Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 10 Dec 2018, 09:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2018, 11:07    Post subject:  acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment (Solved)  

I am using xenialpup 64 bit on Asus X55C 64bit. (Installed on separate partition using Lick in dual boot with Win8).
In order to put it to sleep mode, I have installed acpitool from PPM and run "acpitool -s" in cli.
It makes the system sleep for just a moment and turns on immediately.
I also tried to put it in a file, save it as .sh file, then mark it as executable, and then double-click to execute it.
Same issue
I don't understand what is missing / going wrong.
Can anybody pl. advise?

Thanks.

Last edited by d_vineet on Wed 08 Aug 2018, 03:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 13146
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2018, 13:38    Post subject:  

Hello, d_vineet.

Would you unfortunately own one of the "problematic" laptops mentioned
in developer Leemans' "Remarks" on his man page here ?
https://linux.die.net/man/1/acpitool

Otherwise, perhaps adding a < read > command as the last line of your
script could help.

In console, you type a command and you stay in the console.

Using a script, the command gets executed and the script goes back to
"whatever" started it. The < read > command causes a script to wait for
the < Enter > key to be pressed.

Adding a < read > at the end of a script is liking saying to the script :
"Ok, man, now stay there until I come back and type < Enter >."

I do not know if this would apply to your situation, though.

If that does not work, perhaps consider writing a wrapper for your script?
If you do not know what a "wrapper" is, it is something like:
< urxvt -e script.sh >.

(A script that calls a script, is the shortest definition for "wrapper".) There
are all sorts of wrappers, too, not just with urxvt.

I hope some of the above will help you.

Best regards.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2018, 01:27    Post subject:  

@musher0 ,
Thank you for replying.
I tried these options.

1) Added < read > command as the last line of my script.
Not successful.
2) wrote a wrapper. It executes the slp.sh file but the issue is same.

My file structure is:-
slp.sh file in root
contents:-
Code:

acpitool -s
< read >

a wrapper named slp_wrap in root.
contents:-
Code:

cd /root
sh slp.sh

Any other pointer you can give on this?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13108
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2018, 13:44    Post subject:  

Is 'Wake on LAN' turned on in your BIOS? Or something like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 13146
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2018, 15:02    Post subject:  

Hello, d_vineet.

Please forgive me. I forgot to mention "without the chevrons" in my initial
reply to you. I thought you knew of this convention on message boards.

I should have written:
"< read > (without the chevrons)."

So please remove the chevrons on each side of the read command in your
script. And recheck what happens?

Again, sorry. BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11363
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2018, 16:04    Post subject:  

Xenialpup64 7.5 has some ACPI stuff in /etc/acpi

What happens if you just close the lid on the laptop?

Do you have any USB drives mounted when you try this?
It will not work if a USB drive is mounted.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 00:22    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello, d_vineet.

Please forgive me. I forgot to mention "without the chevrons" in my initial
reply to you. I thought you knew of this convention on message boards.

I should have written:
"< read > (without the chevrons)."

So please remove the chevrons on each side of the read command in your
script. And recheck what happens?

Again, sorry. BFN.

Ah Hoy!
It worked.
Very sorry that I was not aware about chevrons.

Last edited by d_vineet on Thu 09 Aug 2018, 00:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 00:24    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Xenialpup64 7.5 has some ACPI stuff in /etc/acpi

What happens if you just close the lid on the laptop?

Do you have any USB drives mounted when you try this?
It will not work if a USB drive is mounted.

Yes. This worked too.
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 13146
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 00:51    Post subject:  

d_vineet wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Hello, d_vineet.

Please forgive me. I forgot to mention "without the chevrons" in my initial
reply to you. I thought you knew of this convention on message boards.

I should have written:
"< read > (without the chevrons)."

So please remove the chevrons on each side of the read command in
your script. And recheck what happens?

Again, sorry. BFN.

Ah Hoy!
It worked.
Very sorry that I was not aware about chevrons.

Good to hear! Have a great day!

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 00:56    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Is 'Wake on LAN' turned on in your BIOS? Or something like that.

In Bios, "wake on lid opened" is enabled.
And now I can put it to sleep either by closing the lid or by invoking the acpitool script.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 11:01    Post subject:
Subject description: same thing noted on pressing power button
 

Just to add that I noticed same behaviour on pressing power button:
Puppy barks. "acpid" window opens up.
When I click suspend, it sleeps and wakes up.
Should I file a bug report?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11363
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 13:32    Post subject:  

Is there any USB drives plugged in and mounted?
Are you moving the mouse any after clicking suspend?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2018, 23:40    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Is there any USB drives plugged in and mounted?
Are you moving the mouse any after clicking suspend?

There is no usb drive attached. (I have usb mouse & keyboard attached.)
Installed puppylinux on hard drive and running it from there itself.

I am not moving mouse or touching keyboard after invoking "suspend".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11363
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2018, 09:40    Post subject:  

The scripts, in Puppy, that control all of this, are not that detailed.
Supporting every possible computer hardware is hard to do with simple scripts.
Could look in the computers bios setup and see if there is anything that would affect ACPI operation.

Closing the laptop lid works for you.
So, that part of ACPI control is working.

Quote:
pressing power button:
Puppy barks. "acpid" window opens up.
When I click suspend, it sleeps and wakes up.

I see this also on my desktop PC.
However, this works for it:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112449

With Puppy bug fixing and improvements to code.
Someone has to come along and volunteer to work on it.
Anyone?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2018, 11:30    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:

With Puppy bug fixing and improvements to code.
Someone has to come along and volunteer to work on it.
Anyone?

I would have loved to volunteer.
But I have no knowledge of under the hood Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1528s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0200s) ][ GZIP on ]