Page 81 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
majorfoo
PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2012, 12:08    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
Opinions Wanted Please

I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.

Thanks for opinions.


I vote - leave it as is - let the user decide which browser they want to use.
Minnesota
PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2012, 10:26    Post subject: Browser in or Out
Subject description: Browser

Question:

How difficult is it to create TWO flavors?
1) Browser IN.....at least BASIC flavor.
2) Second Version Browser OUT...

OK, third flavor....
Some variation of additional sfs in the ISO, as optional? Think this is done in several of the new Puppy's Could a question be asked at start up time?

WHY.... WHY a browser as part of the package. I test a lot... run most of the Flavors of Puppy as stand alone on the CD. Kind of hard to give out a of copy of the CD.... "spreading the word"...and tell the potential user ... OH yes.. .YOU must connect to the Internet to use this.

My solution... I have a special stick with the browsers pets.

Conclusion: Is there a good compromise, giving both worlds?
kevin bowers
PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2012, 09:06    Post subject: Re: Browser Choice

shinobar wrote:

But the seamonkey will not be in the main sfs. It will be shipped in the iso as an additional SFS so that the user easily load it with the sfs_load. Of course it allows to choose your favorite browser replacing the SFS.

Seems like shinobar always has a better solution than anyone else!
ICPUG
PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2012, 07:46    Post subject:

When I first came to Lucid I was concerned about leaving out the browser and requiring a separate download.

However, it stopped Browser Wars and Sage talking about Opera all the time! That's a good enough reason for me!

What I don't like about the separate download is the complexity of it. It demands the user gets to know about PPM pretty quickly and have a working Puppy Internet connection. This is where a separate browser sfs is really useful. If you know where it is you can download it with your current working Internet connection.

The system Shinobar mentions to make it easier to load the sfs sounds interesting.

I'm for keeping the Lucid status quo re browsers in home use Puppy. Dillo's not so bad when I have a working puppy Internet connection!

If Lucid Libre ever became Lucid Professional as I advocated a while back then I would add a browser in the base package.

Summary:
Lucid: Leave as is
Lucid Plus: Leave as is
Lucid Libre: Leave as is
Lucid Professional: Lucid Libre + browser + Wine
GMBudwrench
PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2012, 04:53    Post subject: browser

playdayz wrote:
I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.

Like the others, I vote leave it as is, let the user decide.
shinobar
PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2012, 03:15    Post subject: Browser Choice

playdayz wrote:
I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.

bigpup wrote:
Browser Choice has been a trademark of Lucid.

We Japanse team is now planning lupu-528JP, the Japanese edition.
Our discussion in the Japanese forum for your information:
The lupu-528JP will be shiped with Seamonkey-2.8-ja because the Dilo nor the Midori are not usable for Japanese. We cannot ship any OS with no browser.
But the seamonkey will not be in the main sfs. It will be shipped in the iso as an additional SFS so that the user easily load it with the sfs_load. Of course it allows to choose your favorite browser replacing the SFS.

Also we are trying to load the additional sfs automatically at the first boot. As you know, the LazY Puppy does the similar way.
Our (Japanese) problem is we do not yet have Japanese repository providing the localized browsers and applications.
James C
PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2012, 01:28    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
Opinions Wanted Please

I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.
.


I guess that maintaining the status quo would prevent the inevitable browser wars.
kevin bowers
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 22:19    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
Opinions Wanted Please

I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.


In agreement with most of the other responses, the current system ain't broke, why fix it?
jim3630
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 22:17    Post subject:

some parts of the world connection speeds are very slow and it's pay per min of connection and it's those people who will benefit from a decent browser built in.

would the cost of a decent browser put it over 1 live cd size?
cthisbear
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 20:28    Post subject:

You have Pwireless2 inbuilt as a Pet???

Why not have a Pet or 2 of browsers.

Seamonkey, Iron, Opera.

Choice for some without an extra download.

Didn't someone also post a Flash that spoofs Youtube etc
into thinking that your version is up to date.

Add that as well.

And Firefox has pigged out long ago.

Chris.
Atle
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 19:04    Post subject:

Hi bigpup....

The issue revolved it self as I simply did not have time to get all these answers. I tried them all as flash boot and normal install to usb flash. There was no errors apart from USB boot flash not being able to transfer the files and finish the process.

I somehow managed to get the Windows to work on the EEEpc anyhow as the keyboard was failing on windows log on.

The happy ending was one Puppy installation with the JoomlaOnPuppy for a young girl that is interested in computers and webdesign. I am writing from this installation now.

So since i tanked up a old abandoned PC with puppy she now has two machines to play with and I felt good as i did not need to mess with Win7 and dualboot that is sort of risky to just do on someones machine.

But thanks again Bigpup as I was just a bit embarrassed not being able to boot the EEE or anything after doing a live lesson in how to install and boot from USB and FAILING.... But now its all sunshine and all won Very Happy
bigpup
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 17:41    Post subject:

Atle wrote:
I try the normal way to install and the USB way to install from install menu.

Have you used "Bootflash install Puppy to USB"?
Have you changed the computer bios to boot from USB as the first choice or selected boot from USB from computer boot option menu?
What format is USB flash drive?
Some computers will only boot from USB flash drives that are formatted Fat16 or Fat32.
What files are on the flash drive?
Any error messages you see?
vtpup
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 15:31    Post subject:

Notes on Sulu .001 on comp. in sig below --

missing battery monitor
Drivers tab in QuickPet has no entries. The others do.

This computer uses Intel graphics chips. To get GLX I downloaded Xorg-high-1.1 Lucid pet using the puppy package manager.

glxgears now runs.
Atle
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 15:14    Post subject: Install to USB

Is there any issue with 5.2.8.004 and installation to USB?

Any trick or workaround that I should know about to get the USB bootable? Its a Kingston datatraveler 8 gig and I believe that that one is bootable.

I try the normal way to install and the USB way to install from install menu.

Non of them wants to boot on to new comuters that has USB boot support in the machines.

As the USB boot fails to copy files(never ends), I guess it might be some issue to fix this.

I then tried to just transfer the files onto the USB that had the ldlinux.sys file there from the USB installation process...

I am in a "live aid" situation, trying to convince some Windows users to go straight:-)

I hope for some good hints here as I remember there is or was a issue with USB installations and I am at their place and can not research this all night.

Atle
humblesoul
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 13:31    Post subject:

playdaze has already mentioned ad block plus for chrome in this thread: http://adblockplus.org/en/chrome

Just stumbled across this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zP79Iwm0xbA

Looks interesting, though not tried it yet.
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 81 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group