Page 83 of 191 [2858 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next
Author Message
prehistoric
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 12:17    Post subject:

vtpup wrote:
...If Firefox was the default, it would attempt to convert my mail files and bookmarks, settings etc. possibly royally screwing up every other system -- I believe I had that experience a couple years ago...
I think browsers should always be downloaded fresh -- as an SFS preferably in the latest version available,
I've had that experience too. I'm less than thrilled with Firefox now because of that and problems keeping local control of what the browser is doing in updates. I don't like the idea of putting all my critical information "in the cloud". I'm just about an extinct species, one that likes having some idea of what my computer is doing, and being able to hold data in my hand. The recent changes in Flash player are a cautionary example of the alternative.

I remain dissatisfied with browsers, which are approaching the size and instability of entire operating systems. I would like to use computers for something besides updating software and the display of advertising.
vtpup
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 11:26    Post subject:

I use Seamonkey across many computers and in many frugal installations on each one -- they hit on a link to .mozilla in /mnt/home, so all share settings, mail etc.

I chose Seamonkey because of the inclusion directly in in the browser of the capability to edit web pages WYSIWYG on the fly using file/edit page. Also I don't have to load a separate email client. Everything just works after I start up -- just replacing the .mozilla folder with the link to /mnt home.

If Firefox was the default, it would attempt to convert my mail files and bookmarks, settings etc. possibly royally screwing up every other system -- I believe I had that experience a couple years ago.

Very glad to be able to choose a browser on startup, and that it is generally the current version as well. Always was a pain in the old Puppies to have to upgrade Seamonkey after an installation. A lot easier to just download the latest version to start with.

Likewise I assume others are also doing similar things with other browsers in multiple frugal installs, so a single browser, like the old standard Seamonkey attached to puppy might cause pain there as well.

I think browsers should always be downloaded fresh -- as an SFS preferably in the latest version available,
bigpup
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 11:00    Post subject:

I say no.
Browser Choice has been a trademark of Lucid.
It only takes a few minutes, to download a browser of your choosing, and it will be the one you want to use.
Dillo provides the basic needs to start using Lucid Puppy.
aarf
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 10:48    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
Opinions Wanted Please

I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.

Yes, in keeping with its Plus designation, to give it distinction from Lupu regular, because some people have always wanted an included browser, and the browser would run from ram and not take up pupsave

No, because the browsers update so frequently now that it would be out of date in a week and the update would take up pupsave and not run from ram anyway, and because Browser Choice has been a trademark of Lucid and some people would want a different browser no matter which one is included.

Thanks for opinions.

whatever. i havent downloaded plus and dont intent to ( i think libre office sucks and cant find a need to use it Laughing ). i havent ever installed a browser with quickpet. i use my current across-puppy portable opera. sometimes but rarely i use midori in saluki when a page wont render properly in opera or if i click a local html file, it will open in midori as it is the default html browser. but even jemimah doesnt recommend midori to be the full time browser to use. i never use firefox but use seamonkey to do banking in pristine quirky. i dont use seamonkey for anything else.
Sylvander
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 09:48    Post subject:

1. Although I would naturally tend to say YES...
Include Firefox...

2. Having read the reasons you gave for saying NO...
I finally go with NO.
But...

3. Is it possible to automatically have it load an SFS file for Firefox?
And have an auto-system for replacing that SFS file with one for the latest Firefox version?
Eyes-Only
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 09:44    Post subject:

I vote "no" myself. A basic browser like it's always been - Midori ( or it could even be changed to Dillo 3 now as advanced as that's become Playdayz? ) for reading the base help files/start-up Puppy description/help, and leaving the programme in for browser selection.

In otherwords: Keep Lucid "traditional". Wink

Then and again, what do I know?

Cheers/Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"
playdayz
PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2012, 09:28    Post subject:

Opinions Wanted Please

I cannot decide whether to put a browser (Firefox) into the next Lupu Plus.

Yes, in keeping with its Plus designation, to give it distinction from Lupu regular, because some people have always wanted an included browser, and the browser would run from ram and not take up pupsave

No, because the browsers update so frequently now that it would be out of date in a week and the update would take up pupsave and not run from ram anyway, and because Browser Choice has been a trademark of Lucid and some people would want a different browser no matter which one is included.

Thanks for opinions.
shinobar
PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 22:52    Post subject: PPM improvement

rerwin wrote:
I am nervous about adding that removal before Barry endorses that design change.

Good.
Meanwhile i have uploaded petget-20120418.pet as a candidate for pupplet builders and whom want to try.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73829
don570
PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 20:23    Post subject:

I made a fork of pmirror to improve it.
I tested it in Lucid Puppy.


http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=621168#621168

________________________________________
rerwin
PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 20:17    Post subject:

shinobar,
Thanks for providing the updates to the patch-8 components.
Code:
diff petget-rerwin-patch-8/removepreview.sh petget-shinobar-patch-8/removepreview.sh
87a88
>      rm -f "/initrd/pup_rw${ONESPEC}"   # 25mar12 shinobar: forgot this
Although I understand the rest of your changes, the above appears to change Barry's design of the uninstall process.

I infer from the wary version of removepreview.sh that his intent is to replace the file copy in the top (pup_rw) layer. Your addition appears to undo that replacement. But I recognize that removing it exposes the version just obtained from the lower layer, accomplishing the same goal as the replacement technique. But there is probably logic elsewhere that depends on the old file being copied to the top layer.

I am nervous about adding that removal before Barry endorses that design change.

Here is what I put in the attached patch-8a-delta package:
Code:
diff /root/lupu528-IU002_rerwin_patch-8/usr/local/petget/pkg_chooser.sh pkg_chooser.sh
20a21
> LANG_USER=$LANG   #120418 shinobar
269a271
> LANG=$LANG_USER   #120418 shinobar
Code:
diff /root/lupu528-IU002_rerwin_patch-8/usr/local/petget/removepreview.sh removepreview.sh
19a20
> #120121 shinobar: allow space chars in the "files" list paths.
101c102
<   cat /root/.packages/${DB_pkgname}.files | grep -v '/$' | xargs rm -f #/ on end, it is a directory entry.
---
>   grep -v '/$' /root/.packages/${DB_pkgname}.files | while  read ONESPEC; do rm -f "$ONESPEC"; done #120121 shinobar
In the first diff listing, would you prefer a different date for the fix?

If you concur with my version of your changes, they could be considered for addition to the new lupuplus. I have not tested them myself, so depend on your assessment. Thanks.
Richard
vtpup
PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 18:58    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
Sulu installed frugal on ext2 partition.
New Acer Aspire 5348-2365
Dual boot Win7

Wirelesss works out of the box (didn't on Lupu 528 v5, or Wary. Does on Racy 5.3)

Alsa sound works out of the box (didn't on Lupu 528 v5, does on Wary and Racy)

Thanks vtpup. That's great news. It looks like there might be a place for Sulu. Do you have a new computer by any chance, say, in the last year?


Yes playdayz this one is one week old. Ordered through Walmart for $349. I did that after reading a bunch of reviews, all of them positive except for the fact that performance was modest on Windows 7 especially with all the crippled ware that comes with it.

That didn't phase me at all, since I knew Puppy was in its future. This is ten times the machine I'm used to, -- for one thing dual proc, 4 gigs mem, 320 gig HD DVD burner, 16" widescreen HDTV out etc. so with Racy or now Sulu it's far more powerful than my desktop or my various Thinkpads.

For less than I've spent in the past on used computers.

Looking forward to wringing out Sulu on it. I know you aren't supporting it, but we'll find a way around most problems sooner or later. Thanks so much for making this available!
Jasper
PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 18:30    Post subject:

Hi again mavrothal,

Thank you for your code and your help. It is working now.

My regards to playdayz as well
mavrothal
PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 17:20    Post subject:

Jasper wrote:
Hi mavrothal,

I tried your solution in your post immediately above in Slacko 5.3.1 and it did not seem to work.

Hopefully it is OK that I may I ask here if it might reasonably be expected to work in any other Puppies?

My regards


In what sense?
If anyone of the official repos has been changed/updated in the last week will not offer to update any of them.
If you want to update every time change the line
Code:
REPODATE=`find /root/.packages/ -ctime -7 | grep official`

to
Code:
REPODATE=

I just do not think is necessary to do it every time.


Quote:
Oh, this will work only if your (mavrothal) changes have been installed???

No. This is independent from the rest. However, I would recommend to update at least 0setup because the Luci version is the older all-or-nothing version of the script, and updating the ubuntu repos is not really necessary and a rather lengthy process (I'm not sure if slako 5.3.1 had this woof update. 5.3.2.7 does)
playdayz
PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 17:14    Post subject:

Quote:
If you add the following at the top of /usr/local/petget/pkg_chooser.sh, immediately after the comments, will do the trick

Oh, this will work only if your (mavrothal) changes have been installed???
Jasper
PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 16:59    Post subject:

Hi mavrothal,

I tried your solution in your post immediately above in Slacko 5.3.1 and it did not seem to work.

Hopefully it is OK that I may I ask here if it might reasonably be expected to work in any other Puppies?

My regards
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 83 of 191 [2858 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group