was when Quickpet>Info>Tahrpup updates process was still being bug fixed.
It too was being developed. It was a new way of doing updates.

Really would be better if you could just start fresh with Tahrpup 6.0.5 iso.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0593s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]