Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Oct 2018, 13:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Tahr-RT-6.0.6 with a real time kernel 4.14.63-rt37
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 832
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2018, 14:22    Post subject:  

Hi! glad the kernel is running stable. Do you have any cpu frequency scaling driver running?

I have a a machine running with these specs
Code:

Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz
Max Speed: 3060 MHz
Current Speed of Core 0:2399 MHz

Frequency governor   : performance
Freq. scaling driver : p4-clockmod


this is an older machine but Puppy Linux is set at default with an on-demand driver. Maybe you may have the some type of cpu scaling program?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 364

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2018, 21:27    Post subject:  

Hi rockedge.

Here's mine:
Code:
PC Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Product Name: To be filled by O.E.M.

Motherboard Vendor: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Product Name: F2A88XM-DS2

BIOS Vendor: American Megatrends Inc.
Version: F7
Release Date: 06/24/2014

AMD A6-6400K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
Max Speed: 3900 MHz
Current Speed of Core 0:1800 MHz, 1:3100 MHz
Core Count: 2
Thread Count: 2

Frequency governor   : ondemand
Freq. scaling driver : acpi-cpufreq

Seems like Frequency governor needs to be changed/optimized, but how to do? Is this to setup in Puppy or in BIOS?

On my old machine (unfortunately broken) I hadn't any problems like that, but it was Intel Core Duo CPU.

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 364

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2018, 23:09    Post subject:  

Ok, I have had a look into the BIOS. Set everything found on CPU to auto and deactivated the cool&quiet function. Set all the fans to full speed also.

Now it looks like that:
Code:
PC Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Product Name: To be filled by O.E.M.

Motherboard Vendor: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Product Name: F2A88XM-DS2

BIOS Vendor: American Megatrends Inc.
Version: F7
Release Date: 06/24/2014

AMD A6-6400K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
Max Speed: 3900 MHz
Current Speed of Core 0:4092 MHz, 1:4092 MHz
Core Count: 2
Thread Count: 2

temp1 (radeon) : +68.0 C (high = +NA.0 C, crit = +120.0 C)
temp1 (k10temp) : +51.0 C (high = +70.0 C, crit = +80.0 C)
temp1 (it8620) : +41.0 C (high = +127.0 C, crit = +NA.0 C)
temp3 (it8620) : +64.0 C (high = +127.0 C, crit = +NA.0 C)
temp4 (it8620) : +45.0 C (high = +NA.0 C, crit = +NA.0 C)
temp5 (it8620) : +45.0 C (high = +NA.0 C, crit = +NA.0 C)
temp6 (it8620) : +45.0 C (high = +NA.0 C, crit = +NA.0 C)

Personal Storage: RAM Disk
 4,3G    181M    4,1G    5%

Memory Allocation:
 Total RAM: 3976 MB
 Used RAM: 999 MB
 Free RAM: 2977 MB
 Buffers: 10 MB
 Total Swap: 9039 MB
 Free Swap: 9039 MB

Linux Kernel: 4.14.63-rt37 (i686)
Kernel Version: #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Sep 7 03:11:51 EDT 2018
PAE Enabled: Yes

Distro: Art Studio 1.0.0
Desktop Panel: lxpanel 0.6.1
Window Manager: Openbox 3.5.2
Desktop Start: xwin openbox

Frequency governor seems to be gone and both cores are now running at equal frequency.

Just hope this will do it...

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 364

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2018, 12:29    Post subject:  

After doing some tests I found all the Xruns seems to be gone now. So I stuck with that BIOS settings running the real time kernel constantly in my Art Studio.

Thanks again for the real time kernel! Smile

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 832
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2018, 18:55    Post subject:  

Hello! That sounds great! glad it is working and you found some good settings.

There is the Menu->System->CPU Frequency Scaling Tool
that will allow one to change the cpu frequency scaling driver on-the-fly.

But since it is going well with your current settings leave it that way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 364

PostPosted: Wed 10 Oct 2018, 14:53    Post subject:  

Pity.

I still have a few Xrun messages from time to time, though they seemed decreasing after changing those BIOS settings.

Now there's another different issue...

Out of 8 plugins tested, 5 complained about the real time kernel and producing only distorted noise (e.g. multi band chorus) if used.

So I had to drop the real time kernel unfortunately, since I don't want (and I'm not able) to compile all those plugins available.

Sad

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0604s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0265s) ][ GZIP on ]