Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 06:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Get scanning and printing to work with HPLIP (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
Billwho?


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 570
Location: still "In The Dog House" East Coast Oz Trialing 4.20

PostPosted: Fri 10 Nov 2006, 07:46    Post subject:  Get scanning and printing to work with HPLIP (Solved)  

I have been trying to install HPLIP with CUPS since about 1.0.7 (with varying degrees of failure) to get both scanning and printing to work.
I have tried compiling from source, installing RPM packages and Slackware packages as Alien packages along with any dependancies the pupget packages manager identified as missing, and by modifying PAKT's CUPS install script to use HPLIP instead of HPIJS all with no success. Yet I know that at least one person has succeeded. So I am obviously doing something wrong.
Can someone post a step by step of how to go about this correctly here for myself and anyone else having the same problem please.

I am currently testing the Beta of Puppy 2.10 Pro C.E.

_________________
Linux = Learning through doing Shocked Confused Very Happy
The learning curve may be steep but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You just have to pass the occasional oncoming train to get there.

Last edited by Billwho? on Thu 23 Nov 2006, 08:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gn2


Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Posts: 936
Location: virtual - Veni vidi, nihil est adpulerit

PostPosted: Sat 11 Nov 2006, 12:24    Post subject:  

Hmm, no replies yet Confused - maybe this will get ball rolling:

Please supply HP device model
Inform how that device connects to computer (usb/parallel, etc)
How CE is run - live, frugal ......

Include any error Msg's at failure; (probably some variation of "client error not possible")
Which indicates Mis-config/wrong driver.

If hplip used - it must be started before CUPS
If not, edit init.d run level.

If you view /var/log/cups - note the error log file
(that log folder also contains : access log & page log - files

If Req'd... you may edit report verbosity level - ( may not be needed )
Caveat - Please do not paste in full log content - most is redundant.
If wished - set /etc/cups/cups.d,conf to # LogLevel) debug (or) debug2

Ignore repetitive logs > "start-stop" of cups daemon - they only indicate print tasks and queue I.D, numbers
(any still waiting to print)

Aside - once printing enabled - use cups (local host:631) Browser print admin page - to kill any jobs:
If not your printer will spit out until all buffered tasks are completed.
Killing the cups daemon or stopping printer will NOT delete jobs !

Scanner use > will require "sane" for front end
{Search Forum (keyword) sane}
Without having CE - no idea where CUPS/Sane configurations are located.
(Not even familiar to what CLI tools are included in varied PUPPY versions.)

Have you already browsed the HOW-To's here & KLHrevolutionist sources ?
Or searched for any "printer related" posts > some suggest other methods to trouble -shoot/test
BTW Gimp-print may have an alternative print driver.

Please never hesitate to post - any Tmp glitch is Cool a mutual concern here.

Best of Regards ~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billwho?


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 570
Location: still "In The Dog House" East Coast Oz Trialing 4.20

PostPosted: Sun 12 Nov 2006, 02:34    Post subject: Further info  

Hi Gn2
While I am no longer a Linux newbie, I still consider myself to be no more than a novice so may not be able to answer all your questions but will do my best.

I have not tried to install in 2.10 yet, but had been using 2.01 when I made my last attempt to get it all working.
In any case I always boot off a Live CD with the pup_2xx.sfs file and devx_xxx.sfs sitting on the same partition as the pup_save3sf file.

These are the packages that had been installed
1/ Compiled from source
Python 2.4.3
Sip 4.4.5
qt 4.1.4 (the entries for qt 3.x.x in /etc/profile were comented out and qt 4.1.4 added to the PATH statement)
PyQt 4.0.1
2/Installed as Pupget packages
Sane backends 1.0.15
Xsane 0.9.7
3/ Installed as Alien packages after being downloaded as either an RPM or a Slackware tarball and being converted.
cups-devel 1.1.23
python-devel 2.4.3
net-snmp 5.1.2
net-snmp-devel 5.1-2.1
net-snmp-utils 5.1-2.1
net-snmp-libs 5.2.1-2.1
libbeecryot6-3.1.0
tcp-wrappers-7.6-39
libselinux-1.23.11
lm-sensors-2.9.1
rpm-libs-4.3.3-3.0
elfutils-libelf-0.123
krb5-libs-1.4.1
device-mapper-1.02.07
libsepol-1.11.8
openssl-0.9.7a
hplip-0.9.11
net-snmp-5.3
openssl-9.9.7


Printer is an HP PSC 1410 All in one connecting through a USB port.

Cups error messages.
Printing was working using the HP Deskjet 3320 .PPD but when I booted 2.01 to check operation and any error logs etc. I noticed this line on the boot script,

Code:
Starting HPLIP
etc/rc.d/rc.local: line 17: etc/rc,d/rc.hplip : No such file or directory
Starting Cups

Afrer editing etc/rc.d/rc.local to replace the comma with a period and rebooting I was able to set up another printer using the HP PSC 1400 series PPD which had not been in the list before. The test page printed perfectly.


Scanning
This is my main problem.
At the moment despite having Sane, Xsane and hplip all installed when I try to use the scanner I can not get any further than the configuration dialog box asking what type of connection I am using. I answer USB, click OK and another dialog box opens telling me that it is scanning for devices follewed by "No devices available".

I had checked the forum for anything sane related a while back but there was nothing that helped at the time. I just did another search and found a few posibilities. will give them a try shortly.

Note
I have recently re-read the instruction page for the source code I tried to use early on and it appears that HPLIP is incompatable with the Puppy 1xx series as it uses the wrong kernel (2.4.x not 2.6.x or later) of course I could be wrong and it is only that I was trying to use the wrong version of HPLIP.

_________________
Linux = Learning through doing Shocked Confused Very Happy
The learning curve may be steep but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You just have to pass the occasional oncoming train to get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gn2


Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Posts: 936
Location: virtual - Veni vidi, nihil est adpulerit

PostPosted: Sun 12 Nov 2006, 06:36    Post subject:  

So using a different ppd it printed - it is unclear if you used the same printer ?
My impression > it did not
Quote:
set up ANOTHER printer using the HP PSC 1400 series PPD
Unless you meant - re-configured to add new Cups entry ?
You were fortunate any RPM Pkges worked (version matches) Except for HPLIP by looks of it

If Sane (or ANY added-in Pkge) reports wrong kernel version - Yes you have an incompatibility glitch: (It searches for uname reporting version)

If any supplied PUP Pkge doesn't work - you would need to compile own - or wait for a version that has all defaults enabled
If you compiled on own - why not do so for any ?

Variance of kernel - 2.4-xx <> 2.6.xx likely related to hot-plug of USB devices (Devfs <vs> Udev)
Some source code will compile using only headers - many require the full kernel source -
Or it doesn't contain the kernel version header WHICH EXISTS ONLY as a source file (.c) until compiled.

I have attempted "work -around" of some by just copying over from another O/system -
Then the App compile completed.
But other dependencies usually thwarted somewhere down the line.

This is always a problem when using (pre-supplied defaults) compiled binaries
User must wait for developers to ensure all co-exist - or as I prefer ~ take full control and use sources only.

Perhaps the packager might be able to inform which will include correct matches HPLIP -Sane -Kernel
All above is also a common problem when O/System versions keep changing
Then Puppy throw in own curves - user supplied variations !

My conclusion - only ONE way to ensure compatibility
Roll your own - start from whichever base preferred:
Add in Apps/tools only as Req'd.
Never re-install again

IMNSHO The whole point of Linux - take back control
Official Documentation fills in gaps.
Forums are great - but too much unsubstantiated subjective opinions -
Then "group genufluctions to Political-Correctness rears ugly head"

Trouble is - we can never have sufficient time to cover all bases
You seem well on way & just as capable as any to own goals

Best of success - if can try to help in any way - my pleasure :
In that manner we ALL learn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billwho?


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 570
Location: still "In The Dog House" East Coast Oz Trialing 4.20

PostPosted: Thu 23 Nov 2006, 08:13    Post subject: It works  

Gn2 wrote:
So using a different ppd it printed - it is unclear if you used the same printer ?
My impression > it did not
Quote:
set up ANOTHER printer using the HP PSC 1400 series PPD
Unless you meant - re-configured to add new Cups entry ?

Yes, re-configured using the same printer was what I meant:
1 Open http://localhost:631/
2 Click on Manage printers
3 Click on add printer
etc.
I now have 2 entries on the Printers page. 1 using the 3320 PPD. I had originaly configured and 1 using the PSC1400 PPD. Both these PPD's are running the same printer.

Gn2 wrote:
My conclusion - only ONE way to ensure compatibility
Roll your own - start from whichever base preferred:
Add in Apps/tools only as Req'd.
Never re-install again

My preference is to compile my own whenever I can. Unfortunately I am not always successful and I don't have enough experience yet to track down what went wrong most of the time.

I downloaded and installed the latest sane dotpups into 2.10 Pro this week. For a while it looked like another failure untill I located the documentation that was installed at the same time. After I added the line
/usr/local/lib
to /etc/ld.so.conf and entered ldconfig in a console scanning was suddenly possible.

Funny how its the simple things that cause so much hassle.

_________________
Linux = Learning through doing Shocked Confused Very Happy
The learning curve may be steep but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You just have to pass the occasional oncoming train to get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 17:31    Post subject: Getting scanning to work
Subject description: What would change if the scanner were accesed via ethernet?
 

Congrats on getting scanning to work.

I really didn't follow what you did - genuine newbie here - and haven't tried it as yet BECAUSE my scanner is an Ethernet device.

So; is there any chance of getting mine to work?

Some step-by-step assistance would be lovely.

Until then it's back to Windoze for scanning which is a real shame.

Nic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2029
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 18:49    Post subject:  

I could never get the PyQt installed. Though my printer prints fine, I would love the extras from HPLIP.

The hp_toolbox and hp_setup complain about no PyQt.

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billwho?


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 570
Location: still "In The Dog House" East Coast Oz Trialing 4.20

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2007, 05:24    Post subject: Re: Getting scanning to work
Subject description: What would change if the scanner were accesed via ethernet?
 

nic2109 wrote:
Congrats on getting scanning to work.

I really didn't follow what you did - genuine newbie here - and haven't tried it as yet BECAUSE my scanner is an Ethernet device.

So; is there any chance of getting mine to work?

Some step-by-step assistance would be lovely.

Until then it's back to Windoze for scanning which is a real shame.

Nic


I don't know what sort of chance you have of getting scanning to work with SANE and XSANE as they only seem give the option of either a USB or Parallel conection to the scanner.
I suggest that you start a new thread with the title "Can I set up Scanning with an Ethernet connection" or someting similar. With luck one of the Gurus will be able to help you out.
Im not surprised that you are not sure just what I did , It was really a fairly maessy and complicated way of going about things and I get a bit lost myself . If you don't do any good with a new thread send me PM and Ill see what I can do for you here.

trapster wrote:
I could never get the PyQt installed. Though my printer prints fine, I would love the extras from HPLIP.

The hp_toolbox and hp_setup complain about no PyQt.


What versions of HPLIP ,Sip, Qt, PyQt and Python do you have installed. Although I seem to have managed to get PyQt to install I do still have problems accessing the HPLIP extras.
Code:
sh-3.00# /usr/share/hplip/toolbox
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/hplip/toolbox", line 39, in ?
    import base.async_qt as async
  File "/usr/share/hplip/base/async_qt.py", line 81, in ?
    from qt import *
ImportError: No module named qt
sh-3.00#

_________________
Linux = Learning through doing Shocked Confused Very Happy
The learning curve may be steep but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You just have to pass the occasional oncoming train to get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2029
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2007, 19:38    Post subject:  

I take that back!!

I haven't tried this at all since I upgraded to 214 and I just tried the hp-setup. Lo and behold...up popped the gui for the printer setup!!!!!

I will need to play with this before I comment further, but this is the first time I've ever gotten the hplip setup or toolbox to work.

woooohooooo.....off I go!

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billwho?


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 570
Location: still "In The Dog House" East Coast Oz Trialing 4.20

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2007, 02:26    Post subject:  

Good luck trapster and have fun. Me I'm still using 2.10 Pro
_________________
Linux = Learning through doing Shocked Confused Very Happy
The learning curve may be steep but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You just have to pass the occasional oncoming train to get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2029
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2007, 10:10    Post subject:  

Well, the hp device manager starts but it cannot find the printer. The printer is setup in cups and prints fine.

I deleted the printer from cups and tried to start with hp-setup. Still no go.
hp-makeuri does not work either.

I've tried starting and stopping hplip + cups in different combinations with no success. I will just have to live with "just printing" for now.

BTW...the printer is wireless HPC6180. There seems to be plenty of info on a connected printer but I cannot find much about using the printer in wifi.

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pythonweenie

Joined: 15 Nov 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2007, 10:29    Post subject: Scanning on Puppy Linux
Subject description: How to get scanners to work on puppy 3.01
 

The sane_backend-1.0.18.pet package on puppy linux 3.01 is pretty much broken. Symptoms are that sane-find-scanner will see your scanner. but scanimage -L will not. I think maybe that scanimage(1) is miscompiled and cannot work. In addition, the /etc/sane.d directory is missing from the package, but adding it manually does not resolve the trouble.

The solution is to use the sane_backend-1.0.17.pet package, available from
ibiblio ( http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-2/sane_backends-1.0.17.pet ). This package also uses the 1.0.18 sane libraries, which are the latest-and-greatest stable version.

This package has a dependency on gphoto2, also available on
ibiblio ( http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-2/libgphoto-2.1.6.pet ). The sane-find-scanner command will not run without this library.

You will need the gimp or a similar image manipulation tool in order to convert the scanned image from tiff/pnm format, which is what scanimage(1) will output for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1107s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0175s) ][ GZIP on ]