Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 17 Nov 2019, 20:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Studio 13.37 3.2 is out!
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
l0wt3ch

Joined: 23 Apr 2014
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 16:11    Post subject:  Studio 13.37 3.2 is out!
Subject description: Handcrafted from the finest ones and zeroes
 

It's a brand new version of Studio 13.37!



The latest and greatest multimedia software that Linux has to offer, 64-bit, with a custom realtime kernel, automatic system tuning at boot, everything all set up for you, like wineasio, rt-prio and virtual midi ports. Dark theme, custom UI.

Comes with WINE-staging for 32-bit Windows rt capability. New REAPER for Linux, as well as a script for downloading and installing the Windows version, if you prefer. Compatible with BitWig and most (if not all) 64-bit Ubuntu packages.

Built on the new and exciting BionicPup64 micro-Linux, it's fast, smooth, reliable, and light on resources. It's beautiful, user-friendly, virus-proof, Space Age technology, with no bullshit.

Unleash the Power of Linux!



As usual, free copies available to customers and friends. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 17:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
virtual midi ports

That sounds interesting!

Do I understand this right, assuming I could have 32 or even more midi channels
by e.g. using 16 channels from ZynAddSubFx and then again 16 channels from
Yoshimi (both with different sound setup)?

How is this done?

Is there any software to install to apply such virtual midi ports to my BionicPup Art Studio?

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
l0wt3ch

Joined: 23 Apr 2014
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 05:51    Post subject:  

Hey Mersh,

What you do is add a startup script so timidity starts in the background. Then you can set up your other apps to automatically use the virtual midi ports timidity creates.

Hope that helps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 547

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 08:22    Post subject: Congratulations  

Congratulations !!

This must be the best looking Puppy ever !
Impressed by the fact that you are able to continue turning a puppy base (*) into a professional product. Even if you don't make a lot of money (at 49.99) it is a professional looking product and commercial.

I am not a music producter or even amateur, but if I where, I would like to invest in this product...

Volhout

(*) puppy changes by the motivation of it's authors, so it is not a reliable base to work from, like Ubuntu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 245
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 13:35    Post subject:  

Bravo l0wt3ch,

Bionic studio would have sound great too!
Funny how leet got that nice historic hacking related stories to it too!
i wish you all the success you deserve with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ciento

Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 18:14    Post subject:  

Congrats on the new release! Looking forward
to many grueling hours speeding musically around in ram Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 18:18    Post subject:  

l0wt3ch wrote:
Hey Mersh,

What you do is add a startup script so timidity starts in the background. Then you can set up your other apps to automatically use the virtual midi ports timidity creates.

Hope that helps!

Timidity has that many options, I couldn't find a way, to let it run in background. Could you post the your startup script as an example?

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ciento

Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 18:33    Post subject:  

ITSMERSH wrote:

Is there any software to install to apply such virtual midi ports to my BionicPup Art Studio?


root user command this:

modprobe snd_virmidi

will put more ports in qjackctl

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 20:03    Post subject:  

Quote:
modprobe snd_virmidi

Thanks.

This has added 4 virtual midi ports by default.

After adding three midi buses to Qtractor I could connect midi out of separate tracks to specified midi ports in.
Connected the midi ports out to different synthesizers (ZynAdd, Yoshimi, Hydrogen, AmSynth).

No matter what I've tried I didn't get any sounds from the connected synthesizers.

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ciento

Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 20:53    Post subject:  

Just in case, in qtractor track plugin tab, at the top,
by the left-side name of the synth,
there is a button to activate, turns green
when clicked.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 21:21    Post subject:  

I haven't used the synthesizers from plugins tab.
They were started as additional instances to the sequencer.

Confused

However, It looks like I probably understood the virtual midi ports the wrong way:

After adding a new midi bus (master2) to Qtractor I could connect the Qtractor midi outs separately to the preferred synthesizer.

E.g.:

- two midi tracks
- both on channel 4
- one using midi output master connected to zynaddsubfx
- the other using midi output master2 connected to yoshimi
- both synthesizers have different sounds on channel 4 (Piano, Guitar)
- dependend on the active track in qtractor only the sound from yoshimi (Guitar) or zynaddsubfx (Piano) can be played/heard

And that's exactly what I was looking for.

So, what's the virtual midi ports really intended/used for?

Sorry for hijacking this topic for a short period...

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
l0wt3ch

Joined: 23 Apr 2014
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2019, 04:08    Post subject:  

@ Volhout: Cheers! I appreciate the kind words.

@ Revolverve: Thanks! Do you want a copy?

@ Ciento: What would I do without you, buddy? Thanks for supporting Studio 13.37 all these years.

@ RSH: It's handy if you don't have a midi card. Just another option, I guess.

To start timidity in the background, just add a script to /root/startup with this:

timidity -iA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2019, 14:06    Post subject:  

Hi.

I had a first quick test and view into Studio 13.37.
Some programs like Simple Screen Recorder are still installed,
but they don't appear in the Openbox menu. When switching to
JWM it's back in the menu, but all the JACK programs are missed
in the menu.

Just a (two) question(s) - no criticism:

Why does a GNU/Linux Audio Studio needs to have Wine installed?

Wouldn't it be better to keep it GNU/Linux only and to put all the
Wine stuff incl. its additional programs into a .sfs module?

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
l0wt3ch

Joined: 23 Apr 2014
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2019, 20:51    Post subject:  

Hi RSH,

There's actually 3 separate menus, the one on the dock, the lxpanel menu, and the openbox menu. They're all entirely different, they just look similar. The music apps are grouped into a separate JACK subcategory, but I didn't put that in the jwm menu.

As for WINE, Studio 13.37 has always had it, so it's partly tradition, I guess. It lets you run Windows music production apps and VST's. Having WINE pre-installed also lets me pre-configure REAPER audio settings with wineasio, should someone desire to execute the download script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2019, 23:15    Post subject:  

Hi.

Thanks for the reply.
As usual I'm going to customize the menus as I do usually in all my Systems.
They all have a separate JACK menu which is named: Music Production.
Also I think I'm going to remove the wine stuff and moving it into a
separate .sfs - just to make sure I would need it some day.
Though I doubt this will happen for doing music.

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1046s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0172s) ][ GZIP on ]