Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 11 Dec 2018, 20:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Ways to increase speeds using wvdial
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 05:26    Post subject:  Ways to increase speeds using wvdial  

I have a 3G USB modem, max rated download speed 7Mbps. I can only get 1.4Mbps max download speed using wvdial (pupdial). Using Windows' DUN I get very close to the max. Why is wvdial so limited and can something been done to give it a kick up the a...? I've increased the baud in the config file with no noticeable improvement. Are there any other alternatives that are better?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1691
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 05:54    Post subject:  

What wvdial.conf are you using?

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=990695#990695

AT commands could be used in init line to switch 3G, Gprs, LTE,... AT commands are modem specific.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 06:36    Post subject:  

Tried a few extra AT specific strings (examples actually found in wvdial.conf) with no difference in performance. Sad An interesting observation: when downloading from a specific site I get -
1) A max D/L speed of 1.2Mbps for 1 file using wvdial and Opera or Palemoon. Using Windows downloading same file from same site I get only 0.5Mbps for the one file using Opera/Palemoon BUT
Downloading 8 files simultaneously from the same site the D/L speed when using wvdial stays at 1.2Mbps for all the files combined whereas with Windows DUN I get 0.5Mbps for each of the files = 4Mbps.
2) Using "Downthemall" addon for Palemoon the max D/L speed stays constant with wvdial at about 1.2Mbps. Downloads go crazy when using Windows DUN with this addon, maxing out at the max for the modem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3322
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 11:32    Post subject:  

I would imagine that most of the difference is down to buffering.
There are also some deliberate limits set in some OS's so that some bandwidth is reserved for control purposes.
The same happens with the human brain. No matter how much you concentrate on one thing, your brain will always take note of something dangerous happening - even though you may choose to ignore it.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 15:44    Post subject:  

There's a massive difference though with Windows' DUN utilizing max bandwith and thus being 5 times faster/more efficient as far as dial-up connections go. BTW - I don't even have extra specific AT strings for the Windows setup. So - Puppy is okay for general browsing but fast downloads to be done with Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3322
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 16:15    Post subject:  

Unless you specifically override it, Windows will only EVER USE 80% of the available bandwidth.
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 16:28    Post subject:  

Yes, I think that is about right...whereas Puppy seems to use only 20%. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3322
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 16:56    Post subject:  

Puppy does not buffer by default.
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 17:04    Post subject:  

So do you have any concrete ideas what I can do as user to make it perform better?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2018, 21:22    Post subject:  

Without knowing the specific product Rolling Eyes

It sounds like on windows your device first tries the DC-HSPA+ mode which typically rolls around 7-8 mbits, then negotiates downward to HSPA+ then to plain HSPA mode if needed.

On your puppy config, it sound like your modem is starting at HSPA mode which typically gets about 1.5 mbits performance.

Negotiating between the various mode's handshaking is typically handled on the modem hardware, not in OS software. Just like on a plain old serial 56k modem.

You will need to find your modem's command to force it to start in DC-HSPA+ mode, and set that in the config file ..

That's all I gots without knowing more ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2018, 00:49    Post subject:  

It's a cellphone with 3G modem. If I use it on a fast LTE network same happens. I think it's again a situation where Windows is just superior because it has a specific driver for the specific model of phone. Linux probably using something generic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2018, 11:07    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
It's a cellphone with 3G modem. If I use it on a fast LTE network same happens. I think it's again a situation where Windows is just superior because it has a specific driver for the specific model of phone. Linux probably using something generic.


It's a modem. Modems don't have device drivers. They attach to serial ports. The serial ports have the device drivers. A "3G modem" is just Cellular modem attached to a USB serial port. It's no different than using a cell phone on a tether, or a US Robotics 56k.

All modems have a configuration string called an 'AT' string that needs to go into your config file.

Look up the brand of the modem and research what it's AT command set is. All modems are a little bit different once you get past the Hayes command set.

Or .. you can choose to curse the darkness.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2018, 11:14    Post subject:  

It's a Samsung U900 Soul . It has a specific Windows driver, without that installed you can't connect to the internet using Windows. Linux has some generic crap. Never had to place any AT strings manually anywhere, it finds whatever it needs and connects automatically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3322
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2018, 11:24    Post subject:  

Have you tried using the Windows driver in Puppy. There is a specific tool for this very purpose.
NDISWRAPPER

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2018, 11:36    Post subject:  

Ok, so it's not a USB 3G modem. It's a older cell phone. You want to tether it.

For that you need a network driver instead of wvdial. Put the windows networking driver for it in an ndis wrapper (if needed) and connect instead using Dougal's Network Wizard ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0505s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]