TazPuppy 5.0 rc2

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#641 Post by s243a »

This is on an older version of TazPup, but I notice that the memory usage icon on the task bar shows most of my memory is used but if I check, none of my swap memory is being used

Code: Select all

sh-4.4# free -t
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:       3876576    3589476     287100          0      54460    1174572
-/+ buffers/cache:    2360444    1516132
Swap:      6458948          0    6458948
Total:    10335524    3589476    6746048
https://www.tecmint.com/commands-to-mon ... -in-linux/

Should I be configuring my stem to swap more?

Edit I might try this:

How to configure swappiness in puppy
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=100219

Maybe I'll first try a swappiness value about 20 and go from there.

Edit 2 Some differences for tazpup:
1. Put the "set-swapiness" script in /etc/init.d instead of /root/Statup
2. Edit /etc/rcS.conf to have the set-swapiness script as a start-up script. (see the /etc/init.d/README) file
Last edited by s243a on Wed 19 Sep 2018, 01:54, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#642 Post by don570 »

I suggest that first post contain...
User: root
default password: root
___________________________________

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#643 Post by s243a »

Anyone know how to set the log live in chrond?

I'm using cron to periodically clear my file cache due to a program that seems to cache a lot of files in memory (see thread).

I tried the following

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/crod start -l 8
and

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/crod start -- -l 8
The latter gave me the following error:

Code: Select all

h-4.4# ./crond restart -- -l 0
/lib/libtaz.sh: line 36: export: `=yes': not a valid identifier
and the offending line of code is in the last part of the case structure of:

Code: Select all

# Parse cmdline options and store values in a variable.
for opt in "$@"; do
	opt_name="${opt%%=*}"; opt_name="$(echo -n "${opt_name#--}" | tr -c 'a-zA-Z0-9' '_')"
	case "$opt" in
		--[0-9]*=*)	export _$opt_name="${opt#*=}" ;;
		--[0-9]*)	export _$opt_name=yes ;;
		--*=*)		export  $opt_name="${opt#*=}" ;;
		--*)		export  $opt_name=yes ;;
	esac
done
I'll put it on my to-do list to try to figure this out but if anyone knows, please let me know.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#644 Post by mistfire »

@s243a I will try to edit that file. Right now Im struggling how to run lxdm on TazPuppy. I noticed that reboot, poweroff, and shutdown commands dont work after I login from lxdm. Those commands will work after if the lxdm was killed. But the shutdown and reboot on login screen of lxdm works, that was weird.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#645 Post by s243a »

mistfire wrote:@s243a I will try to edit that file. Right now Im struggling how to run lxdm on TazPuppy. I noticed that reboot, poweroff, and shutdown commands dont work after I login from lxdm. Those commands will work after if the lxdm was killed. But the shutdown and reboot on login screen of lxdm works, that was weird.
It's probably not that big a priority because I was able to change the log level by calling the chrond utillity directly rather than using the start-up script.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#646 Post by s243a »

mistfire wrote:Hello can you please test the On-Demand Features in TazPuppy?
Just downloaded the latest version tonight. I'm installing all the on-demand features to see what happens :)

I notice some errors: getcwd: cannot access parent directory

when installing. I solved this previously by specifying the whole path. I don't know whether or not it is going to cause any problems with installing the undemand features.

I also notice that the license isn't being downloaded for some of the software. Presumably this is a bug.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#647 Post by s243a »

In the newest version of TazPup the get-Libreoffice script didn't work for me. In a previous version of TazPup I fixed this issue:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 323#995323

It's to late for me tonight to try to figure if any of the same principles can be applied to fix it in this version of TazPup

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#648 Post by mistfire »

@s243a your fixes on install script has been applied but I modify it with different approach. I will review the code to determine what went wrong

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#649 Post by s243a »

mistfire wrote:@s243a your fixes on install script has been applied but I modify it with different approach. I will review the code to determine what went wrong
I notice that LibreOffice is installed now (although I haven't tested it, so I don't know if the previous issues still apply), the second time I ran as root. It may be also that case that for your on-demand aps, that for them to work correctly you may also need to ask the user for root permission. I forget whether or not you do this.

Edit

Tried the on-demand feature again. Still see the CWD issue, so maybe the previous issue still exists to a degree. :(

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#650 Post by mistfire »

@s243a on-demand features was run in sudo mode if the user is not a root account. Can you please help me to find that CWD issue. Where it does appeared?

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#651 Post by s243a »

On previous versions of TazPup, the iron browser was the most capable browser that worked with TazPup. On the latest update it doesn't work. Strace tells me that it is trying to access shared memory.

Code: Select all


open("/home/tux/.config/chromium/Default/Visited Links", O_RDWR|O_LARGEFILE) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
read(38, "\375\313W@T\31\257p", 8)      = 8
clock_gettime(CLOCK_MONOTONIC, {16980, 337363961}) = 0
clock_gettime(CLOCK_MONOTONIC, {16980, 337428181}) = 0
gettimeofday({1539064712, 317493}, NULL) = 0
open("/dev/shm/.org.chromium.Chromium.prKdV8", O_RDWR|O_CREAT|O_EXCL|O_LARGEFILE, 0600) = -1 EACCES (Permission denied)
clock_gettime(CLOCK_MONOTONIC, {16980, 337645474}) = 0
gettid()                                = 31887
time(NULL)                              = 1539064712
write(2, "[31887:31887:1009/065832:ERROR:s"..., 151[31887:31887:1009/065832:ERROR:shared_memory_posix.cc(302)] Creating shared memory in /dev/shm/.org.chromium.Chromium.prKdV8 failed: Permission denied
) = 151
access("/dev/shm", W_OK|X_OK)           = -1 EACCES (Permission denied)
gettid()                                = 31887
time(NULL)                              = 1539064712
write(2, "[31887:31887:1009/065832:ERROR:s"..., 116[31887:31887:1009/065832:ERROR:shared_memory_posix.cc(305)] Unable to access(W_OK|X_OK) /dev/shm: Permission denied
) = 116
gettid()                                = 31887
time(NULL)                              = 1539064712
open("/proc/self/status", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = 58
read(58, "Name:\tiron\nUmask:\t0022\nState:\tR "..., 1024) = 1024
close(58)                               = 0
write(2, "[31887:31887:1009/065832:FATAL:s"..., 164[31887:31887:1009/065832:FATAL:shared_memory_posix.cc(307)] This is frequently caused by incorrect permissions on /dev/shm.  Try 'sudo chmod 1777 /dev/shm' to fix.
) = 164
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_UNBLOCK, [ABRT], NULL, 8) = 0
tgkill(31887, 31887, SIGABRT)           = 0
--- SIGABRT {si_signo=SIGABRT, si_code=SI_TKILL, si_pid=31887, si_uid=1000} ---
+++ killed by SIGABRT +++
Aborted

The strace suggests the following fix:

Code: Select all

write(2, "[31887:31887:1009/065832:FATAL:s"..., 164[31887:31887:1009/065832:FATAL:shared_memory_posix.cc(307)] This is frequently caused by incorrect permissions on /dev/shm.  Try 'sudo chmod 1777 /dev/shm' to fix.
but I'm not sure that's safe.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#652 Post by mistfire »

Next beta released of TazPuppy will release pretty soon. I made a fixes on tazpkg. I hope that fixes works.

@s243a I will also fix that /dev/shm permission issue

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#653 Post by mistfire »

TazPuppy Beta 5 released

Changes:
* Improved automatic configuration in both hardware and Xorg. Upon booting, TazPuppy remembers the hardware installed on the current computer. If TazPuppy loads a save file and it was booted from different computer which was not the last computer used or there some hardware changes prior to boot, it will configure automatically. This will improve portability and mobility.

* Some reworkings on network.sh and On-Demand features
* Improvements on TazPanel
* Now with flsynclient
* Revamp interface
* Some fixes on initrd
* Some bugfixes

Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1bcdwuK ... sp=sharing

Build Kit (for building tazpuppy): https://drive.google.com/file/d/17C8h2E ... sp=sharing

Terry H
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:48
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

#654 Post by Terry H »

New manual frugal install on USB Flash Drive using UEFI boot on Dell Latitude 3350 Core i3-5005U laptop.

Copied in wifi driver for Intel 7265 card (iwlwifi-7265D-29.ucode). Manually created /opt and added palemoon 28.1. I updated via Package Manager(83 updates).

Mainly working well after creating save folder. Main issue is the Touchpad is a bit too sensitive on laptop and I am unable to run flSynclient as I get a Message:
'Couldn't find synaptics properties. No synaptics driver loaded'.

Aesthetically looks great, I like the new login and default wallpaper.

Thanks for another great addition to the puppy family. Well done.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#655 Post by mistfire »

@Terry H maybe I need some in depth research about how flsynclient works but as of now try to configure it on xorg settings in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d there is a synaptics conf file there or override it in xorg.conf file if you can do it

Terry H
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:48
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

#656 Post by Terry H »

mistfire wrote:@Terry H maybe I need some in depth research about how flsynclient works but as of now try to configure it on xorg settings in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d there is a synaptics conf file there or override it in xorg.conf file if you can do it
Thanks mistfire, yes I am aware of these settings, but unfortunately don't know what I need to change.

My other issues, which I have edited files to meet my needs:

1 - Sound didn't initially work, as sound defaults to HDMI. In previous tazpuppies I changed /etc/asound.conf to match other puppies:

Code: Select all

default.pcm.card 1
default.pcm.device 0 
default.ctl.card 1
This didn't work in beta 5, the default was still HDMI. Then i found /usr/share/alsa.conf. I changed the included PCM values to match above. Sound now works.

2 - I add a second panel and like to include a Logout to the panel. There were no "logout" included in any Menu Categories. I edited the slitaz-logout.desktop to include 'Categories=System;'.

thinkpadfreak
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon 17 Oct 2016, 05:11

#657 Post by thinkpadfreak »

Terry H wrote:
> I am unable to run flSynclient as I get a Message:
> 'Couldn't find synaptics properties. No synaptics driver loaded'.

I experienced the same issue.
I use ThinkPad trackpoint, and I wanted to turn off the touchpad.

I copied xorg.conf of Xenialpup installed on the same machine. (ThinkPad X121e)
I placed it in /etc/X11, and deleted the directory /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d.

As a result, flsynclient opened successfully, and I was able to turn off the touchpad.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#658 Post by mistfire »

@thinkpadfreak so it means that flsynclient reads synaptics configuration on /etc/X11/xorg.conf file only?

thinkpadfreak
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon 17 Oct 2016, 05:11

#659 Post by thinkpadfreak »

mistfire wrote:
> so it means that flsynclient reads synaptics configuration on /etc/X11/xorg.conf file only?

I am not sure.
I didn't know which part(s) to change of the files in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d, so I copied xorg.conf itself.

Anyway, I suspect that there was something wrong with the X setting generated automatically.

Before beta 5, I converted a flsynclient pet package into tazpkg and installed it.
At that time, the flsynclient worked out of the box.

Terry H
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:48
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

#660 Post by Terry H »

thinkpadfreak wrote:Terry H wrote:
> I am unable to run flSynclient as I get a Message:
> 'Couldn't find synaptics properties. No synaptics driver loaded'.

I experienced the same issue.
I use ThinkPad trackpoint, and I wanted to turn off the touchpad.

I copied xorg.conf of Xenialpup installed on the same machine. (ThinkPad X121e)
I placed it in /etc/X11, and deleted the directory /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d.

As a result, flsynclient opened successfully, and I was able to turn off the touchpad.
Thanks thinkpadfreak, that did it. I reduced sensitivity and now can move the cursor across a page without activating any links I cross.

Post Reply