Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Sep 2018, 03:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Remaster-Final
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2587
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug 2018, 00:57    Post subject:  

ITSMERSH wrote:
No, I'm not confusing anyone. I just pointed out that there's a difference between the statement of johnywhy and the your reply about "remaster" to this statement, since he wanted the additional .sfs inside the .iso to be loaded at boot.

johnywhy wrote:
i like Option 2 as well. i want to share a live CD with friends. i assume sfs-addons will be included in the remaster, and loaded on boot automatically, correct?

nic007 wrote:
Yes, with my auto script all sfs files (except the zdrv) that are loaded at the time of the remaster will be included in the remastered base sfs file.

Markups added by me.

End of my discussion here, since you are still turning yourself very much too fast into something similar to a insulted troll. Wink Laughing

My reply is about the remaster of the base sfs which is very clearly stated. And yes, that remastered base sfs will now boot automatically at first boot. Your problem is that you take single sentences out of a paragraph and then try to give a whole paragraph a different meaning. That's a very dumb thing to do and leads to comprehension problems (you even confuse yourself). You are the troll here, trolling yourself. Very Happy

Last edited by nic007 on Mon 13 Aug 2018, 01:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2587
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug 2018, 01:09    Post subject:  

rockedge wrote:
Quote:
Can you specify which directories were not copied, seems strange to me?

missing files/folders after remastering a zoneminder system that is able to run :

/var/run/mysqld -> is completely missing.
/etc/passwd -> uses the one from the stock ISO and not the current one
/etc/shadow -> uses the one from the stock ISO and not the current one
/etc/group -> uses the one from the stock ISO and not the current one
/etc/gshadow -> uses the one from the stock ISO and not the current one

/etc/apache2
some of the sub-directories are created but not copied.

Apache can not start because all the symlinks and config files to activate the web-server modules and the VirtualHost blocks are missing.

/etc/php5 -> current directory and all sub-directories and php.ini file are not copied into the re-master causing PHP not to be configured and to fail

strangely the /etc/zm config folder for zoneminder is copied into the re-master.

zoneminder is copied into /usr/share/zoneminder.....this component I made into an SFS but is awkward to add the database to the mariaDB (or mysql) I have attempted to create a complete LAMP - zoneminder SFS which will work but still needs to be generally configured so I met limited success. What worked was a PET of a LHMP (Hiawatha replacing Apache) and zoneminder. the PET installs
auto runs a script that creates the users,folders and corrects permissions....one-click in Tahr and the PET will completely install a running zoneminder.

I have also created manual re-masters that will run zoneminder out of the box....I am hoping to find an automatic script which would really lighten the workload.....there are some more small details....I need a complete snapshot of the system to be re-master it appears.

I will try out your other suggestions!! Thanks for the help.

Rockedge, the builtin remasterscript does not deal correctly with new installs that have files in /root, /etc and /var by default. Generally, you will have to manually edit these directories during the remaster process. This will definitely be the case with pet installs. However, I have tried to overcome this issue when you load extra sfs's (not installing pets) instead. In the latter case this should work now with my auto script. So load those components as sfs's and run my auto script (the customized version). You may not have the latest version of my scripts, I've made some changes so download it again.

Alternatively - loading those components as sfs's in the form of an adrv and/or ydrv should do the trick as well (just rename them). In this case you don't need to remaster it into the base sfs. That's actually what I woud do, run them as ydrv and/or adrv.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 808
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug 2018, 10:56    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
Alternatively - loading those components as sfs's in the form of an adrv and/or ydrv should do the trick as well (just rename them). In this case you don't need to remaster it into the base sfs. That's actually what I woud do, run them as ydrv and/or adrv.


this is the ultimate goal... to have the entire LAMP and zoneminder CCTV system as adrv.sfs and ydrv.sfs

working on it ....I've been slowly getting there...thanks again for the help and the work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 862

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2018, 20:07    Post subject:  

Thx nic007, ITSMERSH, and all devs and helpers!

I want my users have everything loaded, on first boot and in a frugal install, plus ability to remove them. Which Remaster tool will give me that with least effort? (i don't mind if i have to rename them to adrv and/or ydrv, but would like to avoid manual steps if possible)

ITSMERSH wrote:
To have additional .sfs remastered into the .iso it is necessary to copy them into the build directory manually BEFORE creating the .iso. This is NOT done automatically by remasterpup2 or nic007 scripts.

hi ITSMERSH. Thx for that! Ideally, i want the SFS's to load on boot of the live-cd and also if the live-cd is frugal-installed. However, i would also like users to be able to remove or upgrade the SFS's.

Sounds like nic007's AutoRemaster will bundle the SFS's into the remastered core, and disallow removal via the on-the-fly tool. Correct? Question: Could AutoRemaster SFS's be removed with the 'Remove builtin' tool? That's also acceptable. As long as the bundled SFS's can be removed somehow, either with onthefly tool, removebuiltin tool, or uninstall-packages tool.

nic007, i really like your hands-off Remaster. Definitely good for noobs.

nic007 wrote:
You'll have to include a bootloader in your "manually made" iso for distribution, if you don't have the actual ISO or CD to copy files from.

Woah, that concerns me. The output ISO needs to work as a bootable, live-cd. Do any of the remaster tools give that? (AutoRemaster, Lazy, or puppy Remaster livecd)

THX

ps ITSMERSH, i tried to watch Helix Research Kitchen, but seems protected?

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2587
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 00:46    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
Thx nic007, ITSMERSH, and all devs and helpers!

I want my users have everything loaded, on first boot and in a frugal install, plus ability to remove them. Which Remaster tool will give me that with least effort? (i don't mind if i have to rename them to adrv and/or ydrv, but would like to avoid manual steps if possible)

ITSMERSH wrote:
To have additional .sfs remastered into the .iso it is necessary to copy them into the build directory manually BEFORE creating the .iso. This is NOT done automatically by remasterpup2 or nic007 scripts.

hi ITSMERSH. Thx for that! Ideally, i want the SFS's to load on boot of the live-cd and also if the live-cd is frugal-installed. However, i would also like users to be able to remove or upgrade the SFS's.

Sounds like nic007's AutoRemaster will bundle the SFS's into the remastered core, and disallow removal via the on-the-fly tool. Correct? Question: Could AutoRemaster SFS's be removed with the 'Remove builtin' tool? That's also acceptable. As long as the bundled SFS's can be removed somehow, either with onthefly tool, removebuiltin tool, or uninstall-packages tool.

nic007, i really like your hands-off Remaster. Definitely good for noobs.

nic007 wrote:
You'll have to include a bootloader in your "manually made" iso for distribution, if you don't have the actual ISO or CD to copy files from.

Woah, that concerns me. The output ISO needs to work as a bootable, live-cd. Do any of the remaster tools give that? (AutoRemaster, Lazy, or puppy Remaster livecd)

THX

ps ITSMERSH, i tried to watch Helix Research Kitchen, but seems protected?


Sounds like nic007's AutoRemaster will bundle the SFS's into the remastered core, and disallow removal via the on-the-fly tool. Correct? Yes.
Could AutoRemaster SFS's be removed with the 'Remove builtin' tool? No, the contents of all loaded sfs (except the zdrv which will be kept seperately) files are merged into the base sfs with my auto tool. They can not be retrieved individually with the remove tool after that.
You need to use a remastertool which gives you options what to include in the iso or not. My auto script does not provide any user input options (that's the whole idea behind my auto script).

The output ISO needs to work as a bootable, live-cd. Do any of the remaster tools give that? If you mount the distribution's iso or cd before doing the remaster you are sorted, all the necessary files will be included in the newly created iso automatically. Burn it to CD and and you have a bootable, live-cd.
If you do not have the distribution's iso or cd, you can still make an iso but you will need to include all necessary files from somewhere (including a bootloader) otherwise that manually created iso will not be bootable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 808
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 16:00    Post subject:  

why is it impossible to create the auto remaster I want?
I want one that will do a complete snapshot of the current system...automatically without me having to do any manual intervention.

can this be done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2587
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 16:51    Post subject:  

rockedge wrote:
why is it impossible to create the auto remaster I want?
I want one that will do a complete snapshot of the current system...automatically without me having to do any manual intervention.

can this be done?


Yes. The auto scripts have pre-defined settings and no additional user input options. The remastered base sfs should include everything that is loaded at the time of the remaster (except for the zdrv which will be seperate). So if you are happy with that scenario (it seems to me that this is what you are looking for anyway), it should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 808
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 17:05    Post subject:  

Quote:
Yes. The auto scripts have pre-defined settings and no additional user input options. The remastered base sfs should include everything that is loaded at the time of the remaster (except for the zdrv which will be seperate). So if you are happy with that scenario (it seems to me that this is what you are looking for anyway), it should work.


excellent! It is what I am looking for. Thank you by the way. I am testing out several variants and I will report on how this one works.

most of the remaster scripts do work..just not completely enough for this certain request. So I am looking forward to testing this out tonight.

good work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2587
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 16 Aug 2018, 04:28    Post subject:  

I've updated the full, option version of Remasterpup. I'm not releasing this officially but will share it if you send me a PM for a copy. Please note however that I'm not going to enter into any discussions regarding this version...but you are welcome to try it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2587
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug 2018, 09:42    Post subject:  

Final version of scripts released, attached to opening post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2587
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 02 Sep 2018, 06:38    Post subject:  

I'm releasing Quick-Base-Remaster-Auto. This is a very small and basic script to remaster the base sfs automatically. The idea is to have something basic which can be used for old puppys and pups. You need to rename the remastered.sfs to that of your base sfs. Uploaded to the opening post.
Last edited by nic007 on Mon 03 Sep 2018, 08:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2587
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 02 Sep 2018, 09:47    Post subject:  

Okay, I've improved the Quick-Base-Remaster-Auto version. It now needs very little working space during the mastering procedure as the filesystem is squashed directly without copying files first. Just make sure there is enough space for the remastered sfs. Uploaded to opening post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0629s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0104s) ][ GZIP on ]