Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Oct 2019, 15:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-800 Alpha / Beta [20 Dec 2018] [CLOSED]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 23 [335 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3071

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 09:33    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
mavrothal wrote:
I guess you can check for the applesmc module

Done.

Can you please check, when you boot 800 on MBP (withoust savefile), did you get /etc/init.d/15-mbpfan enabled? If yes, is the mbpfan running?
I just checked my code again, mbpfan should work already.

Thanks!


You are right. It does work (I forgot that fd's ps has the standard behavior Embarassed )

Regarding modules and drivers, how likely (1-10) is for the kernel to change till 800 final?

Another little thing. Booting a VM for first time from an ISO it still picked the fd64save from an old install at the root of the partition. No major issues (as the savefile was relatively clean) but if this is not recommended you might want to safeguard against it.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
quirkian2new

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 137
Location: on the inter-planet train

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 09:56    Post subject:  

Just downloaded 800alpha, extracted from the iso the 2 files vmlinuz and initrd and over-write those of FD721 on hard drive.

Reboot and now posting from 800alpha. Glad to see that the extrasfs boot option still remains. I've not done any remaster since the introduction of extrasfs. I put my favrouite browsers (palemoon and min browser) and their config files in an sfs on hard drive and 800alpha loads it naturally.

will test other apps this week end.

Thank you guys for your endless and valuable efforts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1737

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 10:24    Post subject:  

Acodin wrote:
SFR wrote:
Does it hang if you boot FD directly from CD/USB instead of sda1?
What bootloader are you using and have you tried a different one?


No matter that is cd, usb or sda - happens the same thing. I'm using syslinux bootloader from fatdog installer.

Thank you for your interest in my problem in this vortex of excitement.

I would like to add that the problem occurs on the Internet, but I still don't know how to fix that.

Hmm, you could append loglevel=7 to your bootloader line, so if the kernel starts at all, we could at least see at which point it hangs.
I mean the 4G RAM scenario, where it hangs at boot.

Btw, are you adding RAM to an existing 2G module or replacing it with a single 4G module?
If the former, perhaps the modules are incompatibile with each other in some way..?

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Acodin

Joined: 15 Nov 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 10:36    Post subject:  

i'm adding 2gb to 2gb.

@edit: attachment

@edit2:
SFR wrote:

If the former, perhaps the modules are incompatibile with each other in some way..?


I will chech that, but i now have only two 2gb dices. And yes this is possible, because i mix hynix with kingston in both cases (3gb and 4gb). After all, please check my bug report.

Please note that this problem is not new on the internet.
bugreport.tar.xz.zip
Description  loglevel=7
zip

 Download 
Filename  bugreport.tar.xz.zip 
Filesize  75.72 KB 
Downloaded  281 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3367
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:10    Post subject:  

Acodin,

Please try adding this to the boot command line:

video=SVIDEO-1:d

And please report back.

EDIT:

@SFR: Ref: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=93782. Scroll to the bottom. The fix was posted on 12/13 November (depending on your timezone). That's less than a week ago (https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/series/52378/).

Acodin has this: VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller. The same VGA adapter which is problematic.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.

Last edited by jamesbond on Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Acodin

Joined: 15 Nov 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:11    Post subject:  

@up:

with 'loglevel=7' ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3367
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:18    Post subject:  

Acodin wrote:
@up:

with 'loglevel=7' ?


Yes. As I've just added, this seems to be a long running bug that was "worked-around-but-never-really-fixed" from kernel 4.4.x onwards. The proposed fix for the current mainline dates is less than a week's old; so expect the problem to continue for a while longer, unfortunately.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1546
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
First, I tried to boot it on the 4gb ram, then I took out one ram dice and run bugreport.sh


Looks like the kernel is crashing. It happens after the intel graphics module i915 is loaded. Your bug report is from 721. If the same thing is happening in 800, that's pretty bad since 721 and 800 have different kernels, drivers, xorg, etc. Try booting with this on the kernel line:

loglevel=7 savefile=none nomodeset blacklist=i915

Hopefully that will get you to a desktop.

Quote:
Is anyone else having problems with Seamonkey in Fatdog-800 and activating or even downloading "ADD-ONs"?


Just to expand on what has already been posted. This will be fixed in the next release. You can install libicu-full using Gslapt, or unzip the attached file and place it in /usr/share/icu/62.1/icudt62l/

Quote:
Was this edition of Seamonky compiled by the Fatdog-Team? The reason I ask is that there are "Add-Ons" already included with the Seamonkey that I did not put there and/or download.


Yes, also note that Seamonkey's user agent string is no longer recognized by Google and probably others. This causes web pages to displayed incorrectly and is a problem in 721 now too. That's the reason for the inclusion of "User Agent Switcher".

Quote:
Regarding modules and drivers, how likely (1-10) is for the kernel to change till 800 final?


There's 100% chance the kernel will be upgraded before final, probably whatever the latest 4.19.x is at the time.
likelySubtags.res.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  likelySubtags.res.gz 
Filesize  19.72 KB 
Downloaded  290 Time(s) 

Last edited by kirk on Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Acodin

Joined: 15 Nov 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:32    Post subject:  

I'm sorry but I'm in a hurry for the train and I will read it and answer in a few hours Mad

I'm angry because I really want to fix it. Sorry again.

@edit:
kirk wrote:

Looks like the kernel is crashing. It happens after the intel graphics module i915 is loaded. Your bug report is from 721. If the same thing is happening in 800, that's pretty bad since 721 and 800 have different kernels, drivers, xorg, etc. Try booting with this on the kernel line:


Read everything please. I wrote that the problem occurs on different kernels and both versions.

Quote:
loglevel=7 savefile=none nomodeset blacklist=i915


doesn't help
bugreport.tar.xz.zip
Description  loglevel=7 video=SVIDEO-1:d
zip

 Download 
Filename  bugreport.tar.xz.zip 
Filesize  73.31 KB 
Downloaded  277 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1546
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
Read everything please. I wrote that the problem occurs on different kernels and both versions.


Yes I understood that, I was trying to say that it's not a good sign that it's happening with different kernels since it seems to be a kernel bug.

I didn't see Jame's post about video=SVIDEO-1:d until after my previous post. I just looked at your last bug report, video=SVIDEO-1:d seems to have fixed the kernel crash. Is the problem the same?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Acodin

Joined: 15 Nov 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:51    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
I didn't see Jame's post about video=SVIDEO-1:d until after my previous post. I just looked at your last bug report, video=SVIDEO-1:d seems to have fixed the kernel crash. Is the problem the same?


Same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1737

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:54    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
Hmm, you could append loglevel=7 to your bootloader line, so if the kernel starts at all, we could at least see at which point it hangs.
I mean the 4G RAM scenario, where it hangs at boot.

Acodin wrote:
@edit: attachment

Did you boot with 4G of RAM? And it worked this time, so you could use 'bugreport' tool?
As I understood, it produces hang at boot?

jamesbond wrote:
@SFR: Ref: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=93782. Scroll to the bottom. The fix was posted on 12/13 November (depending on your timezone). That's less than a week ago (https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/series/52378/).

Acodin has this: VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller. The same VGA adapter which is problematic.


At last! Rolling Eyes
I don't have access to that old HP laptop with Intel graphics anymore, so won't be able to test it anyway...

However, Acodin's issue seems to have something to do with RAM - booting sequence hangs at "Booting the kernel" line, but only with 3/4G of RAM (mixed modules).
In my case (HP) it was black screen for ~1 minute right before reaching the desktop, so much more later.
Well, it should at least improve Acodin's boot time with the default 2G of RAM, though. Wink

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1546
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 12:06    Post subject:  

Quote:
The fix was posted on 12/13 November (depending on your timezone). That's less than a week ago (https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/series/52378/).


Unfortunately the patch doesn't apply to 4.19.1, must be for 4.20rc or linux-next. Maybe they'll back port it since 4.19.x is a long term kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1214

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 15:44    Post subject:  

@Sage no need to set up wifi from Control Panel. You can click the wpa_gui icon in the tray and set up wifi and wired from there.

@Belham2 With the DevX loaded, I was able to install the followin add-ons to my set up: Download Status Bar, Duplicate This Tab, ErrorZill Plus [converted], Mozilla Archive Format, PrefBar, Private Tab, SQLite Manager, True Full Screen in SeaMonkey, uBlock Origin. And I keep Lightning and Provider for Google Calendar disabled. Installing add-ons for SeaMonkey takes some extra work, because some add-ons no longer work, and some need to be converted (there is a converter tool page somewhere at SeaMonkey's home).

There is another built-in screenshot taker, give it a try. Just press the Print key to take a whole screen. Find the screenshot in your home folder (/root). If you run it in a terminal window you can see all options:
Code:

Usage: xscreenshot [-k hotkey] [-p path] [-n index]
Copyright (C) James Budiono, 2014. License: GPL version 3.0 or later

 -h      : this text
 -k key  : multiple shots mode, use 'key' as hotkey (default none)
 -p path : path/filename for screenshot (default is $HOME/xscreenshot)
 -d delay: the delay (in seconds) for fullscreen screenshot (default 5)

If you don't use -k, the program will take one screenshot and exit.
If you do: press hotkey to enter screenshot taking mode, take as many
  screenshots, and press hotkey to return back to normal mode.
  Press Ctrl-Shift-hotkey to terminate program


It shows some more info when you actually assign a shortcut key:
Code:

# xscreenshot -k z
--- Mouse usage ---
Left-click  - press to start, move to select, release to take shot
Right-click - cancel current selection, (in single-shot: once more to exit.)
--- Multiple shots mode enabled ---
z            - to toggle screenshot taking mode
Shift-z      - fullscreen delayed screenshot with mouse
Ctrl-z       - fullscreen delayed screenshot without mouse
Ctrl-Shift-z - exit


@mavrothal Thanks for the "beta" compliment. Smile

@LateAdopter I run Vivaldi 2.1 too. I like it, but on Fatdog it's noticeably slower than SeaMonkey and opera(-developer). I think you need to install the ffmpeg extra library to get H.264 support (it's the same for all chromium-based browsers). The library isn't available in the Fatdog64 repo, but you can visit Vivaldi forums (or google) and look for the latest-proprietary-media.sh script, which downloads the library from the Ubuntu repos.

@Fatdog Team
I've seen this fix "video=SVIDEO-1:d" at work for Fatdog-721 (not 800, sorry). Without the fix the PC proceeds to the desktop but it takes a couple of minutes to do so, because of several 10 second waits in the kernel. With the fix the PC boots at normal speed.

_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1418
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 17:25    Post subject:  

So I booted with standard initrd after 5 or so minutes, but otherwise no real issues that I came across.

Then I booted with initrd-nano. No save file, but gets to a login prompt for bulldog linux as pictured...
bulldog.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   91.31 KB
 Viewed   627 Time(s)

bulldog.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 23 [335 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0810s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0164s) ][ GZIP on ]