Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 13 Nov 2018, 18:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Dpup Stretch 7.5 CE (RC-3)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 27 of 29 [424 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
WiZard

Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 100
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2018, 13:45    Post subject: remaster problems
Subject description: remaster save files not loading
 

I have customized rc3 with wallpapers, documents, themes, directories, symlinks, programs and changed the wm to openbox/fbpanel.

This is the procedure I've used with other puppies

Remaster as follows:
-run standard remaster from menu
-at /tmp/root message (this section insures all my changes are included)
delete the contents of /tmp/root
copy contents of /root to tmp/root

-at /etc message (this section insures openbox/fbpael is used)
copy /etc/windowmanager to tmp/etc

The remaster boots fine with the changes, but when you right click the desktop it generates a "root-menu" not found message.

This was fixed as follows:
-at /etc message
copy /etc/xdg/menus to /tmp/etc/xdg/menus
copy /etc/xdg/openbox to /tmp/etc/xdg/openbox

Also found that a save file created by the remastered puppy does not load on reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2609
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2018, 16:24    Post subject: virtualbox on stretch 32bit  

How do I get Virtualbox working?

I'd really like to make VirtualBox work in RC3...

I am assuming the repo packages don't work, cos I couldn't make them work, and Puppy runs a different kernel than Debian...

(Currently I am running RC1 (IIRC) ... But I booted RC3 today, with devx and kernel sources SFS loaded..)

In RC3, I downloaded the i386 virtualbox .deb package from the homepage (about 63mb), and installed it..

I ran it, and it said I should run `vboxsetup` (or something), to build the kernel modules..

So I did ... but it couldn't build the kernel modules... It said the Linux headers files were not present...

I don't actually know what I am doing, so any guidance would be appreciated!

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 834

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 15:56    Post subject: Re: remaster problems
Subject description: remaster save files not loading
 

WiZard wrote:
I have customized rc3 with wallpapers, documents, themes, directories, symlinks, programs and changed the wm to openbox/fbpanel.

This is the procedure I've used with other puppies

Remaster as follows:
-run standard remaster from menu
-at /tmp/root message (this section insures all my changes are included)
delete the contents of /tmp/root
copy contents of /root to tmp/root

-at /etc message (this section insures openbox/fbpael is used)
copy /etc/windowmanager to tmp/etc

The remaster boots fine with the changes, but when you right click the desktop it generates a "root-menu" not found message.

This was fixed as follows:
-at /etc message
copy /etc/xdg/menus to /tmp/etc/xdg/menus
copy /etc/xdg/openbox to /tmp/etc/xdg/openbox

Also found that a save file created by the remastered puppy does not load on reboot.

Hi WiZard,

Thanks for testing rc3.

Today I remastered rc4 which is the upcoming release that includes multiple additional Woof-CE fixes to Puppy infrastructure.

Before the remaster, I followed your approach and switched to fbpanel/openbox.

Then during the remaster, at /etc message, I copied
1 - /etc/xdg/menus to /tmp/etc/xdg/menus
2 - /etc/xdg/openbox to /tmp/etc/xdg/openbox

After the remaster and subsequent manual frugal installation of the corresponding puppy_stretch_7.5.sfs, I booted the remastered rc4 without difficulty.

After making cosmetic changes to the desktop I created a non-encrypted savefile and rebooted. The savefile loaded correctly and all is well.

So, while testing the upcoming Dpup Stretch rc4, the /usr/sbin/remasterpup2 script is working OK for me.

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 834

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 16:00    Post subject: Re: virtualbox on stretch 32bit  

sc0ttman wrote:
How do I get Virtualbox working?

I'd really like to make VirtualBox work in RC3...

I am assuming the repo packages don't work, cos I couldn't make them work, and Puppy runs a different kernel than Debian...

(Currently I am running RC1 (IIRC) ... But I booted RC3 today, with devx and kernel sources SFS loaded..)

In RC3, I downloaded the i386 virtualbox .deb package from the homepage (about 63mb), and installed it..

I ran it, and it said I should run `vboxsetup` (or something), to build the kernel modules..

So I did ... but it couldn't build the kernel modules... It said the Linux headers files were not present...

I don't actually know what I am doing, so any guidance would be appreciated!

Hi sc0ttman,

I have no experience with virtualbox, but after installing the i386 virtualbox .deb package you could try the following in a terminal to build the VirtualBox kernel modules.

Code:
/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup


For me, the above code returns the following:

vboxdrv.sh: Stopping VirtualBox services.
vboxdrv.sh: Starting VirtualBox services.
vboxdrv.sh: Building VirtualBox kernel modules.

At this point, the following kernel modules are created and loaded (go to Menu -> System -> Pup-Kview to view the loaded modules):

vboxdrv - Oracle VM VirtualBox Support Driver
vboxnetadp - Oracle VM VirtualBox Network Adapter Driver
vboxnetflt - Oracle VM VirtualBox Network Filter Driver
vboxpci - Oracle VM VirtualBox PCI access Driver

Also, you may have to add something like the following line to /etc/group:

vboxusers:x:1001:

---

Now, when I run VirtualBox in a terminal, I see the following:

Code:
VirtualBox: supR3HardenedMainGetTrustedMain: dlopen("/usr/lib/virtualbox/VirtualBox.so",) failed: libQt5X11Extras.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


So, it seems VirtualBox requires Qt5.

At this point, you can go to ROX-Filer and right-click /usr/lib/virtualbox, then select ListDD to show the missing Qt5 libs (see screenshot below).

Hopefully, the above will be helpful as you add the requisite libraries for VirtualBox.
VirtualBox_missing_libs.png
 Description   
 Filesize   77.38 KB
 Viewed   703 Time(s)

VirtualBox_missing_libs.png


_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
norgo


Joined: 13 Nov 2015
Posts: 285
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2018, 18:22    Post subject: Re: virtualbox on stretch 32bit  

radky wrote:
...it seems VirtualBox requires Qt5.

yes, qt5 is needed to run virtualbox ( but should be already included by default )
please note: built-in qt5 libs are not located in default search path

you should find them under /opt/VirtualBox/
( in case of default installation without user specific prefix )

update:

@sc0ttman
Hi scotty, I created a kernel-module-package K 4.9.101-PAE for usage of virtualbox-5.1.10-112026
please install the kmp before you load the virtualbox SFS. So Virtualbox detect the kernelmodules automatically.

@radky
I'm really very impressed of your Dpup Stretch 7.5 CE ( very good job)

A little note:
the name of the folder for kernel modules is not a good choice.
why ?
as example the kmp for virtualbox
where should I put the modules ?
other distributions with the same kernel version most probably doesn't own a 4.9.101-stretch folder
simply the kernel version would be better in my opinion

Nevertheless very good distro
lib_modules.jpg
 Description   modules folder
 Filesize   21.67 KB
 Viewed   605 Time(s)

lib_modules.jpg

virtualbox-5.1.10-112026-kmp-k4.9.101-pae-i686.pet.tar
Description  kernel modules package
please remove tar fake extension
tar

 Download 
Filename  virtualbox-5.1.10-112026-kmp-k4.9.101-pae-i686.pet.tar 
Filesize  141.4 KB 
Downloaded  27 Time(s) 

Last edited by norgo on Fri 19 Oct 2018, 18:18; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WiZard

Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 100
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Oct 2018, 17:34    Post subject: Remastering  

@radky

Thanks for the confirmation on remastering, I use a small script file to make all my adjustments. I'll test it again on rc4 and if it runs correctly I'll upload it with some instructions for anyone whose interested.

wiz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1268

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 14:12    Post subject:  

I noticed that the package manager says that util-linux is installed but it's not.

I wanted it for the lscpu command. Fortunately, it lets me install it even though it said it was installed.

I'm not sure whether the package manager saying that it was installed was intentional or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 834

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 15:43    Post subject:  

Quote:
s243a wrote:
I noticed that the package manager says that util-linux is installed but it's not.

Hi s243a,

While checking a pristine installation of Dpup Stretch 7.5 RC4 (not yet released), I see the util-linux package (/root/.packages/woof-installed-packages/util-linux_2.29.2-1+deb9u1) and associated lscpu binary (/usr/bin/lscpu) are already installed. I'm not sure why the /usr/bin/lscpu binary is missing in your installation of RC3

---

Quote:
norgo wrote:
the name of the folder for kernel modules (such as /lib/modules/4.9.101-stretch) is not a good choice.

Hi norgo,

To simplify kernel nomenclature for 3rd-party pets such as VirtualBox, I could provide a basename link to the stretch kernel (see image below).
image-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   16.88 KB
 Viewed   481 Time(s)

image-1.png


_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
norgo


Joined: 13 Nov 2015
Posts: 285
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2018, 14:05    Post subject:  

radky wrote:
I could provide a basename link to the stretch kernel (see image below).
good idea, thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1037
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2018, 16:57    Post subject:  

Hi,

Anyone know where to get the kernel headers for kernel 4.1.48?
Thanks!

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1679
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2018, 01:06    Post subject:  

perdido wrote:

Anyone know where to get the kernel headers for kernel 4.1.48?


http://smokey01.com/radky/Woof/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1037
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2018, 08:01    Post subject:  

watchdog wrote:
perdido wrote:

Anyone know where to get the kernel headers for kernel 4.1.48?


http://smokey01.com/radky/Woof/


Hi watchdog

Got all those but can't find the headers is any of them???

Edit: ended not needing the kernel headers to compile a wifi driver.
I still don't see them in either the devx, kernel sources or the fdrv sfs files.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1679
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2018, 11:00    Post subject:  

I do not know much about this technical question. In puppy the kernel sources sfs is all I have ever used to compile drivers: I suppose it is intended to contain the headers of the kernel and all you need to compile drivers. I never installed headers of the kernel standing alone. Any puppy comes only with the base iso, the devx sfs to compile and the kernel sources sfs to compile drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2609
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2018, 15:42    Post subject:  

Was just testing my Stretch 7.5 dotfiles in RC3...

The following package should probably be installed by default:

ncurses-term_6.0+20161126-1+deb9u2

Without it, when I set $TERM to a 256 color setting, like xterm-256color (or mlterm-256color in my case),
then it causes errors... Typing 'clear' and hitting enter might bring up the error msg...

Without being able to set a term to 256 colours, editors like Vim and Micro dont work as expected, and code
highlighting by programs like ranger, Pygments, bat (and others) dont work..


...Long story short, I installed ncurses-term_6.0, then set TERM=mlterm-256color ..
And now my terminal programs work OK again...

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 922
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2018, 18:54    Post subject:  

perdido

In the kernel source sfs, the headers are in :

/usr/src/linux/include/
/usr/src/linux/usr/include/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 29 [424 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2687s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0834s) ][ GZIP on ]