Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 12 Dec 2018, 08:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Wireless printer stopped working wirelessly
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 145
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2018, 21:06    Post subject:  Wireless printer stopped working wirelessly
Subject description: Brother MFCL2680
 

My Brother MFCL2680 lost its wireless ability. It will print with a cable. i went into CUPS and did all the normal stuff. The printer sees the router but the router does not see the printer. Like the ip address has changed ?? Not really a Puppy problem I guess but a printer problem. Anyways, posting here hoping someone can help.
Thanks for any ideas. I really like this printer, thats what makes this so aggravating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1273
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2018, 06:49    Post subject:  

Does that printer have WPS for wireless setup?

If it does, you can press the WPS button on the printer and the router at the same time and they should sync. My router's WPS is in the router settings, rather than an actual physical button, but basically the same thing.

Otherwise, (my experience is with Samsung more than Brother) you might need to set up wireless via a driver, which might mean a windows install to do the job.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 145
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2018, 10:16    Post subject:  

Yes I have done the WPS button thing. I have gone to the router page and the router does not see the printer as a client. It used to. I have been printing with this for nearly 2 years. 3 computers wit Tahrpup, windows 7 and XP on different partititions. I have gone into CUPS and enetered the IP address. The printer sees the router when I push the WPS button but the router does not see the printer.
May be time to get a new Brother. If my mom was still alive I am sure she'd help with that.......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11373
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2018, 10:20    Post subject:  

What version of Puppy?
Installed how?
Frugal or full?
On what device?
What format is the partition Puppy is installed on?
If frugal install, using save file or folder?

Did you do anything or install anything, just before this happened?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 145
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2018, 12:23    Post subject:  

Three different laptops. One Dell has Tahrpup 6.5 and XP. One Acer has Tahrpup 64 bit and a Windows 7 partition, and one Dell has Windows 7. The Pups are all frugal with sfs Ext 2. I have used this printer on all 3 on all partitions. Now none will print. I did install Avast security and web browser on the XP laptop. The problem almost has to be on the printer end.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1061
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2018, 12:56    Post subject:  

J_D_ wrote:
Three different laptops. One Dell has Tahrpup 6.5 and XP. One Acer has Tahrpup 64 bit and a Windows 7 partition, and one Dell has Windows 7. The Pups are all frugal with sfs Ext 2. I have used this printer on all 3 on all partitions. Now none will print. I did install Avast security and web browser on the XP laptop. The problem almost has to be on the printer end.


Hi J_D_,
There is a wireless LAN report that you can print at the printer that can maybe show something useful
http://support.brother.com/g/b/faqend.aspx?c=us&lang=en&prod=hl4570cdw_all&faqid=faq00002796_000

Following that info to here with error codes
http://support.brother.com/g/b/faqend.aspx?c=us&lang=en&prod=hl4570cdw_all&faqid=faq00100430_015

Looks like a printer issue like you suggested since windows is broke too.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 145
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 12:08    Post subject:  

I tried. I get 2 options. 1 print report and 2 view on LCD. It will not do either. May just use the cable for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13108
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 14:13    Post subject:  

My WAG (Wild-Ass-Guess) is that the transmitter side of the wifi in the printer has quit working. I can't think of any simple way to test that it's putting out any RF energy. There are broadband RF detectors to test microwave ovens for leakage. You wouldn't happen to have one of those lying around, would you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 145
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 18:19    Post subject:  

My thought was similar. Either no signal or the ip address changed. No Idea how that could happen. Anyway, not that expensive to replace.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1061
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 23:46    Post subject:  

There are prorams for linux and windows that show network devices that are not connected.

Looks like a little work setting it up.
https://superuser.com/questions/1281274/how-to-get-the-mac-address-and-signal-strength-of-nearby-wireless-devices

Never done that stuff myself.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 145
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2018, 10:05    Post subject:  

perdido wrote:
There are prorams for linux and windows that show network devices that are not connected.

Looks like a little work setting it up.
https://superuser.com/questions/1281274/how-to-get-the-mac-address-and-signal-strength-of-nearby-wireless-devices

Never done that stuff myself.
.


Thanks, but I think I will just use a cable for now. A new printer is only about $120 away. Unfortunately My dentist says I need a bridge that will be $1500 after insurance and my car need a new clutch that will be that much also so the printer can wait a bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11373
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2018, 10:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
my car need a new clutch that will be that much

If you are getting told a clutch replacement cost of $1500.
I would go find someone else to do it.

Quote:
Expected Cost To Replace a Clutch

The material costs involved in a clutch repair are relatively modest. In the vast majority of cases, the suspect parts that need to be replaced are the pressure plate, the clutch disc, and the throw-out bearing. Taken together, these parts retail for $90-$400. The vast majority of cars will be on the low end of this scale; it’s only high-performance models that get close to $400. If your clutch is operated hydraulically, there are two cylinders (a master and slave) that may need to be replaced on occasion. These cost between $20 and $50 each.

Labor adds significantly to the clutch replacement cost when you entrust it to professionals. Total labor costs will vary between $500 and $700, making for a total repair cost that can fall anywhere between $600 and $1,1000. Common prices do not fall outside $700-$900. You should always request an estimate from your mechanic and carefully review all the work he intends to do prior to making a commitment.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13108
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2018, 11:29    Post subject:  

I've never replaced a clutch in a 4WD truck. If someone wanted me to, I might charge a lot more than $1500.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 145
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2018, 12:54    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
I've never replaced a clutch in a 4WD truck. If someone wanted me to, I might charge a lot more than $1500.


Not a truck but a mid engine car. I could do it. I spent 4 months this year building an S10 truck with a V8. Started with a naked rolling chassis. built it, with PS, PB, AC then painted it. I just need a beak from turning wrenches.
I would think some of the great guys on here need to step away from the monitor/keyboard once in a while too.
Crappy pic of truck mentioned above.


Last edited by J_D_ on Thu 20 Sep 2018, 13:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 145
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2018, 13:00    Post subject:  

For the record I purchased the parts this week. Clutch disc, pressure plate, throwout bearing, pilot bearing, new bolts around $350. It has a dual mass flywheel, another $350 or so. Labor will be around $700 but thats an estimate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1563s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0517s) ][ GZIP on ]