Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 12 Dec 2018, 06:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Terminal says 'syntax error' when opened (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
passenger237

Joined: 03 Sep 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 22:03    Post subject:  Terminal says 'syntax error' when opened (Solved)  

Opening terminal yesterday, and today, I was greeted with the following two lines.

Code:
bash: /etc/profile.d/qt4.csh: line10:syntax error near unexpected token '('
bash: /etc/profile.d/qt4.csh:line 10:              foreachqtd    ( /usr/lib'qt-* )'


I'm running the lastest slacko64

So am wondering what the correct syntax is

thanks.

Last edited by passenger237 on Mon 06 Aug 2018, 20:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
6502coder


Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Posts: 491
Location: Western United States

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2018, 12:01    Post subject:  

The ".csh" extension strongly suggests that the "qt.csh" script is written to be run under the C-shell. As I recall, C-shell is one of the weirder variations of the UNIX/Linux shell, and I doubt that it is compatible with bash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13108
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2018, 20:56    Post subject:  

I take it that passenger237 doesn't really mean that the terminal gave that error message immediately on starting the terminal, but rather, it gave the error message when he tried to run a .csh script or program from the terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
passenger237

Joined: 03 Sep 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2018, 18:54    Post subject:  

When I open a terminal the two lines I posted above occupy the top of the terminal screen.

They also flash up during boot.

So I'd like to know why and what is the fix. please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcav


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 74
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2018, 21:01    Post subject:  

The csh script got installed into profile.d and it is secured
as executable. So if a login term opens it executes all the stuff under
profile.d

remove the executable permission. or remove the file from the profile.d

you should have a qt4.sh in there though..

gc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
passenger237

Joined: 03 Sep 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2018, 20:39    Post subject:  

gcav thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0521s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]