Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Oct 2018, 04:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 7.9.5 beta
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 13 [195 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3579
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2018, 22:53    Post subject:  

I installed to a 64gb sandisk flash drive:

System: Host: puppypc25750 Kernel: 4.14.71 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: bionicpup64 7.9.4
Machine: Device: desktop Mobo: Acer model: Aspire X3950 serial: U02C120500059
BIOS: American Megatrends v: P01-A3 date: 05/05/2010
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3 540 (-MT-MCP-) speed/max: 1234/3067 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: intel Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Desktop version: 2.1 Mesa 18.0.5
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 562.8GB (2.1% used)
Weather: Conditions: 67 F (20 C) Time: September 25, 10:39 PM EDT
Info: Processes: 138 Uptime: 57 min Memory: 326.7/5888.2MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

Updated PPM and installed favorite applications.
Connected to a 32" TV via hdmi cable, audio also via hdmi.

It shuts down cleanly,
Works well,
Thanks
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   88.52 KB
 Viewed   753 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 752
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2018, 09:51    Post subject: PS1 prompt, desktop icon  

Hi, may I ask for help on these items?

When I click the "Terminal" in the tray, I want the result to be like '~> ', rather than 'root# '.

And how to get rid of the desktop icon labeled "Drives", which is 'Puppy drive manager',


Thank you,
Sheldon Isaac

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
melon688

Joined: 24 Oct 2011
Posts: 36
Location: Taiwan

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2018, 10:36    Post subject:  

Menu > Desktop > Psync Time Server Synchronisation > (each NTP) > Sync to time server

Got Error Message.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 752
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2018, 10:50    Post subject: psync  

melon688 wrote:
Menu > Desktop > Psync Time Server Synchronisation > (each NTP) > Sync to time server

Got Error Message.
See the link that artsown posted, at
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1005302#1005302

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3579
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2018, 17:15    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.4 beta  

I installed to a 64gb sandisk flash drive:

System: Host: puppypc2569 Kernel: 4.14.71 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: bionicpup64 7.9.4
Machine: Device: desktop System: HP-Pavilion product: GN559AA-ABA a6220n serial: MXF7470DNX
Mobo: ASUSTeK model: Berkeley v: 1.04 serial: X312345678
BIOS: American Megatrends v: 5.13 date: 10/24/2007
CPU: Dual core Intel Core2 Duo E4500 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1914/2200 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Oland [Radeon HD 8570 / R7 240/340 OEM]
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: radeon Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 6.0, 128 bits) version: 3.3 Mesa 18.0.5
Network: Card: Intel 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e
Drives: HDD Total Size: 461.6GB (0.8% used)
Weather: Conditions: 68 F (20 C) Time: September 26, 5:03 PM EDT
Info: Processes: 116 Uptime: 8 min Memory: 304.5/3945.1MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

Updated PPM and installed favorite applications.
It's hard work for this older computer to do kodi streaming video but
it gets the job done.

Shuts down cleanly.

Thanks for version update.

********************************************************

EDIT: I tested Quirky beaver 8.7.1 on this hp and it uses much less resources when streaming video in Kodi
(see gkrellm screenshot)
kodistream2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   55.28 KB
 Viewed   452 Time(s)

kodistream2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   50.55 KB
 Viewed   565 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Thu 27 Sep 2018, 06:55; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 832
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2018, 17:40    Post subject:  

sheldonisaac wrote:
When I click the "Terminal" in the tray, I want the result to be like '~> ', rather than 'root# '.


open /root/.bashrc and add this line
Code:
PS1="\w>"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 752
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2018, 18:59    Post subject: PS1 prompt (oops, should be in the Beginners section)  

rockedge wrote:
sheldonisaac wrote:
When I click the "Terminal" in the tray, I want the result to be like '~> ', rather than 'root# '.

open /root/.bashrc and add this line
Code:
PS1="\w>"

Thank you, rockedge!!

Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4243
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2018, 20:03    Post subject:  

Sheldon:-

sheldonisaac wrote:
...<snip> And how to get rid of the desktop icon labeled "Drives", which is 'Puppy drive manager', </snip>


Easy. Right-click, then 'Remove item'. (You may have to click 'Edit item', then uncheck the 'Locked' tick-box first, but that's not generally needed in a new Puppy install.)


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4243
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2018, 20:21    Post subject:  

@ David:-

davids45 wrote:
Thanks Mike Walsh for the link to your earlier post about the erratic behaviour of BionicPup64's Puppy Event Manager in regard to displaying anything more than a few drive icons.
I used your 'shortcut' instead of going the 'long-way' (Menu>Desktop>....) to get to the icon manager, and trying various number combinations, I could get one to actually work - a single row of separated icons! Shocked Very Happy (screenshot)
Maybe I need to have each parameter divisible by 4? It seemed in a previous episode of this strange behaviour (I can't recall the Pup), using an odd number for any parameter caused the 'pile-up'.
I'll see how this goes with further re-boots to this Pup.


I believe you'll find it's also related to Rox's 'grid-step' setting in the 'Options : Pinboard' tab.





I don't know whether it was intentional on Phil's part, but I very early on noticed that when moving icons on the pinboard, instead of just staying exactly where I 'dropped' them, they'd 'jump' a wee bit as if to a pre-set position. Upon further investigation, I realized that instead of the 'grid-step' being set to the usual 'Fine', it was in fact on 'Medium'. Re-setting this to 'Fine', in combination with using an even number of pixels separation between each drive icon (you're right about that, I think; I use 56 as my 'standard' separation, but then I don't have quite as many partitions as you! Laughing), cured the problem.

The other 'problem' of the Event Manager needing to be used every session in order to 'straighten things out', however, remains.....but this isn't exclusive to BionicPup64. It seems to be common to all very recent Woof-built Pups; peebee's Upup Bionic suffers from it, as does Sailor Enceladus' excellent re-spin on Micko's classic Slacko 570, Slacko 571. It's the only thing that spoils them all for me.

Something that needs looking into at Woof-CE HQ, perchance?


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 302
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2018, 05:58    Post subject:  

Hello 666philb
Having fixed my error in menu.lst that stopped zdrv loading, I've got my audio back and xrandr can set the refresh rate with the modesetting driver.

I've checked for tearing on a new install of 7.9.4.
I set the refresh rate to 50Hz to match the video.

With the modesetting driver the tearing is really bad.

I changed to the Intel driver with triplebuffer=false and tearfree=false.

With your current configuration of compton there is no tearing.
So it looks as though compton can manage pageflip during the blanking interval without any additional buffering from the display driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1673
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2018, 13:54    Post subject:  

Sometimes my laptop fails the autoconnect at boot. I think it's a woof-ce bug because I have this problem in other recent puppies, too.

EDIT: I usually use Network Wizard and eth0 to connect.

Last edited by watchdog on Fri 28 Sep 2018, 15:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1552

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2018, 15:07    Post subject:  

Thanks, Phil for uploading the new ISO, it solved the shutdown problem panic messages for me and it all shutsdown cleanly now.

I've a question for all users, though: on my i3 core laptop with 8GB ram, this new bionicpup (both old & new ISOs, frugal and/or full-install) is making my laptop's chip and fan run like crazy. It's like busybox or something (Htop is unclear) is going nuts or something, and my fan just runs constantly & the chip's cores are just grinding away at something. This is the only pup in my ~11 pup/ddog kennel that does this.

Is anyone else seeing this, or having this experience??

Just curious......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1673
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2018, 15:21    Post subject:  

@belham2

I had this problem with my current old laptop with tahr64, slacko64 6.3.2, early slacko64 700, xenialpup64. I have solved this problem with the kernel 3.16.43 of slacko64 700 RC3. I have not this problem with current kernel in bionicpup64 7.9.4 beta. I think it depends on the kernel in use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 442
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2018, 15:33    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Thanks, Phil for uploading the new ISO, it solved the shutdown problem panic messages for me and it all shutsdown cleanly now.

I've a question for all users, though: on my i3 core laptop with 8GB ram, this new bionicpup (both old & new ISOs, frugal and/or full-install) is making my laptop's chip and fan run like crazy. It's like busybox or something (Htop is unclear) is going nuts or something, and my fan just runs constantly & the chip's cores are just grinding away at something. This is the only pup in my ~11 pup/ddog kennel that does this.

Is anyone else seeing this, or having this experience??

Just curious......


With the i3 chips they are running at full speed all the time. I'm not sure who originally posted this, but adding 'intel_pstate=disable' to the kernel boot line, will stop it from running at full speed all the time and will allow to use cpufreq to control the CPU. I have i3-5005U which is set to ondemand in cpufreq and it idles at around 800 MHz, rather than 1900 MHz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
petihar


Joined: 09 Apr 2007
Posts: 358

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2018, 17:34    Post subject: bluetooth  

Hi 666philb and all
Thank you very much for your great work. frugal install 7.9.4 on acer Aspire V5. Works well, the stop and rebbot bug is fixed.
Now I'm pulling my hair out with Bluetooth, I'd like to connect my phone and a sound system but I can't do anything! I have a Trendnet USB dongle.
Has anyone ever managed to connect a device using Bluetooth and if so, what are the packages to install?
Thank you in advance for your help, cordially petihar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 13 [195 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1476s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0359s) ][ GZIP on ]