Page 180 of 190 [2837 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
majorfoo
PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2011, 00:48    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
***Experimental***

Audacious 3.0.2. It was compiled in Lucid 5.2.8. The pet includes libgtk-3.0.8 which is required (as Audacious now uses either gtk3 or a version later than we have of gtk2). The pet also includes the most recent official release of the ffmpeg multimedia libraries 0.8.2.

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Audacious-3.0.2-lucid528
.


Playdayz - d/l and tried in lucid 5.28

couple of things on this one
1. Had to add .pet to end of your file before would install as pet

2. When I try to play .mp3 file, receive error message
No decoder found for file xxxxx.mp3

additional information when I run from command line

/root
# audacious

** (audacious:23860): WARNING **: Desktop file '/usr/share/applications/audacious.desktop' has malformed Icon key 'audacious.png'(should not include extension)
/root
#

nap time for me - will be back in few hours

majorfoo
playdayz
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 23:40    Post subject:

***Experimental***

Audacious 3.0.2. It was compiled in Lucid 5.2.8. The pet includes libgtk-3.0.8 which is required (as Audacious now uses either gtk3 or a version later than we have of gtk2). The pet also includes the most recent official release of the ffmpeg multimedia libraries 0.8.2.

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Audacious-3.0.2-lucid528.pet
.
playdayz
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 23:34    Post subject:

Quote:
I'm not having much luck today.I installed the Mplayer 34026-002.pet and get a fatal error of 'skin default not found'.
Tried a reboot to no avail.

Oh, Maybe I left a desktop file for the gui in the pet. I will check. You never need to start mplayer-gnome-mplayer does all the work for you. You can type mplayer at a console to see the svn number from the version you are using--should be 34026.
jpeps
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 18:05    Post subject:

rerwin wrote:

The other message cannot be reproduced at will. It just appears occasionally. From memory, it is approximately:
    sh: line 0 ... broken pipe
No hint as to where it comes from. I have seen no operational consequence of the message.


I see that also with petget; seems harmless
Code:

sed: -e expression #2, char 0: no previous regular expression
EXIT="OK"
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.fbpanel/default...
cut: write error: Broken pipe
cut: write error: Broken pipe
cut: write error: Broken pipe
Generating /root/.config/openbox/menu.xml...
rerwin
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 17:34    Post subject:

playdayz,
Here is my first version of fixes for the instant update package. It has all of the fixes we have talked about except for shinobar's firstrun-1.8.4. But I intend to include it in a "-2" package after I complete merging of the latest changes in version "-1".

I provide this preview so those concerned about the hostname-change logic can evaluate what I have done. The package requests a restart of X when the name is changed. Xwin is augmented to instruct the user to enter "logout" and "xwin" to return to the desktop -- but only if "personal settings" tells it to.

I added one more thing not mentioned by others. The logout does not result in the new name being sent to the network (e.g., a router). So "Personal settings" also cycles the active network connections (ifconfig .. down, then up), to complete the hostname change.

During testing I encountered two log messages that appear to be beyond my control. Running from the command line, whenever I click on a down-arrow to select from a list, the following appears:
    (gtkdialog3:31162): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: /build/buildd/glib2.0-2.24.0/gobject/gsignal.c:3079: signal name `depressed' is invalid for instance `0x8532de0'

The other message cannot be reproduced at will. It just appears occasionally. From memory, it is approximately:
    sh: line 0 ... broken pipe
No hint as to where it comes from. I have seen no operational consequence of the message.

When I upload the "shinobar" version, I would like him to verify that it works as he expects and that I have not left out anything of importance. Please wait for that version before including my fixes in the instant update. Thanks.
Richard
Brown Mouse
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 16:25    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
Here is the result of the Mplayer experiments. There was something wrong with all of them so far, except this one!

Mplayer 34026-002
http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/mp34026-002.pet

It contains the very latest versions of the ffmpeg libraries (that is, even more recent then 0.8.2) It is compiled for i686. It will determine your cpu at runtime and use the appropriate media enhancements (mmx, sse3, 3dnow, etc.). It plays all the videos I usually test, and they look good. it also plays audio and CD.

It will play dvd's somewhat well. However, I still recommend that if you want to play DVD's you use the included XineDVD. I find it frustrating that no one else seems to be able to make a DVD player that looks and operates like the DVD players people are used to. But if you want to use gnome-mplayer to play dvd's you should View -> Playlist in gnome-mplayer--otherwise the first screen is black (who knows).

FYI, The version of the ffmpeg libraries in Lucid 5.2.8 is 0.6.2, but I am not sure how much if any this new mplayer improves video quality. I would like to hear. The 0.6.2 we use is the special build by Medibuntu and I don't see any real problems with it--everything plays reasonably well. 0.8.2 is not so far in advance of what we have, because 0.7.3 has most of the improvements of the 0.8 series but with compatibility with the 0.6 series. And the 0.7 and 0.8 were released the same day.

Thanks to 01micko for his help with the configure options.

After some more testing, I will post it on LupuNews.


Hi Playdayz
I'm not having much luck today.I installed the Mplayer 34026-002.pet and get a fatal error of 'skin default not found'.
Tried a reboot to no avail.

ETP

Thanks.I'll give your Chromium instructions a try.
ETP
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 16:09    Post subject: Chromium 15 "pinwheel of death"-PoD

playdayz/Brown Mouse
Quote:
Quote:
I've just seen a recurrence of the dreaded 'pinwheel of death' when opening version Chromium 15.0.860.0.(since including your fix by adding the libgconf file).
Nothing has been changed on my setup except for adding 'Mplayer with ffmpeg 0.8.2' and the latest 'Flashpalyer.pet'.

I am out of ideas Brown mouse. Several times it has happened to me, but each time it was because I had either removed or used a version that did not have the libgconf 3.1.6. Try reinstalling it??? I will investigate also.


I am currently running the same pets as listed by Brown Mouse but have not so far experienced the PoD.
Having said that, I did so with Chromium 12, 13 & 14 and on each occasion regressed to Chromium 10. I did find however that simply uninstalling the pet was insufficient and that if I did not manually clear out the Chromium detritus 10 also suffered the PoD. I suggest therefore that you try the following:

Export your favourites to a location of your choice.
Uninstall Chromium 15.
Reboot.
Manually delete the following directories & their contents:
/root/.config/chromium
/usr/lib/chrome-linux
Reboot.
Install Chromium 15.
Re-import your favourites.

Unrelated to the PoD issue, a smidgen of extra speed (as used in Iron) can be obtained with the following settings.
majorfoo
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 15:44    Post subject:

playdayz wrote:
majorfoo,

No one said anything but I found out that the version of Audacious 3.0 will not play .mpc (musepack) files. A small codec but I have some. Further investigation was that there was a problem between Audacious and the version of ffmpeg libraries we have (we have 0.6.2, but Audacious 3 want late 0.7.x or 0.8.) So for now I recommend the 2.5.4 version.

I would like to see version 3+ work also.

ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/audacious-2.5.4.pet


I am using Audacious 3.0 pet in Lucid 525, 528 and 529 with no problems. I am only playing commercial cd's, wav files and mp3 files and they all play great.

Lookikng forward to version 3+ when all the kinks are worked out.

Thanks for quick response and thanks again for all your dedication and hard work

majorfoo
playdayz
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 15:30    Post subject:

majorfoo,

No one said anything but I found out that the version of Audacious 3.0 will not play .mpc (musepack) files. A small codec but I have some. Further investigation was that there was a problem between Audacious and the version of ffmpeg libraries we have (we have 0.6.2, but Audacious 3 want late 0.7.x or 0.8.) So for now I recommend the 2.5.4 version.

I would like to see version 3+ work also.

ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/audacious-2.5.4.pet
majorfoo
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 15:18    Post subject:

Playdayz,
I believe you recently compiled Audacious 3.0 pet for lucid packages

Billto mentioned on another thread that 3.1 is out and asked queston

"Have you tried audacious 3.0.1? It's not too large and has some nice plugins like extra stereo."

When you have time, can you compile 3.1 and add to lucid packages

tnanks

majorfoo
playdayz
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 14:47    Post subject:

Quote:
I've just seen a recurrence of the dreaded 'pinwheel of death' when opening version Chromium 15.0.860.0.(since including your fix by adding the libgconf file).
Nothing has been changed on my setup except for adding 'Mplayer with ffmpeg 0.8.2' and the latest 'Flashpalyer.pet'.

I am out of ideas Brown mouse. Several times it has happened to me, but each time it was because I had either removed or used a version that did not have the libgconf 3.1.6. Try reinstalling it??? I will investigate also.
playdayz
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 14:34    Post subject:

Here is the result of the Mplayer experiments. There was something wrong with all of them so far, except this one!

Mplayer 34026-002
http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/mp34026-002.pet

It contains the very latest versions of the ffmpeg libraries (that is, even more recent then 0.8.2) It is compiled for i686. It will determine your cpu at runtime and use the appropriate media enhancements (mmx, sse3, 3dnow, etc.). It plays all the videos I usually test, and they look good. it also plays audio and CD.

It will play dvd's somewhat well. However, I still recommend that if you want to play DVD's you use the included XineDVD. I find it frustrating that no one else seems to be able to make a DVD player that looks and operates like the DVD players people are used to. But if you want to use gnome-mplayer to play dvd's you should View -> Playlist in gnome-mplayer--otherwise the first screen is black (who knows).

FYI, The version of the ffmpeg libraries in Lucid 5.2.8 is 0.6.2, but I am not sure how much if any this new mplayer improves video quality. I would like to hear. The 0.6.2 we use is the special build by Medibuntu and I don't see any real problems with it--everything plays reasonably well. 0.8.2 is not so far in advance of what we have, because 0.7.3 has most of the improvements of the 0.8 series but with compatibility with the 0.6 series. And the 0.7 and 0.8 were released the same day.

Thanks to 01micko for his help with the configure options.

After some more testing, I will post it on LupuNews.

I should say that I test with gnome-mplayer rather than at the command line.
roadkill13
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 13:45    Post subject:

Quote:
How I can increase my file "lupusave" HELP plss


In the menu category "Utility" you will find an item "Resize Personal Storage File". Please select this entry and a dialogue will appear prompting you to select a size by which the personal save file will be increased.

Note: You must reboot to complete this process.

For some reason I did not see the post immediately above this one. Oh well...
Jim1911
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 13:40    Post subject:

@makaj

Open Control, select Drive, Resize Puppy File or select Menu, Utility, Resize personal storage file.
makaj
PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2011, 13:22    Post subject: Lupusave file

How I can increase my file "lupusave" HELP plss
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 180 of 190 [2837 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group