Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 15 Aug 2018, 13:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Auto ISO Remaster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [50 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 769

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 21:13    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
you need the executable "genisoimage" and the link to that file ie."mkisofs" on your system to make iso's. Check if you have it (it's normally in /usr/bin).

where would i find mkisofs? Same dir as genisoimage?

THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 LxPrecise Racy xSlacko
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
?: Quirky-April Zagreb RapidPup
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2556
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 23:03    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
nic007 wrote:
Boot without the savefile and do a remaster with the builtin remaster tool from the menu

Tried, and didn't even have to wait to finish to see the difference. I got the progress window below. At the end, i got an iso file.

I didn't get this progress window when booted with my big save-file. Maybe there's a size limitation on Remaster?


Okay, so the script works. Your failure seems to be related to your savefile. Do you have a backup of your savefile (the original one before you started to try remasters and stuff)? If you do, try that for the remaster. I suppose you have important stuff in the savefile (like installed pets, etc.) which is why you want to do a remaster? There is an alternative to the conventional remaster method if you can't get it going with your savefile. Tahr can use an adrv. The adrv is just a "specific" sfs file which gets automatically loaded at bootup but it has preference over the base sfs and zdrv. So, make an sfs of your savefile and call it the adrv (the name should look like that of the zdrv). Place this adrv with your other puppy files and boot that instead of the savefile. This method replaces the current savefile and is effectively a "remaster" of the savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2556
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 23:08    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
nic007 wrote:
you need the executable "genisoimage" and the link to that file ie."mkisofs" on your system to make iso's. Check if you have it (it's normally in /usr/bin).

where would i find mkisofs? Same dir as genisoimage?

THX

You can make an iso so it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 769

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 23:10    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
make an sfs of your savefile and call it the adrv (the name should look like that of the zdrv). Place this adrv with your other puppy files and boot that instead of the savefile.


thx, i'll try!
how do i get the iso? run your script?

THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 LxPrecise Racy xSlacko
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
?: Quirky-April Zagreb RapidPup
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2556
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 23:39    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Used Auto-Remaster-ISO-Pristine to make a remaster of Xenialpup 7.5 UEFI.

Wondering if this really does have all the needed stuff to boot on any computer.

Notice the difference in what is in the iso's


The auto script has the builtin remasterscript of Precise Puppy as basis. The created iso is primarily built for burning to CD. I don't have XenialPup but a quick glance at what you have posted suggest that it has extra stuff in the iso mainly to assist with usb booting with grub as the bootloader. So if you need that, use the builtin remasterscript that comes with Xenial to make the ISO (hopefully it will work). Alternatively - Post Xenial's builtin remasterscript here and I will have a look at it and explore the possibilities of including the extra functionalities into my auto script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2556
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2018, 00:31    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
nic007 wrote:
make an sfs of your savefile and call it the adrv (the name should look like that of the zdrv). Place this adrv with your other puppy files and boot that instead of the savefile.


thx, i'll try!
how do i get the iso? run your script?

THX

Create the adrv first and see if it works. BTW - Exclude the /sys, /dev, /mnt, /tmp and /initrd folders of the savefile when making the adrv. What do you want to do with the ISO, for use on the same machine or on other machines as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2556
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2018, 12:08    Post subject:  

The scripts have been updated. See first post and download the new zip file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2018, 13:00    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
The scripts have been updated. See first post and download the new zip file.


Thank you for the work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 769

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2018, 15:17    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
ISO, for use on the same machine or on other machines as well?


other machines as well

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 LxPrecise Racy xSlacko
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
?: Quirky-April Zagreb RapidPup
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2556
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2018, 20:31    Post subject:  

You haven't given feedback on whether you have been successful with making the adrv and that this method works for your current situation. You can run the Pristine version of the script afterwards to make the iso.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2556
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2018, 22:57    Post subject:  

Made some editing errors with the updated versions. Fixed and attached to first post. Please download the new zip file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug 2018, 14:17    Post subject:  

I mount an ISO of Xenial I will need and both scripts do not see the mounted ISO.....I am just beginning to try the scripts out.

All I am seeing is the /dev/sr0... what can I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2556
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug 2018, 15:59    Post subject:  

rockedge wrote:
I mount an ISO of Xenial I will need and both scripts do not see the mounted ISO.....I am just beginning to try the scripts out.

All I am seeing is the /dev/sr0... what can I do?

Mount the ISO before you run the script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug 2018, 17:41    Post subject:  

Code:
Mount the ISO before you run the script.


first thing I did. Even after the iso is mounted the script is not finding the mount point and the iso is not appearing as a selectable option.


UPDATE
I ran it in a Tahr 6.0.5 pae and mounted the ISO and the script did find it in this setup. Going for a remaster of Tahr with a full LAMP stack and Zoneminder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2556
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug 2018, 21:23    Post subject:  

rockedge wrote:
Code:
Mount the ISO before you run the script.


first thing I did. Even after the iso is mounted the script is not finding the mount point and the iso is not appearing as a selectable option.


UPDATE
I ran it in a Tahr 6.0.5 pae and mounted the ISO and the script did find it in this setup. Going for a remaster of Tahr with a full LAMP stack and Zoneminder.


Works for me in Xenialpup7.5. Did you unmount the ISO before mounting it again and then running the script?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [50 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1884s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0128s) ][ GZIP on ]