Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 15 Dec 2018, 07:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
SFS Load on the Fly - I have to load my sfs on every boot
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
tenochslb

Joined: 10 Jul 2010
Posts: 74
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2018, 22:55    Post subject:  SFS Load on the Fly - I have to load my sfs on every boot
Subject description: Puppy Tahr 6.0.6 64bit
 

Something is not working right with SFS Load on the Fly. Since a few days back, I need to load all my SFSes every time I turn on the computer. Before that, puppy would remember the sfses loaded on the system, so:

1. I turn on the computer
2. There are no sfs files loaded
3. I load my sfs files
4. turn off the computer
5. turn on the computer
6. There are no sfs loaded
7. Go to 1 (infinite loop)

Hopefully you can help me figure out what is wrong.

Code:

▶—— /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE ——◀

 • PUPMODE=12
 • PDEV1='sda4'
 • DEV1FS='ext3'
 • PUPSFS='sda4,ext3,/tarh64/puppy_tahr64_6.0.6.sfs'
 • PUPSAVE='sda4,ext3,/tarh64/tahr64save-version1.0'
 • PMEDIA='scsihd'

ATADRIVES is all internal ide/pata/sata drives, excluding optical, excluding usb...
 • ATADRIVES='sda '

ATAOPTICALDRIVES is list of non-usb optical drives...
 • ATAOPTICALDRIVES='sr0 '

These directories are unionfs/aufs layers in /initrd...
 • SAVE_LAYER='/pup_rw'
 • PUP_LAYER='/pup_ro2'

The partition that has the tahr64save file is mounted here...
 • PUP_HOME='/mnt/dev_save'
(in /initrd) ...note, /mnt/home is a link to it.

This file has extra kernel drivers and firmware...
 • ZDRV='sda4,ext3,/tarh64/zdrv_tahr64_6.0.6.sfs'
 • FDRV=''
 • ADRV=''
 • YDRV=''

Partition no. override on boot drive to which session is (or will be) saved...
 • PSAVEMARK=''
 • PSAVEPART=''
 • PSAVEDIR=''
 • PSUBDIR='/tarh64'

▶—— Common Pupmodes ——◀

PUPMODE 02 : full install
PUPMODE 03 : full install, flash drive
PUPMODE 05 : first boot [or pfix=ram]
PUPMODE 06 : pup_save is a partition
PUPMODE 07 : ditto, but flash drive
PUPMODE 12 : normal running puppy
PUPMODE 13 : ditto, but flash drive
PUPMODE 77 : multisession cd/dvd [13+64]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 00:13    Post subject:  

Try to load the extra sfs's via the Boot Manager under System in the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1102
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 09:24    Post subject:  

Is the save file working at all? Create a dummy test file somewhere and reboot to test that. Also, with sda4 unmounted (USB, CD or ram boot), run e2fsck on /dev/sda4. The fact that it was working, then stopped, might point to a problem with sda4...
_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy LxPupSc and X-slacko-4.4 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupSc64, LxPupBionic, upupbb and upupcc for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TenochSLB2

Joined: 12 Oct 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 20:54    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
Try to load the extra sfs's via the Boot Manager under System in the menu.


No change, I continue to have to load the sfs files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TenochSLB2

Joined: 12 Oct 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 21:03    Post subject:  

Marv wrote:
Is the save file working at all? Create a dummy test file somewhere and reboot to test that. Also, with sda4 unmounted (USB, CD or ram boot), run e2fsck on /dev/sda4. The fact that it was working, then stopped, might point to a problem with sda4...


The dummy test file works fine, in other words, I do not have to load my sfs files on every time I need to start puppy when using the new savefolder.

e2fsck returns no errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11389
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 00:21    Post subject:  

Now we need to figure out what is wrong or missing in the old save.

Boot not using the old save.
In Rox file manager.
Navigate to the old save and left click on it to show what is in it.
Navigate to the /etc/rc.d directory in the old save.
Should be two files in it that should have info on sfs loading.
BOOTCONFIG
BOOTCONFIG.save

This is examples of info that should be in these files:
(this is a Xenialpup64save for example)
In BOOTCONFIG:
Notice the XTRASFSLIST= entry.

BOOTCONFIG
Quote:
XTRASFSLIST='kodi-17.6-x86_64.sfs devx_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs 32bit_compatibility_libs_xenial64.sfs SlimJet-16.0.8.0-amd64-tahr.sfs'
PREVUNIONRECORD='xenialpup64save-1 puppy_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs zdrv_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs'
LASTUNIONRECORD='xenialpup64save-1 puppy_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs zdrv_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs'


BOOTCONFIG.save
Quote:
PREVEXTRASFSLIST='devx_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs kernel_sources-4.9.58-xenialpup64.sfs 32bit_compatibility_libs_xenial64.sfs LibreOffice-5.4.2_en-US_xz.sfs'


Notice they have info about the sfs's to load.
If there is no info these files are bad in the old save.
(BOOTCONFIG.save may not have anything listed unless you made a change to what gets loaded. It is a save of the old listing)


Try replacing them with the good ones in the new save.

The question is still there. Why in the old save, these files are not getting updated and saved with the changes.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 00:37    Post subject:  

Place your extra sfs files in the same directory as the puppy files if not. BTW - if you still can't get it right and have to load it during the session, try the following command which will load it automatically during bootup:
sfs_load -c -q FullPathOfSfsFile eg: /mnt/home/tahr64/Wine.sfs
You can add the above command to the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file. You can add the path and names of all those sfs's you want to load next to each other in the same command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 776
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 02:22    Post subject:  

nic007 (in part) wrote:

sfs_load -c -q FullPathOfSfsFile eg: /mnt/home/tahr64/Wine.sfs
You can add the above command to the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file. You can add the path and names of all those sfs's you want to load next to each other in the same command.
Thank you, nicoo7! How did you find out that command?

And, if loading more than one, how to say it? Separate with spaces, or commas, ..?

And thanks to bigpup re the files to check.


Thanks a lot,
Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 02:41    Post subject:  

sheldonisaac wrote:
nic007 (in part) wrote:

sfs_load -c -q FullPathOfSfsFile eg: /mnt/home/tahr64/Wine.sfs
You can add the above command to the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file. You can add the path and names of all those sfs's you want to load next to each other in the same command.
Thank you, nicoo7! How did you find out that command?

And, if loading more than one, how to say it? Separate with spaces, or commas, ..?

And thanks to bigpup re the files to check.


Thanks a lot,
Sheldon

Been doing it for a long time because I don't use a savefile/savefolder. Just a space between (best to use the full path of every file). If that doesn't quite work as it should you can use the command for every sfs file seperately, every command on a next line. If I'm not mistaken wildcards also work (haven't tried it for a long time so no guarantee), in other words if you want to load all sfs files in a directory:
sfs_load -c -q /mnt/home/tahr64/*.sfs
To unload, add -u as an option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TenochSLB2

Joined: 12 Oct 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 12:55    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Now we need to figure out what is wrong or missing in the old save.

Boot not using the old save.
In Rox file manager.
Navigate to the old save and left click on it to show what is in it.
Navigate to the /etc/rc.d directory in the old save.
Should be two files in it that should have info on sfs loading.
BOOTCONFIG
BOOTCONFIG.save

This is examples of info that should be in these files:
(this is a Xenialpup64save for example)
In BOOTCONFIG:
Notice the XTRASFSLIST= entry.

BOOTCONFIG
Quote:
XTRASFSLIST='kodi-17.6-x86_64.sfs devx_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs 32bit_compatibility_libs_xenial64.sfs SlimJet-16.0.8.0-amd64-tahr.sfs'
PREVUNIONRECORD='xenialpup64save-1 puppy_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs zdrv_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs'
LASTUNIONRECORD='xenialpup64save-1 puppy_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs zdrv_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs'


BOOTCONFIG.save
Quote:
PREVEXTRASFSLIST='devx_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs kernel_sources-4.9.58-xenialpup64.sfs 32bit_compatibility_libs_xenial64.sfs LibreOffice-5.4.2_en-US_xz.sfs'


Notice they have info about the sfs's to load.
If there is no info these files are bad in the old save.
(BOOTCONFIG.save may not have anything listed unless you made a change to what gets loaded. It is a save of the old listing)


Try replacing them with the good ones in the new save.

The question is still there. Why in the old save, these files are not getting updated and saved with the changes.


During the first boot after replacing the BOOTCONFIG and BOOTCONFIG.save from the old savefolder (not working) with new files from the dummy (working) savefolder, the sfses listed on those files are loaded, however, after the first reboot the same problem occurs, NO sfs are loaded again.

Here is an image with information that I think could be useful to figure out what is going on:


DIRECT LINK TO HQ IMAGE: https://i.postimg.cc/66ghWHMh/ilustracion-savedolder.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11389
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 13:52    Post subject:  

In the old save that is not working correctly.
/etc/rc.d
There is a pupsave.conf file.

Can you post what is in it.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TenochSLB2

Joined: 12 Oct 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 14:16    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
In the old save that is not working correctly.
/etc/rc.d
There is a pupsave.conf file.

Can you post what is in it.

Code:
PRECHOICE=no
POPUP=no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11389
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 14:37    Post subject:  

pupsave.conf

Not sure why you have this in old save. It is not in my save for an install of Tahrpup64 6.0.6.

Try moving the pupsave.conf file out of the save so it is not there.
Copy it to some location away from the Tahrpup64 6.0.6 install. Delete it from the save /etc/rc.d

Any help using the old save?

In the old save you probably have programs you installed.
Are you by any chance using some shutdown control program you installed? Like Pupshutdown.
Something other than what is in Tahrpup.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TenochSLB2

Joined: 12 Oct 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 15:18    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:

Try moving the pupsave.conf file out of the save so it is not there.
Copy it to some location away from the Tahrpup64 6.0.6 install. Delete it from the save /etc/rc.d

Any help using the old save?

I removed it, apparently nothing changed.

Here is the content of rc.d without pupsave.conf
Code:

root# ls -ag /mnt/home/tarh64/tahr64save-version1.0/etc/rc.d/
total 188
drwxr-xr-x  9 root  4096 Oct 13 13:49 .
drwxr-xr-x 44 root  4096 Oct 14  2018 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 root   186 Oct 13  2018 BOOTCONFIG
-rw-r--r--  1 root   186 Oct 14  2018 BOOTCONFIG.save
-rw-r--r--  1 root 11918 Jan 30  2017 functions4puppy
-rw-r--r--  1 root  5945 Jan 30  2017 functions4puppy4
-rw-r--r--  1 root  2769 Oct 12 05:21 MODULESCONFIG
-rw-r--r--  1 root   831 Oct 13  2018 PUPSTATE
drwxr-xr-x  2 root  4096 Apr  6  2018 rc0.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root  4096 Apr  6  2018 rc1.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root  4096 Apr  6  2018 rc2.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root  4096 Apr  6  2018 rc3.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root  4096 Apr  6  2018 rc4.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root  4096 Apr  6  2018 rc5.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root  4096 Apr  6  2018 rc6.d
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  6706 Jan 30  2017 rc.country
-rw-r--r--  1 root  1387 Oct 12 10:22 rc.local
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root 26860 Mar  7  2010 rc.network
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root   311 Jan 30  2017 rc.services
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root 18022 Oct 12 10:22 rc.shutdown
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root 33290 Jan 30  2017 rc.sysinit
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root 15381 Jan 30  2017 rc.update


bigpup wrote:

Are you by any chance using some shutdown control program you installed? Like Pupshutdown.
Something other than what is in Tahrpup.

Not that I am aware of, I always turn OFF the computer through MENU>EXIT>SHUTDOWN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11389
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 17:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
During the first boot after replacing the BOOTCONFIG and BOOTCONFIG.save from the old savefolder (not working) with new files from the dummy (working) savefolder, the sfses listed on those files are loaded, however, after the first reboot the same problem occurs, NO sfs are loaded again.


Something seems to be deleting the info in the BOOTCONFIG file.

Boot using the old save.

In a console run this command.
Code:
sfs_load

Maybe it will show some error.

It will show something like this if it is working correctly.
In this example the sfs's are on sdc3 /mnt/home
Code:
root# sfs_load
sfs_load: debug: PUPHOME=/mnt/home;
sfs_load: debug: SFSMODE=y, DESTPART=sdc3, DESTDIR=/mnt/home;
sfs_load: debug: loadable_sfs_list

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0675s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]