Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Oct 2019, 17:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Which Puppy for machine with Celeron N3050 CPU/GPU?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jan 2019, 19:34    Post subject:  Which Puppy for machine with Celeron N3050 CPU/GPU?  

https://en.wikichip.org/wiki/intel/celeron/n3050

I want to buy a barebone PC like:

https://www.zotac.com/sk/product/mini_pcs/zbox-bi322
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12734
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2019, 00:11    Post subject:  

Only way to really know is to try a Puppy version.

Looking at the specs for this computer.
That is all common specs for a lot of low budget laptops.
Should try a version of Puppy with support for newest hardware.
I would think one of the newest Puppy versions should work.
Xenialpup64 7.5 (64bit) or Xenialpup 7.5 (32bit)
Bionicpup64 7.9.8 almost at final release, but it works well at this point..

However, a lot of other recent Puppies and Puppy like OS should work.
Probably would be good to only use a Puppy that has a Linux kernel in the 4 series.
Those kernels will have best support for new/newer hardware.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2019, 03:26    Post subject:  

Ok and thx.

I was afraid of internal Intel GPU chipset. I've read that ATI/NVIDIA are better supported in Linux.

Kernels ver. > 4 should works. N3050 is from 2015 so i think that Puppies made after that year should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1418
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2019, 06:36    Post subject:  

I have one of these:

https://www.gigabyte.com/Mini-PcBarebone/GB-BACE-3000-rev-10#ov

which seems very similar. It runs Tahr & Xenial64 no problems at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jan 2019, 17:08    Post subject:  

I've tested those Puppies:

Slacko 5.7
Works only in terminal mode.

Slacko 5.7.1
Works only in terminal mode.

Slacko 6.3
Works only in terminal mode.

Slacko64 6.3.2
Didn't boot to desktop out-of-box. Got errors with Intel driver. I had to use modesetting driver in xorgwizard.
PSI-HW-SUMMARY-190115.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-HW-SUMMARY-190115.gz 
Filesize  2.31 KB 
Downloaded  151 Time(s) 
video-info-full.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  video-info-full.gz 
Filesize  6.86 KB 
Downloaded  151 Time(s) 
sys-info-190115.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  sys-info-190115.gz 
Filesize  12.17 KB 
Downloaded  141 Time(s) 
Slacko64-6.3.2@ZOTAC-BI322-02.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   86.37 KB
 Viewed   536 Time(s)

Slacko64-6.3.2@ZOTAC-BI322-02.jpg

Slacko64-6.3.2@ZOTAC-BI322-01.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   83.86 KB
 Viewed   541 Time(s)

Slacko64-6.3.2@ZOTAC-BI322-01.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2019, 17:12    Post subject:  

Tested:

Xenial32 7.5

Two questions:

1) I have 4GB ram but TOTAL in free and top is 2GB or i'm wrong (see screenshot)?

Found some info:

Quote:
It's just that a single app won't be able to make use of it at once.


More there:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2_GB_limit

So top only can use 2GB and showing only this as total?

Version 32bit is not PAE?

2) Which temperature is correct from PSI or tray (see screenshot)?
PSI-SYS-SUMMARY-190117.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-SYS-SUMMARY-190117.gz 
Filesize  34.34 KB 
Downloaded  149 Time(s) 
PSI-SYS-COMPLETE-190117.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-SYS-COMPLETE-190117.gz 
Filesize  39.4 KB 
Downloaded  144 Time(s) 
PSI-HW-COMPLETE-190117.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-HW-COMPLETE-190117.gz 
Filesize  5.81 KB 
Downloaded  147 Time(s) 
hardinfo_report.html.erase.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.erase.gz 
Filesize  82.99 KB 
Downloaded  128 Time(s) 
xenial32-7.5@ZOTAC-BI322.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   104.59 KB
 Viewed   518 Time(s)

xenial32-7.5@ZOTAC-BI322.jpg


Last edited by puppy_apprentice on Mon 21 Jan 2019, 19:35; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2019, 18:22    Post subject:  

Tested:

Xenial64 7.5

The good:

64bit version see whole 4GB ram (screenshot 1).

The bad:

Some buttons have sometimes unreadable labels (screenshot 3 and 4). But if antialiasing is turned on everything seems ok. I didn't noticed this on Slacko64 6.3.2. Maybe this is problem with Intel driver?

Again question about correct temperature (screenshot 2).
PSI-SYS-SUMMARY-190117.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-SYS-SUMMARY-190117.gz 
Filesize  35.11 KB 
Downloaded  138 Time(s) 
PSI-SYS-COMPLETE-190117.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-SYS-COMPLETE-190117.gz 
Filesize  40.19 KB 
Downloaded  142 Time(s) 
PSI-HW-COMPLETE-190117.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-HW-COMPLETE-190117.gz 
Filesize  5.93 KB 
Downloaded  141 Time(s) 
pdiag-20190117.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pdiag-20190117.tar.gz 
Filesize  176.95 KB 
Downloaded  144 Time(s) 
hardinfo_report.html.erase.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.erase.gz 
Filesize  79.96 KB 
Downloaded  127 Time(s) 
xenial64-7.5@ZOTAC-BI322-04.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   116.06 KB
 Viewed   506 Time(s)

xenial64-7.5@ZOTAC-BI322-04.jpg

xenial64-7.5@ZOTAC-BI322-03.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   100.57 KB
 Viewed   511 Time(s)

xenial64-7.5@ZOTAC-BI322-03.jpg

xenial64-7.5@ZOTAC-BI322-02.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   70.19 KB
 Viewed   506 Time(s)

xenial64-7.5@ZOTAC-BI322-02.jpg

Xenial64-7.5@ZOTAZ-BI322-01.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   87.22 KB
 Viewed   520 Time(s)

Xenial64-7.5@ZOTAZ-BI322-01.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12734
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2019, 00:44    Post subject:  

Xenialpup 7.5 (32bit) does only see up to 2GB memory.
It is not PAE enabled.
It was made that way for older computer support.

Xenialpup64 7.5 does not limit ram usage because it is 64 bit system.

Do not compare Slacko and how it works with Xenialpup.
They handle things differently.
Also, they use different Linux kernels.
Xenialpup is using newer kernels.

What you are seeing for temp readings in those two programs are just the differences in how those programs display information.
One looks like it is reading the internal computer temp sensor. The other is reading the CPU temp sensors.
I would use Pup-Sysinfo as the one that is more accurate.
Also, CPU temp is always changing up and down as you use the computer. The program displays what it was at a specific time.

Same for different programs showing the RAM.
There are several ways to figure ram amount and rounding off numbers.
The computer is going to show amount in a binary number not a decimal number.
Manufactures always use a decimal number to show ram amount.
Example:
A kilobyte is 1024 bytes. Therefore 1KB.
To the computer it is 1024 x 8 = 8192 binary digits.

Quote:
Some buttons have sometimes unreadable labels (screenshot 3 and 4). But if anti-aliasing is turned on everything seems ok.

They are constantly tweaking and trying to improve the Intel graphics driver.
anti-aliasing turned on is doing what it is designed to do.
What you are using for the font can affect this.

If you are still trying Puppies.
Try Bionicpup64 7.9.8

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2019, 13:48    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
I would use Pup-Sysinfo as the one that is more accurate.


BIOS shows the same temperature for CPU.

bigpup wrote:
One looks like it is reading the internal computer temp sensor.


Temperature in my room is 3 degrees less than the one in the tray, so yep maybe it is temperature of the box.

bigpup wrote:
Anti-aliasing turned on is doing what it is designed to do.


I have small problem with antialiasing and similar filters like blur. When i look too long on the screen my eyes don't feel comfortable.

bigpup wrote:
If you are still trying Puppies.
Try Bionicpup64 7.9.8


I will try. This small PC has USB/SD combo port, so far only USB part working.
Hope that SD part isn't dead and will working with newer kernel or i will have to load some drivers.

So far i'm happy with this small PC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 10:08    Post subject:  

Tested:

BionicPup64 7.9.8

Booted without problem to desktop (modesetting driver).

The good:
I can read SD cards (screenshot 1)

The bad (screenshot 1 and 2):
PupSys doesn't show speed for both cores separate.
HardInfo shows speeds below nominal minimal speed of the cores (1.6GHz.)

I know that there is sensors pet for Bionic, but official iso should have this out of the box (like Puppies above).

Errata: Spectre/Meltdown patches problem?
Checked in Slacko64 6.3.2: HardInfo sometimes shows speeds below 1.6GHz too, so maybe it is only HI error?


PS. Tried Xenial few times more and didn't noticed problem with buttons labels. So i don't know if there is something wrong with Intel driver or maybe i've done something wrong with settings.
PSI-SYS-SUMMARY-190125.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-SYS-SUMMARY-190125.gz 
Filesize  39.05 KB 
Downloaded  138 Time(s) 
PSI-SYS-COMPLETE-190125.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-SYS-COMPLETE-190125.gz 
Filesize  44.77 KB 
Downloaded  131 Time(s) 
PSI-HW-COMPLETE-190125.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-HW-COMPLETE-190125.gz 
Filesize  6.45 KB 
Downloaded  127 Time(s) 
pdiag-20190125.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pdiag-20190125.tar.gz 
Filesize  201.91 KB 
Downloaded  134 Time(s) 
hardinfo_report.html.erase.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.erase.gz 
Filesize  81.45 KB 
Downloaded  116 Time(s) 
Bionic64-7.9.8@ZOTAC-BI322-02.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   69.9 KB
 Viewed   426 Time(s)

Bionic64-7.9.8@ZOTAC-BI322-02.jpg

Bionic64-7.9.8@ZOTAC-BI322-01.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   78.91 KB
 Viewed   432 Time(s)

Bionic64-7.9.8@ZOTAC-BI322-01.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12734
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 15:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
PupSys doesn't show speed for both cores separate.
HardInfo shows speeds below nominal minimal speed of the cores (1.6GHz.)

menu>System>CPU Frequency Scaling Tool.
It is probably set to powersave.
This will adjust speed to lowest speed possible, but it does save power.
If you set it to performance.
The processor will run at max speed all the time.
Read all the help in the CPU Frequency Scaling Tool.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12734
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 15:46    Post subject:  

Quote:
PupSys doesn't show speed for both cores separate.
HardInfo shows speeds below nominal minimal speed of the cores (1.6GHz.)


now you know why both programs are in Puppy.
These programs are not perfect, but hopefully, together, they give you the info you want to see.
There is also Htop for info.

You may have discovered a bug in Bionicpup64 7.9.8 for Pup-Sysinfo.
Part of using Puppy is helping to report bugs when you find them.
Post what you found in the Bionicpup64 7.9.8 topic
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
The developer of Bionicpup64 is still looking for any bugs in it.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 15:54    Post subject:  

Ok, thx. Never used this scaling tool. I thought that processor can't work at lower speed than nominal. But if i remember well i've read that CPU in some circumstances can work at lower speed to be not overheated or burned.

Overall all tested 64 bits puppies working on that cheap ZOTAC very nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan 2019, 17:32    Post subject:  

Some more tests:

I. Movie playing

Have tried to play movie:

Code:
[H264]  1920x1080  24bpp  23.976 fps  8022.3 kbps (979.3 kbyte/s)


from external HDD atached to USBv3 from console:

1) Bionic64 (kernel 4.19.12, modesseting driver for GPU, mpv player)
No errors!

2) Xenial64 (kernel 4.9.58, Intel GPU driver, mpv player) with errors
Code:
engl/x11] Disabling screensaver failed (-1). Make  (+) Audio --aid=1 --alang=eng (*) (aac)
[vo/opengl/x11] Disabling screensaver failed (-1). Make sure the xdg-screensaver script is installed.

Audio/Video desynchronisation detected! Possible reasons include too slow
hardware, temporary CPU spikes, broken drivers, and broken files. Audio
position will not match to the video (see A-V status field).


but overall mpv dropped some frames and A/V were synchronized.

3) Slacko64 (kernel 4.1.11, modesseting driver for GPU, mplayer)

have got some errors that i don't have driver for GPU and my machine is too slow for this movie
i tried to synchronize audio with video using +/- keys, it wasn't perfect but for quick movie previewing isn't bad
I will test Slacko64 6.9.9.9 soon.

The winner is Bionic64! Wink

II. GUI

1) Bionic64 and Slacko64:
no problems at all.

2) Xenial sometimes has problems with buttons labels as mentioned earlier.

I think that this problem can cause CPU Intel performance governor. Xenial boot with this as standard, so my CPU always has clock speeds at level 2.16GHz and sometimes higher (max speed in turbo mode is 2.16GHz).
When speed values changed in scaling tool to min: 480000 and max. 1601000 CPU works always with nominal speed 1.6GHz.
After this problems with labels disappear (or so far didn't notice it, will boot Xenial from time to time to check if problems returned).
The same good effect gives:

Code:
intel_pstate=disable


as kernel parameter in GRUB. After this driver is acpi_cpufreq and governor is on demand and values 480000-1601000 were are already written in scalling tool (is acpi_cpufreq take those numbers from BIOS?).
Both cores works now in range 0.48GHz-1.6GHz.

III. Internet connection Huawei E-160 USB modem
1) Slacko64 no problem (PupDial)
2) Xenial no problem (PupDial)
3) Bionic - no internet ;( (tried all options from Connection Wizard)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3491
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2019, 16:05    Post subject:  

hi puppy_apprentice

see if this helps with your internet.
open /lib/udev/rules.d/40-usb_modeswitch.rules in geany and add
Code:
# Huawei E160
ATTRS{idVendor}=="0158", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1003", RUN+="usb_modeswitch '%b/%k'"


add it just before the end above LABEL="modeswitch_rules_end"

and then reboot

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0938s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]