Page 82 of 191 [2854 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next
Author Message
James C
PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2012, 01:28    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
Opinions Wanted Please

I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.
.


I guess that maintaining the status quo would prevent the inevitable browser wars.
kevin bowers
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 22:19    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
Opinions Wanted Please

I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.


In agreement with most of the other responses, the current system ain't broke, why fix it?
jim3630
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 22:17    Post subject:

some parts of the world connection speeds are very slow and it's pay per min of connection and it's those people who will benefit from a decent browser built in.

would the cost of a decent browser put it over 1 live cd size?
cthisbear
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 20:28    Post subject:

You have Pwireless2 inbuilt as a Pet???

Why not have a Pet or 2 of browsers.

Seamonkey, Iron, Opera.

Choice for some without an extra download.

Didn't someone also post a Flash that spoofs Youtube etc
into thinking that your version is up to date.

Add that as well.

And Firefox has pigged out long ago.

Chris.
Atle
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 19:04    Post subject:

Hi bigpup....

The issue revolved it self as I simply did not have time to get all these answers. I tried them all as flash boot and normal install to usb flash. There was no errors apart from USB boot flash not being able to transfer the files and finish the process.

I somehow managed to get the Windows to work on the EEEpc anyhow as the keyboard was failing on windows log on.

The happy ending was one Puppy installation with the JoomlaOnPuppy for a young girl that is interested in computers and webdesign. I am writing from this installation now.

So since i tanked up a old abandoned PC with puppy she now has two machines to play with and I felt good as i did not need to mess with Win7 and dualboot that is sort of risky to just do on someones machine.

But thanks again Bigpup as I was just a bit embarrassed not being able to boot the EEE or anything after doing a live lesson in how to install and boot from USB and FAILING.... But now its all sunshine and all won Very Happy
bigpup
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 17:41    Post subject:

Atle wrote:
I try the normal way to install and the USB way to install from install menu.

Have you used "Bootflash install Puppy to USB"?
Have you changed the computer bios to boot from USB as the first choice or selected boot from USB from computer boot option menu?
What format is USB flash drive?
Some computers will only boot from USB flash drives that are formatted Fat16 or Fat32.
What files are on the flash drive?
Any error messages you see?
vtpup
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 15:31    Post subject:

Notes on Sulu .001 on comp. in sig below --

missing battery monitor
Drivers tab in QuickPet has no entries. The others do.

This computer uses Intel graphics chips. To get GLX I downloaded Xorg-high-1.1 Lucid pet using the puppy package manager.

glxgears now runs.
Atle
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 15:14    Post subject: Install to USB

Is there any issue with 5.2.8.004 and installation to USB?

Any trick or workaround that I should know about to get the USB bootable? Its a Kingston datatraveler 8 gig and I believe that that one is bootable.

I try the normal way to install and the USB way to install from install menu.

Non of them wants to boot on to new comuters that has USB boot support in the machines.

As the USB boot fails to copy files(never ends), I guess it might be some issue to fix this.

I then tried to just transfer the files onto the USB that had the ldlinux.sys file there from the USB installation process...

I am in a "live aid" situation, trying to convince some Windows users to go straight:-)

I hope for some good hints here as I remember there is or was a issue with USB installations and I am at their place and can not research this all night.

Atle
humblesoul
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 13:31    Post subject:

playdaze has already mentioned ad block plus for chrome in this thread: http://adblockplus.org/en/chrome

Just stumbled across this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zP79Iwm0xbA

Looks interesting, though not tried it yet.
playdayz
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 13:07    Post subject:

Quote:
whatever. i havent downloaded plus and dont intent to ( i think libre office sucks and cant find a need to use it

There will be a version of Plus that doesn't have Libre Office built-in.
humblesoul
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 13:03    Post subject:

^ what they said. Choice is good, everyone has their own preference, the initial browser choice prompts are good and quickpet works well too. The lightest, most functional browser stock with user choice gets my vote too. Never liked dillo, but that's just my own personal opinion from limited experience.
prehistoric
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 12:17    Post subject:

vtpup wrote:
...If Firefox was the default, it would attempt to convert my mail files and bookmarks, settings etc. possibly royally screwing up every other system -- I believe I had that experience a couple years ago...
I think browsers should always be downloaded fresh -- as an SFS preferably in the latest version available,
I've had that experience too. I'm less than thrilled with Firefox now because of that and problems keeping local control of what the browser is doing in updates. I don't like the idea of putting all my critical information "in the cloud". I'm just about an extinct species, one that likes having some idea of what my computer is doing, and being able to hold data in my hand. The recent changes in Flash player are a cautionary example of the alternative.

I remain dissatisfied with browsers, which are approaching the size and instability of entire operating systems. I would like to use computers for something besides updating software and the display of advertising.
vtpup
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 11:26    Post subject:

I use Seamonkey across many computers and in many frugal installations on each one -- they hit on a link to .mozilla in /mnt/home, so all share settings, mail etc.

I chose Seamonkey because of the inclusion directly in in the browser of the capability to edit web pages WYSIWYG on the fly using file/edit page. Also I don't have to load a separate email client. Everything just works after I start up -- just replacing the .mozilla folder with the link to /mnt home.

If Firefox was the default, it would attempt to convert my mail files and bookmarks, settings etc. possibly royally screwing up every other system -- I believe I had that experience a couple years ago.

Very glad to be able to choose a browser on startup, and that it is generally the current version as well. Always was a pain in the old Puppies to have to upgrade Seamonkey after an installation. A lot easier to just download the latest version to start with.

Likewise I assume others are also doing similar things with other browsers in multiple frugal installs, so a single browser, like the old standard Seamonkey attached to puppy might cause pain there as well.

I think browsers should always be downloaded fresh -- as an SFS preferably in the latest version available,
bigpup
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 11:00    Post subject:

I say no.
Browser Choice has been a trademark of Lucid.
It only takes a few minutes, to download a browser of your choosing, and it will be the one you want to use.
Dillo provides the basic needs to start using Lucid Puppy.
aarf
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 10:48    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
Opinions Wanted Please

I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.

Yes, in keeping with its Plus designation, to give it distinction from Lupu regular, because some people have always wanted an included browser, and the browser would run from ram and not take up pupsave

No, because the browsers update so frequently now that it would be out of date in a week and the update would take up pupsave and not run from ram anyway, and because Browser Choice has been a trademark of Lucid and some people would want a different browser no matter which one is included.

Thanks for opinions.

whatever. i havent downloaded plus and dont intent to ( i think libre office sucks and cant find a need to use it Laughing ). i havent ever installed a browser with quickpet. i use my current across-puppy portable opera. sometimes but rarely i use midori in saluki when a page wont render properly in opera or if i click a local html file, it will open in midori as it is the default html browser. but even jemimah doesnt recommend midori to be the full time browser to use. i never use firefox but use seamonkey to do banking in pristine quirky. i dont use seamonkey for anything else.
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 82 of 191 [2854 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group