Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 18 Nov 2018, 08:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 7.9.6 CE beta
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 21 of 23 [338 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
Revolverve

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 154
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 11:30    Post subject:  

phil,666,d,hi,
restarting x, start ppm=
gtkdialog: ../../src/xcb_io.c:165: dequeue_pending_request: Assertion `!xcb_xlib_unknown_req_in_deq' failed.
/usr/local/petget/pkg_chooser.sh: line 743: 32008 Aborted gtkdialog -p PPM_GUI
geany: Warning: ignoring null tag in /initrd/mnt/tmpfs/tmp/gtkdialog-splash_gtkrc
----nothing serious,killing /tmp/yaf-splash..bla..bla. and next call to ppm get the gui,until next X restart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1851
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 12:09    Post subject:  

I've set up 7.9.6 to run as my daily driver for a while to test

I was running google_chrome-57.0.2987.98-amd64-tahr.sfs on my xenialpup64-7.5 but on bionic this had artefacts within the text, moving to Google_Chrome-60.0.3112.101-amd64-tahr.sfs solved the issue (due to heavy download/uplosds to the archive the spot system gets in the way)

I have just discovered that the UP arrow launches print-screen, awkward in terminal! ** edit ** GB map

Smile

edit: I've installed on a second laptop and the UP arrow print screen launch is not happening, will do a fresh savefile and see if it still happens

Last edited by ally on Sat 10 Nov 2018, 04:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 12:36    Post subject:  

@rerwin

Richard,

I sent below details yesterday as a PM, but just noticed it stuck in outbox:

I am unable to get Bionicpup64 to auto connect using the provided rc.network script.

To test I changed from frisbee back to SNS as default. I changed to revised script and rebooted. It did not auto connect, so I manually connected from SNS > Intefaces. Attempting to connect from the Saved Profile list just hangs with "Please wait..." message on the screen. I did this several times, as well as deleting profiles and retrying. On the retries, I did not get confirmation of setting up SNS as default. I switched back to the original script and set up wifi again and rebooted twice to check auto connect. On both of these boots it took about 1:15 on the stop watch from desktop launch. I then swapped in the revised script again and once again failed to auto connect. Attempts to set up connection using the revised script does not give cofiirmation of setup.

So it appears that the password is not being saved when using the revisedscript. Line from bootsysinit.log:

/usr/sbin/network_default_connect: line 74: /usr/local/simple_network_setup/rc.network: Permission denied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3534
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 03:26    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Maybe Peebee and/or Phil will see our posts here (and what I've found, that the Realtek RTS-versions worked in Xenial & LxpupSC64-18.04 versions, but the latest stuff of Bionic & Lpupsc64-18.06 killed them off.

Looks to me like a kernel config change has occurred from k16....see:
https://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/MISC_RTSX_PCI.html

CONFIG_MISC_RTSX_PCI=m
is now maybe needed in kernel config??
Would be good if somebody could confirm - please.

Even if this is what is needed, old kernels are unlikely to be rebuilt with this config - but new kernels could be.

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 394
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 04:11    Post subject:  

I've made a 4.14.79 64bit ubuntu derivative kernel: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1009517#1009517
@peebee - I have CONFIG_MFD_RTSX_PCI=m in mine, but not MISC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3534
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 04:58    Post subject:  

ozsouth wrote:
I've made a 4.14.79 64bit ubuntu derivative kernel: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1009517#1009517
@peebee - I have CONFIG_MFD_RTSX_PCI=m in mine, but not MISC.

Yes - thats the old config up to k15:
https://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/MFD_RTSX_PCI.html

I think??

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3534
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 05:48    Post subject:  

As often Fatdog/JamesBond has the answer.....

Fatdog Kernel 19.1 is correctly configured and has the rtsx modules:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/kernels/800/

The config is attached (remove -false.gz)
fd-config-false.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  fd-config-false.gz 
Filesize  177.28 KB 
Downloaded  16 Time(s) 

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1586

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 05:51    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
As often Fatdog/JamesBond has the answer.....

Fatdog Kernel 19.1 is correctly configured and has the rtsx modules:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/kernels/800/

The config is attached (remove -false.gz)



Thanks, Peebee! It never even occurred to me to look in Fatdog.

Will give this a go and see what happens.........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3605
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 13:37    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.6 CE beta  

This install was done a few days ago, have since updated the kernel:

System: Host: puppypc29722 Kernel: 4.14.79-x86_64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7
Distro: bionicpup64 7.9.6
Machine: Device: desktop Mobo: Acer model: Aspire X3950 serial: U02C120500059
BIOS: American Megatrends v: P01-A3 date: 05/05/2010
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3 540 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1628/3067 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.19.6 driver: intel tty size: 172x28 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 532.2GB (2.3% used)
Weather: Conditions: 36 F (2 C) - light showers rain mist Time: November 9, 12:08 PM EST
Info: Processes: 115 Uptime: 41 min Memory: 153.9/5896.3MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

This is installed to and boots from a sdhc card.

The hard drive has Manjaro installed with the newest kernel 4.19.1, Manjaro
can't run Nexuiz 242 but bionicpup64 7.9.6 can Smile
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   70.83 KB
 Viewed   330 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1908
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 17:41    Post subject: Re: Investigation of slow network connection at boot-up  

Terry H,
Thank you for sending me the bootsysinit log. I see that your network ID is seventh in a list of 34. There seems to be a lot of unnecessary processing going on just to find the connection information for your network (ESS) ID.

I have updated the trace version of rc.network to include what could be a fix to find the ID more quickly:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1009363#1009363

Please try it and send me the resultant bootsysinit.log file, again.

And anyone else in an area of an extreme number of available wifi networks, please try the newer rc.network.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 19:07    Post subject: Re: Investigation of slow network connection at boot-up  

rerwin wrote:
Terry H,
Thank you for sending me the bootsysinit log. I see that your network ID is seventh in a list of 34. There seems to be a lot of unnecessary processing going on just to find the connection information for your network (ESS) ID.

I have updated the trace version of rc.network to include what could be a fix to find the ID more quickly:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1009363#1009363

Please try it and send me the resultant bootsysinit.log file, again.

And anyone else in an area of an extreme number of available wifi networks, please try the newer rc.network.
Richard


I live in a condominium building, there are lots of wifi networks here. Will be testing shortly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 771
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 21:47    Post subject: Re: Investigation of slow network connection at boot-up  

rerwin (in part) wrote:
To set up a test run, copy the rc.network.gz file into /usr/local/simple_network_setup/, rename the original rc.network to something else (like rc.network.bak), then click on rc.network.gz to unzip it. Give the resultant rc.network file execute permissions, if it does not already have them.

The test is to now reboot to the same pupsave, note how long it takes to connect, then save a copy of /tmp/bootsysinit.log somewhere. Please post or PM me that bootsysinit.log as an gzipped attachment.
Richard, I downloaded the rc.network which says
Quote:
EDIT 11/9/18: Added potential fix for slow connection where the desired wifi network is later in the list of available networksFor tracing SNS boot-up.
Includes experimental fix for slow connection at boot-up with
many available wifi networks.
even though I had no problem with the one that was there already,
Code:
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 17710 Oct 23 12:27 orig-rc.network
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 18326 Nov  9 20:28 rc.network
Oh, this is in Bionicpup64 7.9.6

I rebooted; it worked fine, and I've PMed the bootsysinit.log.gz

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 771
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2018, 10:32    Post subject: Re: Bionicpup64 7.9.6 CE beta
Subject description: oops, my mistake
 

Help, please. The up-arrow key on this Dell E6410 laptop starts mtpaint, rather than the expected actions: eg, command history in terminal, go up a line in text editng, .. Thanks for any help.
---------------
EDIT: Apologies. As has happened many times, I guess I saved something that caused the problem.

I "solved" it by starting over, made a new save folder. Don't know what was wrong with the previous one.
Quote:
Linux puppypc5281 4.14.79-u64oz #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Nov 9 16:39:26 AEDT 2018 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE

Last edited by sheldonisaac on Sat 10 Nov 2018, 14:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 154
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2018, 13:23    Post subject:  

sheldonisaac

Thought up-arrow key starts mtpain problem was solved,
look at jwm-hotkeys keyboard shortcut ;exe:defaultscreenshot ...says print command here on .6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 771
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2018, 14:26    Post subject:  

Revolverve wrote:
sheldonisaac

Thought up-arrow key starts mtpain problem was solved,
look at jwm-hotkeys keyboard shortcut ;exe:defaultscreenshot ...says print command here on .6

Thank you. See my edited post, above.

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 21 of 23 [338 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1308s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0470s) ][ GZIP on ]